Lake Fae Chapter 19: Weird Love

Screenshot-7734

The next morning Ginger and I woke up and had a little fun. Afterwords, the two of us laid quietly, it was a comfortable silence. The kind of silence between two people who really understand each other. I loved that we had that, she really was special.

Screenshot-7730

“So what’re you getting up to today?” Ginger asked sleepily. I was hoping she wouldn’t ask that, I really hated lying to her. Well, technically I wouldn’t be lying, but I’d be leaving out most of the story. I didn’t like that either.

“I’m gonna go visit my dad, actually.” I responded casually.

“Oh? Why, is everything ok?” I didn’t visit my dad often, so of course she would find it odd that I randomly decided to go over there.

“Yea, I just wanna check up on him. I also wanna dig through some of the stuff in the garage, see if I can find any of my old things.”

“Oh ok, do you want me to come with you?”

Screenshot-7732

“That’s ok babe, I know you have campaign stuff to do. And I doubt you’d like digging through a bunch of trash.” I laughed, hoping she wouldn’t insist on coming with.

“You’re right.” She giggled. “I just wanted to offer and be nice.”

“Thanks love. But I’ll be fine.” I kissed the back of her head, silently thanking whatever god existed for such an amazing girlfriend.

Screenshot-7738

“But if you need me, call me. I know it’ll be hard for you.” She turned over and grabbed my hand, giving me a reassuring squeeze.

“What do you mean?” I asked.

“Babe, some of that stuff belonged to your sister. I know it’ll be hard for you to see that.” She frowned slightly.

“I know.” I breathed shakily. I almost forgot some of her stuff was there too. My stomach turned, as it did every time I thought about her. I still felt guilty for not going back to save her.

Screenshot-7736

“I’ll just be a phone call away. I can be there in five minutes.” She smiled softly, making my heart flutter. I was so lucky.

“Thank you, I couldn’t ask for a better girlfriend.” I kissed her softly on the lips. “I love you.”

“I love you too. I’ve got to get ready to leave, but I need to make a call first. Campaign stuff. You know how it is.”

“Yea of course. Just make sure to kiss me goodbye before you leave.”

“Will do.” She smiled and pulled herself out of bed, grabbing her phone before quickly hurrying out of the room.

———-

*Ginger*

Screenshot-7739

I stepped out of that shitty apartment and immediately pressed call on the number of his current burner phone.

“Hello?” His gruff voice called out from the other line.

“Hey baby, it’s me.” I responded quietly, in case the boys were eavesdropping.

“Oh hey, how are things going on your end?”

Screenshot-7744

“Perfectly, he’s totally in love with me. Every part of our plan is falling perfectly into place. I wouldn’t doubt it if he proposed to me tomorrow.” I laughed, and so did the voice on the other end.

“Wonderful. You have to be married to him at least a year before we can take any further action.”

“I know, I know. As soon as he proposes, I’ll suggest a quick wedding. I’ll tell him I just can’t wait to be his wife.” I laughed, knowing that sucker will eat it all up.

“Perfect.”

“How are things going on your end, do you know when things will be back in action?” I asked vaguely, just incase someone was listening. I couldn’t risk this getting out.

Screenshot-7746

“Well, the current F.R.O. leader thinks it should happen within a few months.” He whispered.

“Hopefully we’ll be married by then, with a kid on the way, that way we can set our plan into action as soon as possible.”

“Try to be, maybe start dropping hints.”

“Great idea. I’ll start as soon as possible. I’ve gotta go, he always wants me to kiss him goodbye.” I rolled my eyes. It was obnoxious, I honestly couldn’t stand him, but it would be worth it in the end.

“Alright, this’ll all be over soon. I love you.”

“I know. I love you too.” I ended the call and took a deep breath. It was hard pretending to love someone you can’t stand, but I knew it would be worth it. Aloe and I would finally get the life we deserved.

————

*Lake*

Screenshot-7748

My father’s house was a modest little one bedroom in the suburbs of Bridgeport. I felt a little bad that he lived alone, I tried suggesting he get a dog or something but he refused. He told me he didn’t mind being alone but I knew that was a lie. It was obvious he was lonely, and I knew he would never date again after my mother. But I can’t control him, so I try to be there for him whenever I can.

I had my own set of keys to the house, so I just let myself in. Before I came over I sent my dad a text, letting him know I’d be coming so he wouldn’t think I was an intruder.

“Dad?” I called out into the small house.

“Hey, I’ll be right out!” He called from his bedroom.

Screenshot-7750

He came out about a minute later, and surprisingly he looked a lot better than he has in years. Maybe living alone was actually good for him…

“How are you son?” He smiled brightly at me.

“I’m doing great Dad, things are going great between Ginger and I.”

“That’s great to hear. When will you be popping the question?” He winked, making me blush slightly.

Screenshot-7752

“I’ve actually been saving up all my tips, I’m planning on surprising her with a trip to Paris and proposing there.”

“That’s a fantastic idea! She’s gonna love that.”

“I hope so. I really wanna make it special.” I felt a little embarrassed about being so sappy, but I couldn’t help it. I loved her so much.

“That will definitely be special, there’s no way she can say no.” He chuckled. “By the way, I better get some grandkids out of you, you know your brother won’t have any kids.”

“You never know, Thyme might just convince him.” I laughed, my brother was very opposed to having kids, he said he was way too busy with his job to be a parent.

“Maybe, but I want at least one.”

“Don’t worry Dad, you’ll get some.” I winked, I was hoping Ginger and I could start having kids right away.

“Alright,” He laughed, then shooed me out of the room. “Now go look through the garage, I know you have other things to do today. Be careful in there.”

“I will.”

Screenshot-7758

I made my way through his kitchen and into the garage, I’d never been in the garage at this house before, and I was a little shocked at how dirty it was already.

Screenshot-7759

On one side, there was just piles of old trash and boxes, and the other was where all the stuff from the old house was.

Screenshot-7762

The time machine was right next to the door. I couldn’t help but wonder what my dad thought of this. Did he know what it was? Did he ever try and use it? Or did he just ignore it, thinking it was just one of Stone’s weird inventions? I didn’t want to ask.

I stared up at it excitedly, I couldn’t wait to see how my friends were doing. Part of me wanted to bring Seven back with me, but I knew that was impractical. How would I get her out of here? Where would I keep her? I’d just have to leave her there and visit when I could.

Screenshot-7764

Enough stalling! I told myself. It’s time to get going. I pressed the familiar numbers into the machine and waited as the gears started turning.

Screenshot-7766

For a moment, I thought it wasn’t working anymore. But after a few agonizing seconds, the doors opened and the bright, purple light lit up the garage.

“Bingo!” I whispered to myself, before jumping into the light.

3 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 19: Weird Love

Leave a Reply

