Lake Fae Chapter 5: Flying High

*Warning* Drug use in this chapter, don’t read if that triggers you. Thank you 🙂

*Skye*Screenshot-6283

“Hey Stone, got a minute?” I cautiously approached my eldest brother. He was busy with his inventing bench, as he had been for the past few years. It was almost impossible for any of us to pry him away from it.

“I’m a little busy.” He muttered under his breath.

“I-I know. I just wanted to talk.” I admitted.

Screenshot-6285

“Then why don’t you go try Lake?” He continued to work away on whatever it was that he was making.

“This isn’t really something I can talk to him about.”

“What? You guys are like constantly talking, what could he possibly not know about you?” He laughed sarcastically behind the clanking of the metal. I knew he was jealous of the bond between Lake and I.

“This isn’t really about me though.”

“Then who is it about?”

“I wanted to know more, about Mom.” I hesitated slightly, nervous about his reaction.

Screenshot-6286

He dropped his tools on the bench and completely stopped. Stone stayed silent for what felt like hours. I was about to leave the garage and tell him to forget about it, I didn’t want to upset him even more than I already had.

“I figured you’d wonder about her one day.” He looked over at me and smiled sadly. “What do you already know about her?”

“Not much, just what she looks like and that she’s not here.”

“Sit.” He gestured to the tool cabinet next to me.

Screenshot-6288

Stone moved whatever he was working on onto the shelf attached the the bench. He pulled himself up onto the now clear surface and turned towards me.

“I was really young when she left, but I still remember her. We all lived in this little cabin on the beach, its was always just us, we never had any visitors there. She spent a lot of time with us, we were her whole world. She was an amazing mother, she was always there for us and she worried about us constantly.”

Screenshot-6289

He paused for a moment to take a deep, shaky breath. “But mom wasn’t like the rest of us. She was a vampire fairy, she had glowing eyes and wings. People were afraid of her. They were looking for her, they wanted to keep her in custody. That’s why we lived in that cabin, no one could find us there.”

He took another deep breath and allowed my to process everything he just told me. A hybrid? A fugitive? This was not what I was expecting, at all.

“I’m pretty sure we were all born there. She didn’t leave the cabin for at least five years. They tried to lure her out with messages on the TV, but they never worked. I remember watching them with Mom and Dad, and I remember their discussions about what they would do. I know they were looking for Dad too, but they eventually stopped. I don’t really know why though.”

Screenshot-6291

“But finally, they aired a message saying they would free all supernaturals from the experiments if she turned herself in. She was a selfless person, so of course she took the deal. So she left, and everyone was set free.”

I sat there, my jaw hanging open. We were learning about the experiments in history class. We were still in the early stages, we hadn’t learned about this yet, if even was in the books.

“Is this in the history books?” I had to know or else it would drive me insane.

“Yea, it is actually.” He chuckled softly. “It’s pretty weird to learn about your family in school. Especially the royal side.”

“The royal side?” I asked, curious.

“Don’t you remember the lesson on the royal family? Before the humans discovered us?”

“Of course.”

“They were our ancestors.”

“Wow, we certainly have a colorful history.” I laughed.

“We sure do.”

———-

*Lake*

Screenshot-6296

It wasn’t until a few days after Freesia initially told me her idea for a band name that we told the rest of the group. We also told them that we were together now, which didn’t surprise any of them in the slightest.

Now, we were all sitting in Freesia’s garage after our first practice with our official band name. She said we were going to celebrate, I wasn’t entirely sure what she meant by that.

Screenshot-6298

“I’m so glad we finally have a name.” Allium chuckled as he caressed Ama’s face. “It finally feels like we’re a real band.”

“Yea, it does.” I agreed. “Now we can start playing real gigs.”

Screenshot-6297

“Speaking of gigs, my dad knows a guy who owns a club downtown. He said he wants us to play there in a few weeks.” Freesia chimed in with a smile.

“Seriously? That’s awesome!” Skye grinned, and we all cheered. We were gonna play a real gig!

“Well now I think it’s time to celebrate.”

Screenshot-6302

She climbed off the floor and walked over the washing machines in the corner. She reached behind the dryer and pulled out a small box before leaving the garage. Freesia came back seconds later, dragging a small table with her. She placed it in the middle of the room before leaving once more. When she came back, she had six bottles in her hands. She set them down next to the table, grabbed the box and set that down on top of the table.

Screenshot-6303

She slowly opened the box and started to pull of the contents. It was full of weed and a bottle of pills.

Screenshot-6304

“Help yourselves.” Freesia grinned, gesturing to the drugs and alcohol in the middle of us.

“Are you sure Freesia? You never share your stash.” Ama asked hesitantly.

“It’s a special occasion, I’m willing to share.”

Screenshot-6305

“Are you serious?” My sister jumped up from her spot on the garage floor.

“What?” Freesia asked innocently, as if she didn’t have a huge stash of illegal drugs and alcohol only inches from her.

“What? Are you serious? This is illegal.”  She scoffed.

“Only if we get caught.” Freesia giggled.

“C’mon Skye, loosen up.” Amaryllis tried to persuade her.

“No, we’re leaving. C’mon Lake.” She started to head for the door, but when I didn’t stand she turned around to face me.

Screenshot-6306

“Lake, aren’t you coming?” She asked expectantly. I couldn’t believe how lame she was being right now. We finally had friends, we were in an awesome band and we actually had a real gig lined up. Now she wanted to throw that all away over some pot and pills? She was making this into a much bigger deal than it actually was.

“Nah, I’m gonna stay. You sure you wanna leave?” I tried to stay as calm as I could, I didn’t want to get angry at her for trying to ruin this for me.

“Yes. I’m going home, and I’m telling dad.” She honestly sounded like a child, threatening to go home and tell on me.

“Fine, go ahead. But since when has he ever given a shit about us? Do you ever see him sitting down for dinner with us, or asking us how our day went? No, all he does is drink in the attic or drink at the bar. So go ahead, tell him. Ask him if he’d like to join us.” I was beyond trying to not piss her off. She embarrassed me, now it was my turn to do the same to her.

Screenshot-6308

“Screw you.” I could see the tears welling up in her eyes as she clenched her fists. Part of me felt a little bad for upsetting her, but I didn’t want to give in now. “I’m out of the band.” She growled before heading out the door.

“Good.” I muttered under my breath.

“Well, that was awkward.” Allium joked, making the rest of us chuckle.

“Yea, now let’s get started.” Freesia reached across the table and grabbed a couple buds and some rolling paper.

I hesitated. Even though I fought with my sister to stay here, I was a bit apprehensive about drugs. I’d never done any before, and I wasn’t really sure how to do it. Everyone else was already grabbing at the weed or the pills, and if I didn’t grab something soon I’d look really stupid. Eventually I decided on the pills, since I knew exactly how to take those and I wouldn’t smell when I got home.

Screenshot-6311

It wasn’t long before everyone was high. Ama and Allium were trying to play Foosball, but they were laughing too hard to actually achieve anything. Thistle was still sitting in the same place he had been all night, while Freesia and I laid on the ground next to the couch.

“Holy crap, this is really fun.” I laughed from the floor.

“I know right? Your sister is really missing out. It might do her some good to loosen up.” Thistle chuckled. I sat up and looked at him. This was the first time I’d heard him say more than three words at once.

“Yea, she’s pretty stuck up.” I sighed as I laid back down on the floor. I loved my sister, but she could really be a killjoy.

4 thoughts on “Lake Fae Chapter 5: Flying High

  1. OKAY. LAKE IS JUST WRONG. Seeing how stupid he’s being is making me mad. It’s obvious that he’s making the wrong choice, and if it were me, I’d rather be like Skye. Plus, if I was Skye right now, I’d rather be hanging out with Stone than Lake, and even if Dimitri only drinks, haven’t they thought of how he feels? Ugh. Stupid, stupid Lake.

    • Yea, Lake really isn’t making the best decisions right now. He’s so desperate to fit in and have friends that he’d make bad choices like this. Hopefully he’ll realize this isn’t good for him before it’s too late. We’ll see how Skye, Stone and Dimitri are coping in the next chapter. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. LAKE! What the heck? *virtual facepalm* Hasn’t he learned anything? Dimitri, although he only drinks, doesn’t mean that he’s not going to be pissed!

Leave a Reply

