Jasmine Fae Chapter 15: Breaking Out and Breaking Hearts

 A/N There is gun use in this chapter, read with caution if guns are triggering to you. Thank you.

Screenshot-5377

“Jasmine, wake up.” A familiar voice pulled me from my dreams.

“Dimitri? Is that you?” I mumbled, not fully awake yet.

Screenshot-5380

“Yea Jazz, it’s me.” I pulled myself into a sitting position to get a better look at him. It really was him.

“Was it you who left me those extra blood packets? I thought it was one of the scientists.” I said with a small smile.

“I figured you’d be needing your strength.” He lifted his right arm slightly, that’s when I noticed he was holding a gun.

“Why do you have that?” I questioned him cautiously.

“I’m breaking you out of here, I need to get you out safely.” He explained calmly.

“So you’d be willing to kill someone for me?”

“Not kill, injure.” He smirked. “Here, put these on.” He kicked a small plastic bag over to me. I opened it, and inside were jeans, a t-shirt and my favorite boots. “I doubt you’ll wanna break out of here in a hospital gown.”

Screenshot-5381

After I changed, we immediately got started on getting out of here. We didn’t have much time, even though there were no scientists doing work in the lab, that didn’t mean they weren’t still here. Some of them liked to go over their research in the break-room. I know because sometimes they come in pairs, and they chat while they grab things from the lab.

We stayed against the wall, Dimitri looked down the hall to check if anyone was coming. “It should be clear for a minute or so, come on.” He gestured for me to follow him.

Screenshot-5385

We moved slowly, running into someone as they turned a corner or came out a door was a possibility, and we were trying to avoid it. I couldn’t believe what Dimitri was doing for me. What he was losing for me. He was losing his job, his family, his apartment, his everything. All to break me out of a cage. Maybe Sydney wasn’t joking when she implied he had a crush on me…

Screenshot-5387

My train of thought was broken by the sound of someone clearing their throat. I looked up to see the male human scientist standing at the end of the hallway. Dimitri immediately shoved me behind him and pointed his gun at him.

“I knew it. I’ve always been suspicious of you, Todds.” He growled and crossed his arms.

“Oh? And why is that?”

“You changed opinions mighty fast, you seemed pretty set in your ways. It was all a little suspicious.”

“Then why didn’t you turn me in, Rockwell?” Dimitri asked through gritted teeth.

“Thought about it, didn’t think you had the guts to go through with any stunts. But I guess I was wrong.” He uncrossed his arms and took a step towards us. “Now, let’s put the mutt back in her cage, and we can pretend this never happened.

Screenshot-5388

“Stay back, I’ll shoot you.” He shook the gun at Rockwell.

“Yea, like hell you will. Now let’s get this mutant back where it belongs.”

“Don’t call her that!” Dimitri yelled. He aimed the gun at Rockwell’s head and put his finger on the trigger.

“Dimitri, don’t.” I whispered. “Injure, don’t kill.” My word’s must’ve gotten to him, because he lowered the gun and aimed for his knee.

Screenshot-5390

When Rockwell realized Dimitri really was about to shoot him, he tried to run at us. But Dimitri was faster, and he pulled the trigger. The shot was loud, and it echoed through the empty hallways.

“FUCK.” Rockwell cursed as he crumpled to the floor.

“You shouldn’t have called her that.” Dimitri spat.

Screenshot-5391

He stood at the end of the hallway and watched Rockwell writhe in pain. He shook his head, snapping himself out of the blind rage he was just entranced with.

“Shit, what did I just do?” He was panicking.

“Shh, it’s okay, let’s just get out of here.” I tried to usher him out of the facility. He took off sprinting before I could even grab his arm.

“Come on Jazz, we need to get the hell out of here.” He yelled, repeating what I just told him.

Screenshot-5392

I followed Dimitri outside and into the snow. “Dimitri, where do we go from here? Do you have a plan?” I asked as I caught up with him.

“Yea, I do. Follow me.” He took off running to the side of the facility. I followed him silently, I was a little worried about him after what happened back in the hallway, but that discussion was for another time.

Screenshot-5394

Dimitri stopped at the edge of the ocean next to us. “My boat?” I questioned.

“Yea, we’re gonna take it to safety. I’ve already got a place lined up for us.” He said with a small smile.

“How are we gonna get there? Do we have any idea how to navigate the ocean?”

“I hope you don’t mind but I had a GPS installed in it.”

“What the hell is that?” I asked. I’ve never heard of such a thing.

“It’s a Global Positioning System. It’ll tell us exactly where to go. But I don’t have time to explain this, we probably don’t have a lot of time.”

“Right, let’s go.” I waded into the water and hopped into the boat.

Screenshot-5395

As we sped off into the night, a thought entered my mind. “Hey Dimitri, can this GPS direct us to anywhere in the world?”

“Yea, it sure can. Why?”

“I was wondering if we could stop by Sunset Valley first. I bet if we take turns driving, we’ll get there in half the time.” I couldn’t help but ask. If I was gonna be a fugitive for the rest of my life, I wanted to say goodbye to my family first.

“It’s risky, they’re gonna be looking for us everywhere. We won’t be able to stay long, just a few hours at most.”

“That’ll be perfect.”

———

*Two weeks later*

Screenshot-5398

Crossing the ocean was a lot more fun with Dimitri then by myself. There were times when I wanted to throw him off the boat, but I guess that’s expected when you’re alone with a person on a boat for two weeks straight. But at least this time I had someone to talk to.

It wasn’t long before Sunset Valley was on the horizon. My stomach was buzzing with butterflies, after all these months I’d finally be seeing Ash again. I’d missed him so much while I was gone, and I could only hope he missed me too. Part of me hoped he’d want to come with us to start our lives over, but another part of me didn’t want to drag him into this.

Screenshot-5400

As soon as Dimitri and I got close to the shore, I jumped out of the boat and started running. The plan was, I’d go visit a few family members while Dimitri went to go pick up some more supplies. Then we’d meet back here in an hour and a half. It wasn’t a lot of time, but I could manage it.

Screenshot-5401

Luckily Ash’s childhood home was only a block from the beach. I knew he’d still be there, his mom was sick and she needed his assistance. I felt a little nauseous as I approached the house. Seeing him again was gonna be surreal.

Screenshot-5403

I rang the doorbell and took a few steps back. My adrenaline was pumping imagining all the possible outcomes of this. He could be excited to see me, or he could be annoyed with my return. Either way, I was nervous.

Screenshot-5404

But this outcome I never would’ve expected.

“Jasmine? Is that you?” My cousin Venus opened the front door and stepped out.

“Yea.” I was confused, why would Venus be at Ash’s house? They weren’t the closest friends when I left. Maybe my leaving drew them closer together.

“We thought you were dead.” She whispered.

“Wh-” I started, but then I looked down.

Screenshot-5405

Venus was pregnant, that much was obvious.

“Jasmine…” She started, but the door opening behind her interrupted her.

Screenshot-5406

“Hey gorgeous, who’s here?” Ash stepped out of the house and buried his face in Venus’s neck before glancing up at me. “Jasmine?” He asked, his face twisting into an expression of shock and horror.

“Hi.” I managed to choke out. “A-are you guys… married?” I asked, and Venus nodded slowly.

“Yea, we’ve been married about four months.”

“I’ve only been gone for six.”

“I’m so sorry, Jasmine. We all thought you were dead.” Ash chimed in apologetically.

“So I’m assuming that baby is yours?” I pointed to Venus’s stomach and he nodded.

I was not expecting this, at all.

12 thoughts on “Jasmine Fae Chapter 15: Breaking Out and Breaking Hearts

  1. bkxg jnfdk fvjbkx. I hate you Ash. And I hate you too, Venus. Ash, don’t even chime that in apologetically. By tonight, you’l be dead, I’m literally crying right now. Dimitri, you’re my last hope. I would literally punch a hole through the wall right now, but thinking how much it’d cost to repair it… ASH. ASH. ASH. I hate you so much. I hate you so much. Brb, crying. Ughh. This chapter! I can’t wait until the next release. 😥 Crying. Crying. Ash how could you do that to her?

    • They all thought Jazz was dead. But still, she hasn’t been gone that long. It’s pretty messed up. If it were me, I’d probably punch Ash in the face. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. Wow, I only stumbled across this story yesterday and have stormed through it in less than a day. Everything about it is, so, so captivating! Each character of yours has their own quirks and strong characters and you really bond with them…which is often a shame, seeing as they end up emotionally or physically hurt 😛

    Speaking of….I can’t believe Venus and Ash would do this to Jazz 😦 Only after six months as well…why do I have a feeling this has been going on even longer than that? Maybe I’m just prepared for the worst? Jazz is going to be devastated and I only hope that Dimitri will be there for her and help her through it…which I’m sure he will be 😛

    • Wow, I’m so glad you like my legacy so much! I tried to read my legacy all the way through, and it took me all day! We’ll have to see what happens with Venus, Ash and Jazz. Thanks so so much for your comment, it was so awesome to wake up to such a nice comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

