Lake Fae Chapter 12: Time Stands Still

A/N: Hey guys! So sorry for the long wait, but I have an announcement. I made an ask.fm for the Fae’s where you can ask me or the characters anything you want. You can find it here, send me an ask and I’ll answer it as soon as I can. Thanks and enjoy the chapter!

Screenshot-6794

I hadn’t slept in days. Part of me knew I would wake up and for a split second I would think this had all been a terrible nightmare, then I’d have the crushing realization that it was real life. I wasn’t ready to deal with that yet. So I did whatever I could to stay awake, but now it was starting to catch up to me.

It was the day of the funeral. Everyone gathered around in some stuffy church downtown and listened to some old guy talk about what an amazing young woman my sister was. It was drab and dull, it was not the type of thing my sister would’ve wanted. Now, everyone had come back to our house for food and to express their condolences to my family.

But after the millionth awkward hug, I couldn’t take it anymore. When no one was looking I snuck off into my bedroom to have some quiet time. Well, as quiet as I could get, I could hear the buzz of chatter through the floor. However, it was a lot better than doing the talking myself.

Screenshot-6796

“Lake, Baby, are you in here?” Freesia’s voice asked as she slowly opened the door.

“Yeah, I’m here.” I answered halfheartedly from the floor.

“No one could find you, they’re looking for you.” She sounded worried, I didn’t blame her. If I found her lying on the floor next to a few bottles of pills and beer, I’d be worried too. Freesia didn’t express her worry though, which I was grateful for. I didn’t want to explain myself to her.

Screenshot-6799

“How are things down there?” I asked, trying to avoid the ‘how are you?’ question everyone had been asking me today, I didn’t need it from her too.

“Weird. Lots of small talk, nobody really knows what to say.” She sighed. “This is all so weird.”

“Yea.” I nodded in agreement, I wasn’t sure what to say either.

“Can I sit?” She asked with a small smile. I nodded and patted the rug next to me.

Screenshot-6801

“Did you…” She didn’t finish her question, she just eyed the small stash I had piled next to me.

“No, I was thinking about it though.” I admitted. I had come in the room all worked up, I grabbed a bunch of stuff and I was gonna try and overdose. But I ultimately decided against it, it wouldn’t help anything.

“Have you slept at all?” Freesia asked softly while cupping my chin in her hands.

“Not yet. You know I can’t.”

Screenshot-6802

She didn’t respond right away, she just climbed over me and laid on my chest. “Then you know what, why don’t we take a nap together? That way you don’t have to wake up alone.”

“I’ll be asleep for a long time, it’s been days.”

“That’s ok, if I wake up first I’ll stay until you wake up. However long that takes.”

“You’d do that for me?”

“Of course, I love you.” She smiled and kissed me softly of the nose. “Now, lets go to sleep.” She put her head down on my chest and wrapped her arm around my torso, and soon enough I was drifting off.

————-

*A few days later*

Screenshot-6809

A week after losing my sister, things started to calm down a bit. There were no longer streams of people coming through our front door. The only people around were Thyme and Thistle, the latter didn’t want to be alone so he was staying with us for a while. He was an absolute wreck, he wasn’t able to go the the beach with my sister and her friends that night and he regretted it. He wished he had died alongside her, just like I did.

The lack of people in our house meant that we’d have to try and get back on a regular schedule again. I didn’t like it. I didn’t like how everyone else got to move on, everyone else got to live their lives normally while we were all here completely shattered. It sucked.

But for now, here we all were sitting around the living room trying to keep ourselves distracted. It wasn’t working very well for me, there was too much on my mind.

Screenshot-6810

“So babe, I’m going back to work tomorrow.” Stone announced to his boyfriend.

“Are you ready?” Thyme asked, his concern for my brother was apparent.

“I have to, they’re starting a huge project and if I don’t go back I can’t be part of it. It’s a really interesting project and I need to be there for it.” Stone explained. I could tell by his voice he wasn’t one-hundred percent ready to go back, but my brother would never turn down an opportunity like this and he was not about to change that now.

“What’s the project?” Thyme didn’t push the subject anymore, he knew my brother’s determination as well as I did and knew he wouldn’t change his mind.

“Time travel, actually. It’s pretty cool. They’ve been working on the theory for some time now, and they’re finally going to be putting it to the test.”

Screenshot-6808

“What did you just say?” I couldn’t help but butt in, this was huge news.

“Time travel, we’re gonna try and see if we can do it or not.” Stone explained nonchalantly as if this couldn’t change everything.

Screenshot-6814

“Dude, why aren’t you freaking out right now?” I jumped up from the computer desk and ran over to my brother like a child on Christmas.

“Why would I be freaking out?” Stone asked, still not getting it.

“With time travel, we could go back in time and fix things!” I practically yelled at him. His face lit up with realization.

Screenshot-6815

“A-are you really suggesting we go back in time and try and stop her from going?” He asked, swiftly jumping to his feet, followed by a less-enthusiastic Thyme.

“I am, why didn’t you think of this before?”

“I-I don’t know.”

“Because, you’ve seen a lot of sci fi movies, you know this kind of thing never ends well.” Thyme crossed his arms and frowned.

Screenshot-6816

“Not right now Thyme.” Stone spun around so fast I’m surprised he didn’t get whiplash. “I know it doesn’t always work out, but we have to try. We owe it to her to try, she was too young and its unfair. I need to try.” He yelled at Thyme.

Screenshot-6821

“I-I’m sorry, I just don’t want you getting your hopes up. I’m scared of what it might do to you if this doesn’t work out.” Thyme had a point, but it wasn’t strong enough to stop my brother.

“We’ll deal with that when, or if, it ever happens. But for now, we need to try. It’s gonna take weeks for my lab to try and work out the details, but when we do, I’ll bring the blueprints home and recreate it here. That way if anything goes wrong, I won’t break down in front of my coworkers.”

“Couldn’t you get in trouble for that?”

“Maybe, but that’s not important.”

“You know I can’t stop you, but you can’t stop me from worrying.” Thyme smiled slightly at Stone.

“I’ll be careful, I promise.” He smiled back, gave him a quick peck on the lips before turning to me.

Screenshot-6823

“We could fix this.” He smiled at me before throwing himself into my arms. It was a weird feeling, I don’t think I’ve ever hugged my brother in my life. But it was a nice feeling, I actually liked being close to him. I felt like I finally had a brother.

————

*A few weeks later*

Screenshot-6825

“How’s it coming?” I asked Stone for the thousandth time that day. His lab was able to make the time machine work, and since he couldn’t bring it to me or me to it, he was making one of his own. It took forever.

“It would go a lot faster if you stopped asking me.” He growled from behind clenched teeth. “You know you don’t have to stay in here, right?”

“I know, but I want to be here as soon as it’s finished. I want to get this done as soon as possible.”

“Fine, but maybe things would go faster if you played with the Foosball table.”

Screenshot-6829

“Fine.” I stood up and made my way over to the game. I started lazily kicking the ball around, but it wasn’t doing anything to pass the time.

“Do you remember the plan?” Stone asked me after a few minutes of mindless playing.

“Of course, we’ve been working on this for weeks.” Over the past few weeks while Stone’s lab was working on the machine, we were strategizing and planning for our rescue mission. It was the only thing we talked about, it was the only thing we thought about. If we could bring our sister back, we needed to put all of our energy into it.

Screenshot-6832

Finally, after weeks of planning and almost twenty-four hours of constant building, it was time. The machine was finished and now I was going to make my rescue.

“Are you ready?” Stone asked me, he was visibly exhausted after all the hours he put into this.

“I’ve been ready for a long time.” I smirked at him, before moving my way over to the keypad. He’d explained to me how to use it multiple times, it was simple enough.

Screenshot-6833

I pushed the keys that represented the day my sister passed. My fingers were shaking, I was scared as hell but there was no way I was backing out. My sister needed me.

Screenshot-6834

The metal doors instantly slid open, revealing a blinding purple light. I turned around and gave Stone a small wave before holding my breath.

Screenshot-6836 Screenshot-6837

This was it, I was gonna save my sister.

6 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 12: Time Stands Still

Leave a Reply

