Jasmine Fae Chapter 19: Life and Death

Screenshot-5637

“Be careful, Bud. Don’t go too far out.” Dimitri called out to Stone, who was playing in the water. I was a little nervous about letting him play in the waves, but Dimitri promised me that nothing would happen to him, since the both of us were only feet away. He was right obviously, but I couldn’t help but worry about my little boy.

Things were a little tense around here after the message from Dimitri’s father. His threats terrified me. The thought of everyone I loved being killed was haunted me. Even though Dimitri was positive his threats were empty, I wasn’t so convinced. There was no way for us to know for sure, but there was one way to prevent anything bad from happening. Dimitri wouldn’t tell me exactly what it was, all he told me was that a witch friend would be coming to visit us soon.

Screenshot-5639

To distract ourselves, we tried to spend every second with Stone, or with each other. So far it was working.

Dimitri and I watched as the hyper little boy kicked and splashed around in the water. He’d been running around all day, making Dimi and I chase him. I was exhausted, I was amazed at how much energy my son seemed to have.

“I love you, Jazz.” Dimitri whispered in my ear without warning.

“I love you too, Dimi.” I gave him a confused smile. His proclamation came out of nowhere. He had a huge smile on his face, confusing me further. “What?”

“You just look so gorgeous in this lighting.”

“Thanks, you don’t look to bad yourself.” I joked, earning myself a small laugh.

“Marry me.” He whispered, I spun around to face him, unsure if I heard him right.

“What?”

“Marry me, Jasmine Tulip Fae.”

“We can’t get married, we can’t exactly sign any legal documents.” I chuckled. He was sounding completely insane right now.

“Doesn’t matter, we can have our own little ceremony, and call each other husband and wife. We don’t need a legal document for this.” He explained with a soft smile. But even if it wasn’t a real wedding, I still felt a bit uneasy. I never thought of myself as the marrying type, I guess I never thought I could commit to something like that. But this was Dimitri, the man I loved and the man I knew I wanted to spend my life with. So why did I feel so apprehensive about this?

“I-I don’t know Dimi.”

“What?”

“I don’t know, weddings make me nervous.” I admitted with a small, nervous laugh.

Screenshot-5642

“Then it won’t be a wedding, it’ll just be an exchanging of vows.”

“Now that is a lot less scary.” I smiled, as I extended my neck to kiss him. His lips curled into a smile as I did, and I couldn’t help but smile too.

———

Screenshot-5647

“He’s so peaceful when he’s sleeping. It’s hard to believe he’s such a little terror.” I joked after Dimitri and I put Stone down for the night.

“Oh he’s not that bad. He’s just going through a phase.” He chuckled and pressed himself tightly against my back.

“Let’s hope so.”

Screenshot-5650

I could tell he rolled his eyes by the way his jaw clenched.

“Hey, don’t roll your eyes at me.” I scolded quietly.

“How the hell did you know that?” He asked, bewildered. This time it was my turn to roll my eyes.

“Doesn’t matter. Shouldn’t we get started on this ‘vow exchange’? It’s getting late, and I’m exhausted.”

“Yea, sure.”

Screenshot-5651

Dimitri took me out onto the deck. I shivered as we walked outside. Whether it was from the cold or from my nerves, I couldn’t tell. Either way I wanted to get this over with.

“You’re tense.” Dimitri pulled me close and pulled my chin close to his. “It’s alright, we don’t have to do this if you don’t want to.”

“No, it’s important to you. Therefore it’s important to me.” I squeezed his hand to assure him that this was something that I wanted too.

“Alright, I’ll go first then.”

“No, I wanna go first.”

“You sure?”

“Yea.”

Screenshot-5659

“If it weren’t for you, I’d have died many years ago. You’ve risked your life for me on more than one occasion, even though I never asked you too. You’ve always put me first, even if it meant losing everything and everyone you’ve ever loved. I have no idea how to repay you, I don’t think I’ll ever pay off that debt. But I want to try and make you the happiest man on earth, so tonight I’m going to do something I vowed I’d never do. I’m going to give you my hand in marriage.” I wiped a stray tear from my eye. Then, I realized I didn’t have a ring to give him. So I pretended to hold one up and slid the invisible band onto his finger. The two of us couldn’t help but giggle, even though we were both about to cry.

Screenshot-5663

“Jasmine, you mean the world to me. You’ve been my entire world for longer than you’ve even known. I’d do anything to keep you safe. I’d risk my life a billion times if it meant you could live another day. You, and Stone, mean everything to me. If I lost either of you, I don’t think I’d be able to survive. I love you Jasmine. You don’t have to try and make me the happiest man on earth, because just waking up next to you every single day already does.” He smiled at me, and slid a beautiful diamond ring onto my finger.

“Where did you get this?” I asked curiously.

“It was my grandmothers. I brought it with me when we left.”

“So you’ve been planning this since before we even got together?”

“Yea, pretty much.” He chuckled sheepishly.

Screenshot-5664

“You are such a dork.”

“Yea, but I’m your dork now.” We laughed. I wrapped my arms around him and pulled him close to me.

“I love you, Dimitri.”

“I love you too.” He smiled just before he kissed me.

Screenshot-5666

And even though we weren’t technically married, we still acted like newly weds.

———

*Ivy*

Screenshot-5667

“What do you mean they’re all gone?” President Todds screamed at Carson.

“I’m sorry, Bryce. But they’re all gone. All of them, even the distant cousins and family friends. None of them are there.” Carson explained. Bryce decided to capture my family after he aired the threat. I warned him, I knew that was a bad idea. But he wouldn’t listen.

“Dammit. Now what do we do?” He asked angrily.

“We could get all their pictures and post them on the news stations, just like with the mutt and Dimitri.” Christian offered.

“No, there’s too many of them. We need to focus on Dimitri and that thing he’s with.” He sighed and ran his hands over his beard. He then turned to me and glared.

Screenshot-5669

“This is all your fault. You suggested this, and now we’ve lost all of our leverage.” His voice didn’t even sound like him. His growling reminded me of the strange animals on the television.

“I-I’m sorry Sir. I didn’t think they could all escape so fast.” I gulped. Even though I warned him this would happen, he still blamed me. But I knew better than to talk back.

“I’m going to slit your throat, you piece of shit fairy.” He made the throat slitting gesture.

Screenshot-5671

“Dad, ease up a bit. She didn’t know. Why would anyone assume that an entire family could just up in leave without a trace in a day? It’s an easy mistake.”  Christian gave me a sympathetic look. President Todds was ruthless, we all knew that. And for some reason, Christian was trying to save me from his wrath.

“Shut it. She screwed this up, she must pay.”

Screenshot-5670

I gulped again. I screwed him over big time, and now I was probably going to die.

———-

*Jasmine*

Screenshot-5678

“Dimitri, are you sure this is a good idea?” I asked my husband as we sat at the table, waiting for the witch to come. He’d called her, and asked her to help us with this situation with my family.

“Positive. She’s going to help us.” He assured me just as the doorbell rang. I jumped a little, I’d never heard it before. We never got any visitors up here. “I’ll get it.” He rushed off to let our guest in.

Screenshot-5680

A few seconds later, Dimitri strolled back into the kitchen with an elderly woman in tow. I couldn’t help but clutch my chair tightly. Part of me knew she wasn’t human, but she looked so much like them it was hard for me not to fear her.

“Jasmine, this is Adrienne. Adrienne, this is my wife, Jasmine.”

“Hello dear. How’re you doing? This all must be so hard on you.” I expected a frail, soft voice from the woman but her voice was booming, but oddly comforting.

“I’m dealing, thank you.”

Screenshot-5682

Adrienne conjured a lamp out of nowhere, making both Dimitri and I gasp. She chuckled at our reactions as she set it onto the table.

“Alright, so I will use this lamp to see your family. It will tell me where they are, and if they’re alive or not.” She explained.

“Will we be able to see anything?” Dimitri wondered.

“No, but I’ll tell you what I see afterword.” She pressed her hands together and started chanting in a language I didn’t understand. It sounded like giberish to me. I was about to stop her, until the lap started to glow purple.

Screenshot-5683

“What’s it saying?” I couldn’t help but ask.

“It’s saying a lot of things. Your family is safe, all of them. Your cousins, grandparents, parents, even family friends have all gotten to safety.” She told me with a small smile.

“Where are they?”

“I can’t tell, there must be a spell, hiding their location from me.”

Screenshot-5684

“Is it saying anything else?” Dimitri questioned.

“Yes, it’s saying that a Fae named Ivy is in a lot of pain. It’s telling me she’s committed many crimes, and now she’s paying for it.” Her voice was pained. I didn’t share her unhappiness however, my sister was the one who betrayed my family and got them into this mess.

Not long after, she stopped the spell and the lap turned itself off. She waved her hand, and the lamp vanished as quickly as it appeared.

Screenshot-5686

“Thank you so much for your information, Adrienne, but I have one more think to ask.” Dimitri stopped her before she left.

“What do you need? I’m glad to help.”

“I need you to help us fake our deaths. If they think we’re dead, they’ll stop looking for Jasmine’s family and we can live without fear.” He asked quietly.

“Oh Dimitri, I can definitely fake your death. But, just your death. I can recreate your body no problem, but Jasmine’s mixed status keeps me from recreating her. There’s also the baby, I can’t recreate a pregnant woman.” She explained.

“Pregnant?” I whispered.

“Oh, did you not know? Sorry, dear.”

Screenshot-5691

No, I definitely didn’t know.

8 thoughts on “Jasmine Fae Chapter 19: Life and Death

    • Hopefully they’re as excited as you 🙂 I love Stone, but I’m not sure if they’re going to tell him. Either way, there’s no way for him to know his biological father, so telling him would probably do more bad than good. Thanks for reading 🙂

      • Hi! I forgot to add this in my comment and I just barely thought of it. When Adrienne said, “They’re all safe, even family friends”
        does that mean Venus and Ash too? Because I don’t want Jazz to see Ash ever again (ToT)

      • Yes, Venus is her cousin and Ash is Venus’s husband, so they’re safe. Hopefully they won’t have to see each other again.

  1. YAYYY! Kind of. We got Ivy paying for what she did, so yay about that. But everything else? Her family and family friends are safe, as well as Jazz and Dimitri are going to have a baby, so YAYYYY!

  2. Finally! I’m really glad Dimitri and Jasmie had their ‘vow exchange’ and she’s carrying his child! Also Ivy got what she deserves but I kinda feel bad about the punishments she’s gonna go through. Great Chapter!

    • Yea, I bet Dimitri is glad too. Hopefully Jasmine takes the news of the pregnancy well. Ivy truly believed she was doing good, but unfortunately she was misguided. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

