Lake Fae Chapter 18: My Future, Their Future

A/N: I just wanted to say, I’m sorry I had to jump so far ahead in this chapter. Appaloosa Plains has completely stopped working in my game, so I had to move everyone to a new town. Thanks and enjoy the chapter 🙂

*One year later*

Screenshot-7523

“I’m gonna whoop your ass straight into next year.” Allium growled, clicking his game controller furiously.

“I think you’ve forgotten that you’re playing the master.” I elbowed him roughly in the arm, making him lose focus enough for me to win.

“Dude! You suck, I want a rematch.” Al pouted childishly.

“Can you boys hold off on that for a few minutes? I have to leave for work and I’d like to say goodbye to my boyfriend.” Ginger spoke from behind us.

A lot had changed in the past year. I started dating Ginger, she was a politician and due to her job we moved to Bridgeport. Al and Thistle came with us, neither of them had anything tying them to Appaloosa Plains. We all lived in a small two-bedroom apartment, sometimes it got a little crazy but we liked it a lot.

Not long after we moved out here, my dad and my brother moved here too. Dad grew up here and met my mom here, it was hard for him to be back but he said he wanted us to be together. It was nice to have him so close, and he even bought another bar out here, so I had a job here as well.

Screenshot-7529

I got up from the couch and made my way over to Ginger. We laced our fingers and softly brought our lips together.

“Have a good day at work, Love.” I smiled at her as I pulled back. The last year with her was the happiest I’ve ever been, she made my life complete. We barely fought, we had similar interests and I felt like I could actually be myself around her. Ginger was the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

“Thanks, Babe. Have fun with the guys.” She gave me one last kiss, then left for the day. I sighed like a lovesick teenager, I loved that we were still so crazy for each other even after a year.

Screenshot-7526

“You guys are so gross.” Al joked as I rejoined him on the couch.

“You’re just jealous.” I laughed, and he rolled his eyes.

“Yea right dude, I get more girls than you’ve had in your life.” Al retorted. He wasn’t lying, he was a bouncer at my dad’s bar and he went home with a girl almost every night. How he managed to juggle that and classes at the local college, I’ll never know. But he did somehow and I had to admit I was impressed.

Screenshot-7527

“You guys honestly sound like a bunch of twelve year olds.” Thistle chimed in from the floor. He was doing better now that we were in Bridgeport. He hadn’t moved on from my sister yet, but he had a job and actually got out of the house so he was making good progress.

“Oh shut up.” Al glared at him, making all three of us laugh.

Screenshot-7531

Almost every day was like this. Allium, Thistle and I would play video games until Al had to leave for class. Then Thistle and I would play each other for a little while, then he’d go off to work and I’d stay home, I’d either take a nap before my shift at the bar or practice playing one of my instruments.

I wasn’t in a band anymore, but I still loved music, so I tried to play as often as I could. Ginger loved it, she was always a fan of my music and she said she could watch me play all day. She didn’t play anything, but her enthusiasm for my interest was nice.

Life was good here in Bridgeport, I should’ve been one-hundred percent happy. But I just could stop thinking about one thing.

The future.

I hadn’t time travelled in over a year, and I was itching to do it again. I was constantly debating with myself whether or not I should do it, and I still hadn’t come to a conclusion yet. But as each day past, my need to time travel increased.

Maybe one little visit wouldn’t hurt…

———–

Screenshot-7536

Later that night after my shift at the bar, Ginger still wasn’t home. Some nights she worked really late at city hall, she was working on a campaign and it was taking a lot of time out of her day. I missed her, but I didn’t mind that much, she was doing what she loved. It did get a little boring though, Al was always out with a girl and Thistle was always sleeping. Usually I spent my time on my laptop watching tv shows.

But tonight, I was planning on how I would make my trip to the future. Stone brought the time machine with him to Bridgeport, he kept it at Dad’s house in his garage. I didn’t visit my dad often, so I’d have to make an excuse to give him and Ginger for why I was going over there. At the moment, my best option was to tell them both I was looking for something from my old room, travel to the future, then when I get back I could grab a random item and leave.

Screenshot-7538

“Hey hottie, I’m home.” Ginger silently slipped into our room and startled me. I quickly closed my laptop, I had been writing out excuse ideas on there and I didn’t want her to see.

“Hey Babe.” I smiled as normally as possible, her sudden arrival made me a little nervous, I hoped she wouldn’t ask what I had been doing on my laptop. I had to make sure she wasn’t suspicious, so I did what I normally did when she got home.

Screenshot-7539

I grabbed Ginger’s waist and she jumped in the air. We touched lips quickly and I put her back down. My heart was pounding, not only from my anxiety but also from kissing her. I hated that I had to lie to her about this, but I couldn’t risk the secret of time travel getting out.

“I missed you today. ” She pouted. “I love politics but I hate being away from you. I wish I could bring you to work with me.”

“Well, if city hall needs a bartender or a musician, let me know, I’ll take the job in a second.” I joked, making her giggle.

“I’m exhausted, I need to get in my pjs.” She walked past me and towards our shared dresser.

Screenshot-7543

“What did you do today?” She asked as she dug through one of the drawers.

“Uh, you know, the usual.” I acted as casual as possible, hoping she didn’t hear my heart pounding out of my chest.

“Ah, so pretty boring then?” She teased as she started to change.

“Yea pretty much.” I laughed. Ginger finished changing into her pajamas, then turned to the bed and laid across my chest.

Screenshot-7545

“I wish I wasn’t so tired.” She grinned seductively.

“Ah that’s ok Babe, you need you’re sleep. Besides, we always have tomorrow morning.” I kissed her nose softly.

“How did I get so damn lucky?” She bit her lip with a smile.

“I’m pretty sure I’m the lucky one here.” I gave her a kiss on the lips. “Go to sleep Hun. You’ve had a long day.”

“Goodnight Lake.” She blew me a kiss before crawling under the blankets.

“Goodnight Ginger, love you.”

“Love you too.”

Screenshot-7547

She fell asleep almost immediately. I laid there, staring at the wall. I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep for a while, I was too nervous and excited for my trip to the future. My mind was racing with thoughts of jetpack flights, hanging out with Seven, and learning more cool things about the future. It was gonna be awesome.

I just hoped everything went smoothly…

7 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 18: My Future, Their Future

Leave a Reply

