Jasmine Fae Chapter 18: Then There Were Three

*Ivy*

Screenshot-5555

“It’s been almost two years people, how have we not found them yet?” President Todds’ voice boomed through the small conference room. “My son isn’t that smart, he can’t hide from me like this.”

Screenshot-5557

After I graduated high school, I moved to Bridgeport. My idiotic sister had escaped from the facility, and they were looking for any possible leads they could get. When I told them I was her sister and I was willing to help capture her, they hired me on the spot despite me being Fae.

Now, it had been almost two years since my sister and President Todds’ son had escaped. We had no leads, no sightings, no anything. It was like they completely vanished off the planet.

Screenshot-5562

“Their boat might have capsized, Sir.” Christian, President Todds’ younger son, chimed in. After they disappeared, no one knew how they got away until I showed up. I told them how my sister left the Valley on the boat, and how I thought they must’ve escaped from here on it too. “We might not even have anything to search for.”

“We need to know for sure, Christian.” He spat at him for the hundredth time. They always had this conversation, every meeting.

Screenshot-5564

“Bryce, it’s been two years. They can’t possibly be alive still without a sighting. Their pictures are plastered on TV screens all over the world. There’s a five million dollar reward for the person that finds them. If anyone saw them, I doubt they’d turn down that possibility.” Carson explained calmly to Todds. Carson was the President of Starlight Shores, but he often flew over here for meetings with the council.

“No, they aren’t dead. I’m sure of it.” He sounded like he was trying to convince himself, rather than us. I had a feeling he didn’t want them to be dead. No matter what Dimitri did, he was still President Todds’ son. My guess was that he still had hope that he could change him.

Screenshot-5569

“Well if they aren’t dead, then why haven’t we found them yet?” Rockwell asked angrily. He was bitter, he was shot in the knee during their escape and hasn’t been able to walk right ever since.

“I don’t know, but obviously our method’s aren’t working. We need a new idea.” President Todds threw his fists down on one of the tables.

Screenshot-5573

That’s when I came up with an idea. My ideas weren’t always taken seriously here, but I had to try and convince them that I was committed.

“Well, wherever they are, they’re probably keeping tabs on everything, right? I mean if I were a fugitive, I’d want to know what the government was doing to try and find me, so I could stay one step ahead of them. If we air a message to them, threatening them in some kind of way, maybe they’ll turn themselves in.” I suggested. The best way to catch a criminal was to think like one.

“How can we be sure they’re watching?” Christian asked and crossed his arms. He was completely convinced they were dead, and got upset whenever we came up with new plans centered on them being alive. He also didn’t like me very much. Originally he tried to get me kicked off the council, no matter how many times his father insisted I was essential.

“We can’t, but it wouldn’t hurt to air something, right? If they see it, then we’ve got them. If they don’t, then no harm no foul.”

“She’s right, actually.” Carson chimed in, sounding shocked that someone of my occult could come up with such a brilliant idea. “Bryce, what do you think?”

Screenshot-5574

“I think it’s a good plan, but what could we threaten them with? If only we could get a hold of that child of hers…” He stroked his beard in thought.

“What about our family? My sister cares about them a lot more than I do. Threatening their lives would hurt her a lot more than it would hurt me.” I offered. Before I left for Bridgeport, I told my parents how I felt about everything. About F.R.O., about humans, about my sister. They were shocked, I made my mother cry and my sister punched me in the face. But I didn’t care, they meant nothing to me anymore. All that mattered was pleasing the humans.

“Can we do that?” One of the scientists asked.

“I can’t see why not.” I shrugged.

“Do we take them into custody, or fake the threat?” Carson asked me for my approval.

“Either way I don’t care. Do whatever you please, Sir.”

“I’ll have to think about it, but we’re definitely airing a threat.” President Todds grinned maliciously. I could feel the excitement in the room. This time we might get them, we’ll finally be able to punish them for what they’ve done. I couldn’t wait.

———

*Jasmine*

Screenshot-5581

Beside’s keeping up with Stone, there wasn’t much for Dimitri and I to do. One day out of extreme boredom, I started to write. At first it started out as a way for me to vent, but as time went on I realized I wasn’t terrible at writing. So I started a book. Or more specifically, I started an auto biography. But I didn’t write it for publishing. I wrote it as a way to cope with what I’d been through. It was helping, and it was a great way to kill time while Stone was napping.

Screenshot-5584

“Momma?” Stone’s voice whispered from behind his pacifier. I sighed, he’d been climbing out of his crib lately when he should be napping. Dimitri suggested we stop putting him down for naps, but I didn’t think we should enable him like that. He was still a baby, he needed them.

“What’re you doing up?” I scolded. He shrunk back and hid behind his hands.

“I wanna see Dada.” He smiled innocently.

Screenshot-5585

I shut my laptop and swiveled my chair around to face my mischievous little toddler.

“Oh yea? You wanna see Daddy?” I asked, and he nodded excitedly. “How bad?”

Screenshot-5586

“So bad I could dawce!”  He yelled excitedly, then started to dance around our room. This was becoming routine, he’d come in here, dance and scream ‘la la la’ over and over until I took him downstairs to see Dimitri. At first it was slightly annoying, but now I played along because it was pretty adorable.

“Alright, that’s enough Bud.” I stopped his little dance rountine. “C’mon, let’s go see Daddy.” I swept him up into my arms and he giggled with delight.

Screenshot-5589

“Yay!” He squealed as I tickled him.

“You are a devious little boy, aren’t you?” I asked, and he smiled sheepishly at me. I couldn’t help but giggle.

Screenshot-5592

“Dada!” Stone screeched as we descended the stairs. Stone loved Dimitri, he was definitely a Daddy’s boy. I didn’t really mind, I was just glad Stone had a father figure in his life.

Screenshot-5593

Dimitri didn’t respond to Stone calling out for him. As I got closer to him, I realized something was wrong.

“Dimitri, is everything alright?” I asked. He didn’t answer me verbally, he just shook his head. I put Stone down on the ground and instructed him to go play. But in a true Stone fashion, he disobeyed and ran up to his dad.

Screenshot-5596

“Dada, don’ cwy.” He wrapped his little arm’s around Dimitri’s shin. “It’s otay.”

“Thanks, Bud.” He ruffled Stone’s hair and gave him a half-assed smile. “Now go play.”

“Otay!” He giggled and ran off to his toy box.

Screenshot-5597

“Babe, what’s wrong?” I asked when I plopped down next to him.

“Watch.” He instructed, after rewinding the TV.

Screenshot-5602....

“Hello, this is President Todds of Bridgeport. I have a message, but unless you are my son or the mutt he’s hiding with, then you can disregard this. Dimitri, as you know, we’ve been looking for you for almost two years now. All we want is the Mutt. If you give her to us, you will be free of all charges. I know you care for the thing, but is this really worth it? We have her family, if you don’t turn yourselves in within the next three months, we’re going to kill each one of them on national television. That may not mean anything to you, son. But it means something to that mutt. I’ll let you decide what to do, hopefully I will see both of you within the next three months. Thank you.” A man who claimed to be Dimitri’s father spoke to him from our tiny television screen. It was obvious he was, judging by Dimi’s reaction. I paused the TV when I noticed something, something I hoped I was seeing wrong.

Screenshot-5604

“Oh my god, that’s my sister.” I leaned in close to the TV to get a better look. I knew my family anywhere, and that was without a doubt my little sister.

“What?” He looked up at the screen with tears in his eyes.

“That’s Ivy, my little sister. What the hell is she doing there?” I asked with disbelief.

“She must be working with them, that must be how they found your family.”

“No. That can’t be. She was a good kid, there’s no way she could be on their side. I’m her sister for fucks sake!”

Screenshot-5607

I couldn’t stand the thought of my little sister turning against me and my family like this. Why would she do this to us? What were her motives? I couldn’t come up with a reasonable answer, and I don’t think I’ll ever understand.

“Shh, I’m here Jazz.” Dimitri held me as I cried in his arms.

“What’re we gonna do? We can’t turn ourselves in, not while Stone is so young. But we also can’t just let my family die.”

Screenshot-5612

“Hey, don’t worry. I’ll figure something out, alright? I promise, no one is gonna die and no one is turning themselves in.” Dimitri looked me in the eye and promised.

“How, what can you do?”

“Just trust me, alright? I can fix this.”

Screenshot-5617

“I trust you.” I sighed. Even though I trusted him, I still worried. There was too much on the line right now, it was hard to just accept that he’d take care of it. But I had to let him, I had no way of doing it on my own.

“Good. Now, let’s watch something a little happier, yea?” He pulled me into a quick kiss and turned to Stone who was blissfully unaware of everything that had been happening. “Hey Bud, wanna watch some TV?”

“Yea Dada!” He grabbed his toy monster and crawled over to us.

Screenshot-5620

We all sat on the floor and watched one of Stone’s kid shows. He was totally engrossed in the show, while Dimitri and I were barely paying attention.

“He’s so perfect, don’t you agree?” Dimitri gave me a small smile.

“For the most part, yea I guess.” I chucked. Dimitri playfully smacked my leg. “Maybe I should turn myself in.” I whispered quietly. Right now, it seemed like the best option.

“What? I thought we discussed this. Why would you wanna do that?”

“Well, if I do that, the two of you will be in the clear. They’ll stop looking for you, and you guys can live in peace. He’s young, if I do it now he won’t remember me, it won’t hurt him as much as if I waited.”

“No.” He scolded. “You can’t. He needs you. I need you.” He placed his hand on my knee and gave me a kiss.

“Babe, you guys could live a normal life. You can get a job, he can go to school and make friends. You could get married, even have more kids. It’s the best option.” I suggested.

“No, no. You’re the only person I want to spend my life with. You are not leaving us.”

“Fine.” I laid back against the couch and sighed. This discussion was not over.

———-

*Iris*

Screenshot-5625

After Ivy pulled her stupid little stunt, my parents were devastated. My mom quit her job, my dad barely ever even left their room. Neither of them had been doing well, especially with the warrant out on my eldest sister’s head. Before my twin left I had plans for my life. I was going to move out, get a house with a few friends of mine. I was going to work at the private investigator firm in town, it operates out of the same building as F.R.O. But all my plans were put on hold for the time being while my parents recovered.

We spent a lot of time together recently. They rarely let me out of their sight. Not that I blamed them, they’ve already lost two daughters. I was a little frustrated, I was young and I wanted to have fun. But my stupid twin took that from me. She took everything from me. She took away my ability to trust people. Ivy was the one person in my life I thought I could trust, but I was wrong. All this time, she wanted to please the humans. All this time she was against us. After she left, I shut everyone but my parents out. I couldn’t trust anyone.

Screenshot-5626....

My parent’s and I were sitting at home watching TV. They had on Uncle Maple’s latest movie, but I was paying more attention to my laptop than the television. Things were quiet, until their program was interrupted with breaking news.

A man appeared on the screen. He was a vampire, and he claimed to be the president of Bridgeport. The place my sister moved to, the place my older sister ended up.  My head shot up to the screen at the mention of the town. My eyes instantly fell onto a dark purple figure behind him. Ivy.

The man spoke to Jasmine and a man named Dimitri. Over the years, we learned that this man broke my sister out of the facility and now they were no where to be found. The man then said something that peaked my interest even more. He mentioned us, Jasmine’s family. He said he had us, but that was obviously a bluff. I glanced nervously over at my father. Even though his mouth was closed I could tell he was clenching his teeth.

Then the man threatened to kill us if my sister and this man didn’t turn themselves in within the next three months.

Screenshot-5630

“Dad, do you think…” I jumped off the floor in shock. He didn’t answer, he just stared intently at the screen. My mind was racing, they were obviously lying about holding us, but what if they were coming for us? Were they really going to kill us, on national television? My mind was racing with questions, but I didn’t ask any of them in fear of setting off my mother.

Screenshot-5631

“No.” My mom whispered as she too got up. “This can’t be happening, right? This has to be some kind of sick joke.” She was hysterical. I knew better than to try and comfort her, last time she freaked out and accidentally elbowed me in the face.

Nobody said anything as the message ended and the movie returned to their screen.

Screenshot-5633

“Pack a bag, both of you.” My dad demanded in a gruff voice I’ve never heard him use before.

“Where are w-” I started to question him, but he shot me a glare that could kill me.

“Not now Iris. Just pack a bag, I need to make some calls.” He pulled his cellphone out and bounded up the stairs, without a doubt to go pack a bag.

Screenshot-5634

I glanced around the living room. If we were leaving tonight, there was a chance we’d never come back here. I grew up in this house, I’d lived there my entire life. It was a strange feeling, to know that this was the last time you’d be seeing such familiar sights.

But right now was not the time for nostalgia. I snapped out of it, and nudged Mom. The two of us followed my father upstairs to collect some belongings. My stomach sunk as I finally realized who must be behind this all. This was without a doubt all my twin sister’s idea.

4 thoughts on “Jasmine Fae Chapter 18: Then There Were Three

  1. I hope they either go and punish Ivy, or they move to Isla Paradiso and land where Jazz is then Jazz lets them live with her and Dimi. I officially hate Ivy with all my guts. She is dumb enough to go and join the vamp council. Ugh. I like 1. Jazz 2. Iris 3. Ivy; I don’t even think Ivy deserves to be on the list.

    • Hopefully they’ll end up somewhere safe. Ivy thinks she has good intentions, she doesn’t really understand how awful the humans really are, since she’s never had to experience it personally. But yea, it’s pretty awful to work against your family like that. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. No! Ivy (sorry for the upcoming language) you bitch! Family is the most important thing in a person’s life, and then you go and damn them into torture! Do you even think about how Jazz is faring? If you knew what she had gone through, you wouldn’t betray her like that!
    As for Jazz, that must be so hard on her! I can’t think of how troublesome she is faring, but honestly, I wouldn’t have bought it. People can play mean games, and that’s one of them.

    • Ivy unfortunately doesn’t realize how important her family is. She believes that the humans are her real family, when really they’re the bad guys. It sucks that her parents and her sisters have to suffer the consequences. I don’t think Jazz completely believes the threat, but she doesn’t want to take the risk and let her family die. We’ll have to see what happens, thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

