Jasmine Fae Chapter 21: With a Price

A/N Next chapter is Jasmine’s finale, and I will be posting the heir vote shortly after this chapter. Also, sorry about the grass’s color change in the last scene. My game was giving me a lot of trouble, otherwise I would’ve fixed it. Thanks for all the reads guys, it means a lot 🙂

Screenshot-5791

“Lake, put your sister down right now.” I scolded my son, who held his younger sister in his arms as he flew around the deck. I didn’t mind them flying in the house as much as I did them flying outside. My biggest fear was Lake dropping her off the deck and into the water.

“Don’t worry Mama, she’s safe.” Lake assured me with a cute smile. I crossed my arms and glared at him.

“Put her down.” I demanded, and he set her down safely onto the deck.

Screenshot-5792

“Dimitri, weren’t you supposed to be watching them?” I turned to my husband who sat quietly on the bench.

“I’m right here, Love. I won’t let anything happen to them.” He smiled at me. “Sit.”

I sighed, I was slightly angry at him for letting the kids be reckless, but I couldn’t resist cuddling with him.

Screenshot-5796

As soon as I sat down on the bench he wrapped his arm around me.

“You gotta stop worrying, Jazz. They’re kids, they should be able to have a little fun.” Dimitri chuckled in my ear.

“I just don’t want any of them to get hurt.”

Screenshot-5799

“Kids get hurt, that happens to everyone.”

“But if they get seriously injured, we can’t just take them to a hospital and expose them like that.”

“I can take them, I’m dead, remember? And they have no idea what the kids look like, so as long as I wear a hat or something no one will know. Besides, this entire town is on our side.”

“I’m a mother, I’ll still worry no matter what you say.” I stated, making him chuckle.

“Yea, but the kids can’t get too hurt from flying around. Hell, Lake can’t even lift Skye higher than the railing, there’s no way they could fall off.” He assured me, knowing my concerns before I even voiced them.

Screenshot-5802

“One day he’ll be strong enough.” I countered him.

“Yea, and by then we’ll have taught him not to fly beyond the deck. Don’t worry so much, we have smart kids.” He chuckled again.

“Why do you always have to win these?” I faked being upset, making him laugh.

“Someone has to keep you grounded.”

“I’m glad it’s you, then.” We smiled at each other before closing the gap between our lips.

Screenshot-5804

“Ew gwoss!” Skye and Lake giggled from the block table. I stuck my tongue out at the two of them, making them both break out into a fit of giggles.

“I’m gonna get you!” Dimitri wiggled his fingers at them and growled. They both shrieked and ran away as he chased them.

“They’re all insane.” Stone mumbled from the chess table. He was becoming a very smart young man, he was always doing something to improve his intelligence.

“Tell me about it.” I leaned back against the old bench with a smile.

I’d never been happier in my life.

———

*Bryce*

Screenshot-5824

“Listen Todds, it’s been too long. We need to take drastic measures here. This thing could be planning an attack, we can’t risk the lives of so many people.” The human’s president sat across from me in the small conference room.

“I just don’t know if this is necessary, Sir.” I tried to convince him that his plan was crazy.

“Listen, we can’t wait for it to strike first, we need to find it before then. It’s obviously protected by heavy magic, so if we can’t go to it then we need to lure it to us.”

Screenshot-5822

“But we don’t have to go through with it, once we have the mutant we can retract on our initial claim.”

“Todds, I may be a politician but I am an honest man. If I promise these beings their freedom, I will not back out.” He glared at me. His plan was to air an announcement, telling everyone that if the mutt turned herself in, then he would grant every supernatural being in an experiment town their freedom.

If he did this, I would lose all my power. I ran this town, and if everyone was free to come and go as they please, I wouldn’t have any control. So I was fighting it, I wanted the mutt in custody but I was not willing to give up my power.

Screenshot-5827

“Y’know,” Carson chimed in for the first time this meeting. “It might not be that terrible of an idea. If Vampires and Fae aren’t confined to the same place, then maybe they’ll stop mating and there will be a less of a chance of more mutts.”

“Exactly. It’s a win-win here, Todds. We get the mutt, and there won’t be any more.” They had a point, but I was still hesitant.

“Will I still be in power? How can I control a city if people are coming and going whenever they want?”

“That’s what you’re worried about?” The president sounded appalled. “Of course you’ll still be in charge, you just won’t be able to have complete control.” He explained. I was a little relieved, I’d still be in charge, just less in charge. I guess it was a sacrifice I was willing to make.

Screenshot-5826

“But wait, if people can leave, where will they go? Human towns?” My son, Christian spoke up. I could tell he was against this as well.

“I guess, that’s not really my problem.” The president chuckled slightly. “They’ll have to figure that out for themselves.”

“Would humans be able to come to our towns?” Christian asked.

“Yes, I don’t see why they would want to, though.”

“They could come to kill us, they’re scared of us!” He started to panic. I laid a hand on his shoulder to calm him.

“I doubt they’d want to risk they’re lives for that, son. We’ll be fine.” I comforted him even though I had the same concerns.

Screenshot-5830

“So it’s settled then, the mutt for their freedom. I doubt it’ll be able to pass this up.” The president grinned at his secretary who’d been scribbling notes throughout the entire meeting.

“How long of a time frame do we give it, Sir?” Carson questioned.

“A year, we don’t know how far it is and how long it’ll have to travel. We’ll give it a year.”

———–

*Jasmine*

Screenshot-5833

“Stone, be careful!” I yelled out to my oldest as we ran outside for the beach.

“Yea, okay Mom.” He called out as he ran into the waves.

“Down Dada!” Skye struggled against Dimitri to be put on the ground.

“Alright, alright.” He laughed while putting the squirming toddler onto the ground. Lake pulled his hands out from ours and ran down the beach, Skye quickly following behind.

The kids didn’t notice the tension between Dimitri and I, and I was grateful. The human president had aired a message for me, saying that if I turned myself in he’d shut down all the experiments and set everyone free. Obviously I wanted to take the offer, but Dimitri was hesitant.

Screenshot-5840

As soon as the kids were out of earshot, I turned to Dimitri. “Babe, you gotta let me do this. This isn’t just about our family.”

“Jazz, you can’t, this shouldn’t be on your shoulders.” His voice was strained, I realized he was trying to keep himself from crying.

Screenshot-5855

“It shouldn’t, but it is. I have to turn myself in, I can’t just ignore this and let those people stay in their experiment towns. I have the chance to change things, I’m not gonna pass that up.”

“But what about us, Jazz? What’re we going to do without you?” He whispered.

“Leave, go find a house somewhere. Find a good school for them, and let them have the childhood they deserve.”

“No. No, I’m not leaving. Especially not without you.”

“Please, Dimitri, don’t fight this. We both know I have to do this.” I tried to grab his hand but he pulled away.

Screenshot-5859

“You can’t do this, what will I tell the kids? How will I explain this to Stone?”

“I don’t know, but we’ll figure something out. I won’t leave for at least another month.”

“What?” He asked loudly, almost grabbing the attention of our younger kids. “A month? They gave you a year!” He was becoming visibly upset.

“The sooner I leave, the sooner everyone gets their freedom. The sooner my family can come out of hiding, and the sooner you guys can start a new life.” I tried to be reassuring.

“Jazz, you can’t leave. I won’t let you.”

Screenshot-5860

“Please, Dimitri. You have to let me go. Don’t you want our kids to live a normal life, and for both sides of our family to be free?”

“I do, but I wish it didn’t come with such a price.” He sighed.

“I’m sorry. I wish I didn’t have to do this to you.” I smiled sadly at him. We both knew that if I turned myself in, I’d never see him again. I’d never see my kids again, or my family. It hurt, but this wasn’t about me anymore.

Screenshot-5862

“I wish you didn’t either.” Dimitri looked as if he were about to cry. “But, I’m gonna let you do it anyway. This sucks, and I really don’t wanna lose you, but if you really want to give yourself up I can’t stop you.”

“Really?”

“Yea, it’s gonna be hard, but if you need to do this I’m on board.”

Screenshot-5864

“Thank you.” I smiled sadly at him and pulled him into a kiss.

Part of me wanted to just ignore the message and continue living on the island with my family. But that was selfish. I couldn’t put my personal happiness above thousand’s of supernatural beings’ freedom.

Leaving them was my best option, even though it would rip my heart out.

5 thoughts on “Jasmine Fae Chapter 21: With a Price

    • It’s not an ideal situation, but she does get to set every supernatural free, so at least she’s doing something heroic. If she goes through with it.

      • Very true, and maybe I’d completely agree if she didn’t have kids, but yeah, that’s what I’m sitting here thinking, if she goes through with it….

Leave a Reply

