Lake Fae Chapter 11: That’s Impossible

Screenshot-6727

“So do we have a gig this week or no?” I asked Freesia over the blaring music. Allium and Blackberry’s party was pretty awesome, but I just wasn’t feeling it tonight. Something felt off, I couldn’t explain it.

“I don’t think so, I know that we have one next weekend but this week we don’t have any.” Freesia responded.

“Where at? Our usual club or somewhere new?” I asked hopefully, we’d been playing the same club for almost a year now and I wanted a change of scenery.

“Same old place.” She looked as disappointed as I felt. We weren’t doing too hot lately and it scared me.

Screenshot-6730

“What are we gonna do, Babe? We don’t have a backup plan anymore, if this goes south we’re screwed.” I fiddled with a loose string on my jeans. I was extremely nervous, this was my dream and I didn’t want to fail.

“I don’t know, but we’ll figure something out. Maybe Blackberry could hook us up with one of his suppliers.” Blackberry was a drug-dealer, he made good money and it wasn’t a terrible idea.

“Are you sure you wanna get involved in that? ย It’s pretty dangerous.” I told her. It was pretty dangerous, there were rival dealers and a lot of cops, it wasn’t easy and I didn’t want her getting hurt.

Screenshot-6731

“I know it’s dangerous, but I think I would get a lot of business. I’m cute and I can talk anyone into anything. I would be an awesome drug-dealer.” She gave me a flirty smile. “Don’t worry, I’ll be fine. You worry too much.”

“I do not, I just don’t want my baby getting hurt.” I assured her.

Screenshot-6732

“Then maybe we could be a team. I do the talking and you carry the product, so you can scare the shit out of the buyers so they won’t try anything with me.”

“That’s actually a pretty good idea.” I admitted. We would make a great team and we ย could probably make a lot more money that way.

“Awesome, I’ll talk to Blackberry another time, he looks a little busy.” She gestured behind us, where he was making out with some random girl we’ve never seen before.

Screenshot-6734

“So since we’re gonna be partners on this, maybe we should get a place together, y’know, so I’m always protected in case something goes wrong.” She asked hesitantly. It wasn’t a bad idea.

“Yea, I’d love too, but let’s give it a few weeks, just so we can save up enough to get a nice place.”

“That makes sense.” She smiled at me. “I can’t wait.”

“Me either, it’s gonna be awesome waking up to your face every day.”

“Yea, same here.” Freesia smiled at me again, before glancing over at the array of drugs across the coolers in front of us. “Do you want anything, babe?”

Screenshot-6733

“Um,” My eyes grazed over all the drugs, until they landed on a small baggie of coke. “I could do a line.” I motioned towards the baggie.

“Me too.” She smiled at me before starting to prepare the lines for the both of us.

“So how are things at home?” She asked, not looking up from the makeshift table.

“Y’know, the usual. Dad’s drunk, Stone’s in the garage, and Skye’s on my ass constantly. I can’t wait to get out of there.” I told her as she leaned down to do her line.

“Yea, I can’t wait for you to get out of there either. You’re sister is so annoying, constantly nagging you. It’s like she’s trying to be your mother or something.” She sneered.

“I wonder where she gets it from, we never really knew our mother.” I wondered aloud as I went in to take my line.

“Who knows, she’s annoying as hell and soon you won’t have to deal with her.”

“Thank god, now lets stop talking about that.” I wrapped my arm around Freesia and pulled her close to me, before twisting around so that she was underneath me.

Screenshot-6738

“Then what do you wanna talk about?” She gave me a flirty smile.

“How about we stop talking and start kissing?”

“Sounds like a great idea.”

———

Screenshot-6745

It was still raining by the time I got home around six AM. But it wasn’t as bad as it had been last night, it was raining so hard I had to sleep at the party. I had taken a cab from Allium and Blackberry’s place, as they lived in Riverview, the next town over. It was a pretty long drive but I didn’t really mind.

Screenshot-6747

I didn’t expect anyone to be awake, no one was ever awake around here at six, so I was a little surprised to see them, fully dressed and sitting in the living-room nonetheless.

“What’s going on here, you guys look miserable.” I half-laughed.

Screenshot-6748

But they didn’t laugh with me. They didn’t say anything for a while, and I started to panic. My dad was never in the living-room, and if that wasn’t odd enough it looked like he’d been crying. I couldn’t even see Stone’s face, it was buried in his hands. I couldn’t help but wonder where my sister was.

“Can someone please explain to me what’s going on? Did something happen?” I asked after a few more minutes of silence.

Screenshot-6752

“Yea, something happened.” Stone jumped up, practically yelling at me. I cringed and took a step back, I was a little scared for what he was about to say. “Skye and her friends went to the beach, and when they were out in the water the storm got too bad, they weren’t able to get out. They all drowned.”

His words made my stomach drop.

Screenshot-6754

“N-no, that’s impossible. Skye is great at swimming, we’ve gone swimming so many times.” My voice started to waver, this couldn’t be happening.

“The storm got too rough, even a professional swimmer wouldn’t be able to get out.” Stone explained through his tears.

“No, no this can’t be happening.” I mumbled as my head started to spin. I felt like my heart had been ripped out of my chest and I couldn’t breathe. She couldn’t be dead, I just saw her last night. She was fine.

Screenshot-6758

“A-are they sure?” I asked, hopeful that maybe she was still out there, they just hadn’t found her yet.

“T-they’re sure. They recovered the bodies a f-few hours ago.” Stone explained between sobs.

“Oh my god.” I clutched my chest, the whole room was spinning and I felt like I was gonna pass out.

“Do you need to sit down, Lake?” My dad asked, but I could barely hear him. My mind was racing, what could I have done differently? Was this my fault? Maybe if I had gone with her I could’ve stopped this, or at least I would’ve died too and I wouldn’t have to live without her.

Screenshot-6761

I sank to my knees, I couldn’t stand anymore. I was sobbing too hard. I felt awful, maybe if we hadn’t been fighting for the past few years she wouldn’t have made new friends and she wouldn’t have gone.

Another sob ripped through my body as I realized I would never be able to make up with her. She would never know that I do still love her and that I didn’t want us to be fighting forever.

She would never know.

8 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 11: That’s Impossible

  1. Oh my freaking gosh! I knew that Skye would drown when I heard Lake say that it was supposed to storm or something like that! I just didn’t want to say it because I didn’t wanna be laughed at XD

    Lake just needs to realize that everything won’t be perfect, and bad things happen. I guess it’s just that he still needs time. *Sigh* Knew it. Dimitri should have woken up too. I don’t think it’s Stone’s fault though. Lake, Lake, Lake . . .

    • Hopefully Lake will be able to forgive himself. Dimitri too. It’s really hard to lose someone you love, especially when you think there’s something you could’ve done. They all have a long road ahead of them, but hopefully Lake will come out of this a better person. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I didn’t want her to die either, but unfortunately it had to happen ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Skye’s death is going to play a huge part in Lake’s future, we’ll have to see if it makes him a better person or worse than he is now. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

