Lake Fae Chapter 17: Bar Shifts Are Boring

Screenshot-7187

It wasn’t long before I was spending my nights in my dad’s bar. Though it was difficult at first, after a few practices mixology came naturally to me. But all that work was a little useless, the bar was practically empty except the few regulars, who usually just wanted a beer.

Screenshot-7188

But tonight was different. Around eleven the doors swung open and in walked the prettiest girl I’ve ever laid eyes on. My jaw fell to the floor like a cartoon character, I probably looked like a fool but I was so dumbfounded by her beauty.

Screenshot-7189

She was so different from Freesia. She was classy, she looked like she had her life together and most of all she didn’t look like a drug addict. Dating again wasn’t on my agenda, but maybe this girl could be good for me.

Screenshot-7192

“Evening, what would you like?” I asked her as she sat down right in front of me.

“A mojito, please” She flashed me a smile. “Hey, you look familiar, do we know each other from somewhere?” She cocked her head slightly and narrowed her eyes.

“I don’t think so, I’d remember a face as pretty as yours.” I flirted. My game had definitely improved over the years, I wasn’t very suave when I had first started dating Freesia. It had improved so much, she giggled sheepishly.

Screenshot-7193

“Hey wait, you’re the keyboardist for Time Association, right?” Realization brightened up her face.

“Was. We broke up.” I finished her drink and placed it in front of her. I had been recognized a few times before, it wasn’t completely unusual for me.

“That’s too bad, I really liked your music. You know, I was at your very first gig. When that red-head kid was your drummer.” She laughed and took a sip of her drink. That night seemed like a million years ago, it was hard to believe she remembered it.

“Wow, that’s awesome.” I chuckled as I wiped down the counter in front of me.

Screenshot-7190

“If you don’t mind my asking, what happened?” She asked.

“Uh, the drummer was banging my girlfriend, also known as our lead singer. Wasn’t pretty.” I smirked.

“Oh my god, that’s awful. I’m sorry.”

“It’s alright, I’m better off without them. They’re all crackheads.” Finding Blackberry and Freesia was a blessing in disguise.

“Well then, to new beginnings.” She held up her glass and I held up a beer, we clinked them together and took a drink. She finished her drink and set the glass down before standing up.

Screenshot-7196

She threw a wad of cash down on the counter and winked at me before strutting over to one of the few video games we had here. She was odd, but not in a bad way. She was odd in the way that it was impossible for me to figure out. It was intriguing.

Screenshot-7200

After about an hour of video games, she quit and headed for the door. She threw the doors open and strutted out, but glanced back at me before leaving completely.

“Goodnight, Lake.” She winked.

“Goodnight,” I smiled at her, and realized I hadn’t even gotten her name. But it was too late to ask, she was already gone.

———–

Screenshot-7259

Days in the bar were even slower than the nights. The place was a ghost town, I was surprised my dad could afford to keep this place open. Instead of spending the days alone, I’d often call Allium in to keep me company. There wasn’t much to do here though, so we usually just ended up being bored together.

The girl hadn’t shown up again, it’d been a while since I’d seen her. I never even found out her name and now it seemed like I should just give up hoping, it was obvious she was never coming back.

“No offence dude, but this place is a shithole.” Al sighed from his place on the bar counter.

“None taken, it’s a crappy place but at least I’m making money.” I shrugged. A crappy job was better than no job, at least in my opinion. I needed the cash, Al and I had found an apartment and we were gonna move in next month.

“Think I could get a job here?”

“You’d have to ask my dad.” I responded while wiping down the counter for the millionth time. It seemed like no matter how much I scrubbed it, this counter would not get clean enough. This day couldn’t possibly get better.

But I was so wrong.

Screenshot-7263

The saloon-style doors swung open and in walked a girl with bright yellow hair and a red dress. It was the girl from before. Instantly my heart skipped a beat, now was my chance to make a move on her.

“Welcome.” I smiled at her, playing it cool.

“Hey Lake, how are you?” She smiled happily before taking a seat at the bar.

Screenshot-7266

“I’m great, but I didn’t catch you’re name last time.”

“Oh, right. My name is Ginger.” She smiled shyly.

“That’s a pretty name.” I gave her a flirty grin. “So Ginger, what can I get you today?”

Screenshot-7268

“Well,” She started, leaning forward nervously. “I actually wanted to see if you wanted to hang out. I know you’re working and all but I just wanted to ask.”

“R-really?” I asked, flustered.

“Yea. Do you want to?”

“Yea I do, but my boss would kill me if I left early.” Saying ‘my dad would kill me’ would be embarrassing, so I said boss instead. It technically wasn’t a lie.

Screenshot-7267

“Hey dude, this is perfect! You go and I’ll take over for you, and then you’re ‘boss’ will see how good I am and he’ll have to hire me.” Allium offered generously, I was also glad he referred to my dad as my boss, I guess he caught on.

“Really dude? You’d do that for me?”

“Of course, now go! Don’t let a girl like that get away.” He winked at me before pushing me away from the bar.

Screenshot-7270

I walked around the counter and offered Ginger my arm. She giggled sheepishly before daintily grabbing my bicep.

“Where to?” I asked as we strolled out the door.

“How about the park? It’s beautiful this time of day.” She offered.

“Sounds like a great idea.” I smiled before holding the door open for her. She smiled back and thanked me, she was so kind and polite. So different from Freesia. So much better than her. I couldn’t wait to get to know her better. Who knows, maybe she could be the one.

5 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 17: Bar Shifts Are Boring

  1. Glad you’re updating again~!
    I just realized I have the same hair as Ginger in my game xD
    I hope all goes well for Lake. I just wish that she won’t be anything like Freesia. No drugs, no affairs, and definitely no more lies.

    • Ginger’s hair is very cute, I basically designed her around it haha. I hope things go well too, Lake deserves someone better than Freesia. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Ginger is pretty! I think she’d be nice for Lake too. They have my blessing! (lol)
    Though really now Lake. Leaving your job to your friend isn’t super professional…

Leave a Reply

