Lake Fae Chapter 6: Please Stop Fighting

*Warning* Yelling and swearing in this chapter, don’t read if that kind of stuff upsets you. Thank you and enjoy 🙂

*Skye*

Screenshot-6314

“Dad?” I asked quietly as I careful ascended the stairs into the attic. I was nervous, I’d only been up here once with Lake, but my dad still didn’t know that happened. We weren’t allowed up here and we weren’t supposed to bother him when he was here. But I felt like this would be an exception, this was kind of an emergency.

My older brother and our band mates were all at Freesia’s house, and they were all doing illegal drugs. Freesia and I were never that close. I didn’t really like her from the beginning, but I knew my brother had a crush on her so I tried my best to get along with her. However, getting me and my brother into drugs wasn’t worth his relationship.

Screenshot-6316

“Hey, Dad?” I said, a little louder this time. His head was down on the bar and I wasn’t sure if he was even conscious. There were beer bottles on the counter next to him as well as on the floor. It was weird to see him like this. Yea, I knew my dad got drunk almost every night, but I’d never actually seen it for myself. I just heard my brothers complain about it. They were tired of him not being there for us, for spending more and more time with the bottle.

I was about to call out to him once more when he started to stir. “Dad?” I asked quietly as he pulled himself into a sitting position at the bar. Immediately his back stiffened at the sound of my voice.

“Skye?” He asked, his voice low and cold.

“Yes Dad, it’s me. I need to talk to you.”

Screenshot-6319

He jumped up way too fast for a drunk man. He sent the bar stool flying, that’s how quickly he stood.

“I told you and your brothers, you aren’t allowed up here!” He yelled. I’ve never seen my father so angry. I’ve never really seen him express any emotion other than sadness, that is. Dad getting angry at me was something I’d never experienced.

“I-I’m sorry Daddy.” I stuttered. “I-it’s just Lake’s friends brought out drugs tonight, and I-” I started, before he interrupted.

“I told you to never come up here.”

“I-I’m sorry, but this is important.”

Screenshot-6321

“Look, I don’t have time for this petty shit, okay? If you’re mad at your brother for choosing weed over you, that’s your problem. Don’t be a snitch and leave me out of it.” He growled, then hiccuped. He was obviously still drunk, but his words hurt.

“I’m sorry Daddy.” I whispered, barely choking my words out from behind my tears.

“Just go, I’ll deal with your brother later.”

Screenshot-6322

I quickly spun on my heel and climbed down the stairs. My first instinct was to go to Lake, he was always the person I ran to when I was upset. But he wasn’t an option now. My only friends were all with him, and I didn’t really consider them my friends after tonight. That really only left me with one option.

———

*Lake*

Screenshot-6323

My night with the band was pretty insane. We were all really drunk and really high, I’ve never had so much fun in my life. There was one incident where Thistle vomited on my shirt, but Freesia promised she would clean it and give it back to me the next time we saw each other.

When I snuck back into the house, it was completely quiet. All the lights were out and there wasn’t anyone on the bottom floor. I figured everyone was asleep and I got off scot-free.

Screenshot-6324

But boy, was I wrong.

I made my way up to the bedroom to find my brother sitting there, waiting for me.

Screenshot-6325

“Where were you?” He asked, like a worried parent from television.

“I was out, why do you care?” I crossed my arms defensively.

“Well I don’t, but you obviously upset her.” Stone gestured to his bed, where Skye’s head was buried in the pillow and it was obvious she was crying. I hadn’t even realized she was in the room.

“Okay.” I started walking across the room to crawl into bed. It didn’t even matter that I was fully dressed, I was still a little buzzed and I wanted to sleep it off.

Screenshot-6330

“What the hell is wrong with you? You chose those losers over your sister, your best friend practically since you were born?” Stone jumped up from the chair and got up in my face.

“She was being a baby, she freaked out over weed and beer, then threatened to tattle on me. She was being really lame.” I tried to justify my actions, even though I knew I has been a dick. Why did I do it? Why did I choose them over her?

Screenshot-6331

“You are such an asshole, Lake. She has every right to freak out, that shit is illegal. You should’ve done the same thing.”

“Sorry, but I’m not a fucking loser like you guys. I actually have friends, and a girlfriend. Maybe if you guys weren’t so stuck up you’d have friends too.” I yelled. I knew I was being a complete jerk, but I couldn’t stop the things coming out of my mouth. Was this the drugs talking?

Screenshot-6338

Stone balled his fists and placed them on his hips. “I do have friends, actually. There’s no need for you to be such an ass.”

“Aw, it’s so cute that you’re so defensive.” I mocked, I couldn’t stop myself. “What, don’t want to look like a loser in front of your little brother? Newsflash, you’ve always looked like a loser to me.”

“Screw you, Lake! At least I’ll be able to get into college, unlike you who’s gonna ruin his life over drugs and a stupid girl.”

Screenshot-6333

“First of all, I took some pills once. It’s not like I’m gonna get addicted. Two, she’s not a stupid girl, she’s my girlfriend so have a little respect, dickbag. Third, I could get into any college I want based on my piano skills alone, not even including my abilities with other instruments. Finally, what are you gonna get into college for? Chess? Tinkering with scraps of metal? How fucking special.” I knew I would regret these words when I sobered up.

Screenshot-6339

“P-please s-stop fighting.” Skye’s voice spoke up before Stone had a chance to retaliate. “I’m sorry I said anything.”

Screenshot-6342

And just like that, I snapped. “You should be sorry! You embarrassed me in front of all my friends, left the band I worked so hard to include you in, and now you’ve caused everyone in this house to hate each other. Maybe if you weren’t such a dork this wouldn’t have happened.”

“I’m sorry! I’m sorry, okay? I screwed up, I regret it, and I wish I could go back in time. I’m sorry.” She buried her face in her hands and continued to cry.

“Yea, I wish we could too.”

Screenshot-6345

Skye threw herself off Stone’s bed and ran out of the room, still crying. I crossed my arms, there was still a lot I wanted to say to her. I shrugged, there wasn’t anything I could do tonight.

Screenshot-6346

“You’re so selfish, Lake. I can’t believe you.” Stone crossed his arms and glared at me.

“You think I give a shit what you think?” I turned away from him while I changed into my pajamas.

“Good luck trying to fix this.” He mumbled. His words sobered me up pretty quick. I pretty much just ruined the relationship I had with my sister, and for what? One high? Was I really that selfish?

He was right, I was gonna need a lot of luck to fix this one.

9 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 6: Please Stop Fighting

  1. Oh god. I hope Stone comforts Skye later on. I’m glad he stayed by her side while she cried on his pillow. Ugh Dimitri! Get a hold of your freakin’ self, and shave god dang it! Ugh!!! Stupid Lake. I hope Stone and Skye get close instead. Skye! Don’t forgive Lake! Ugh. So mad, but I’ve taken a liking to Stone.

    • Yea, Lake and Dimitri really need to set themselves straight. Let’s hope they’ll try and fix things before they get any worse. Stone is a great older brother, he’s always been there for the younger ones when Dimitri wasn’t. Lake has definitely been acting stupid the last few chapters, hopefully he’ll make some better choices in the future. Thanks for reading 🙂

    • I totally understand why people don’t like Lake, but don’t write him off just yet. His story is only just beginning. I love his siblings as well, we’ll just have to see what happens in the future. Thanks for reading 🙂

      • I’m too curious not to keep reading lol. I really enjoy your writing, but yeah, I think that Lake is my least favorite, at least right now anyways.

  2. Although I’m really mad at Lake, Stone should have probably figured out he still had some of the effects in his system, and to not push him. But still, Lake, I’m sorry to say you deserved what you got.

    • Yea, Stone definitely shouldn’t have pushed him. Hopefully things don’t escalate and Lake can fix his relationships with his siblings. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Oh geez, I hope things get better soon! Lake was a huge jerk to Skye but I’m sure that’s still the pills talking. I hope Lake will be able to make up for what he did. Great chapter as always!

    • Me too, I’d hate for Lake and Skye to stop being best friends. Hopefully Skye will be able to forgive him for the things he said. We’ll have to see what happens, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

