Jasmine Fae Chapter 6: Bridgeport

Screenshot-4903

I had been out on the ocean for almost a month when to my surprise, I came across land. It was an odd sight, after weeks of vast, blue ocean surrounding me. I was disappointed, I was sure I was gonna die out there. There were multiple times where I considered tipping the boat over and drowning. But I was on a mission, and it came first. So when I came across land, I was excited and upset at the same time.

Screenshot-4906

I climbed out of the boat and onto shore. I was so used to the constant rocking of the boat, and I almost lost my balance a few times. Once I got my footing, I looked around. I didn’t know where I was, and I was pretty freaked out. If I ran into some humans, I’d be a goner. They’d either kill me or turn me in.

Despite my fears, I decided standing here wasn’t gonna do anything for me. I decided to take a look at the huge dome across from me.

Screenshot-4908

“Hello?” I approached the dome-thing, but stopped when I noticed someone crouching behind a bush. I also noticed he wasn’t human.

“You shouldn’t be here.” He said.

“Excuse me?”

“Get back on your boat and go. Your kind aren’t safe here.”

Screenshot-4909

“Look, I don’t know where you’re from but you’re not safe-” He stopped and got off the ground. He furrowed his brows at me, and I realized he was staring at my eyes.

“What are you?” He asked.

“Nice to meet you too.” I rolled my eyes.

“A-are you a hybrid?” He asked cautiously.

“Yea, I guess you could say that.”

Screenshot-4911

“How is that even possible?” He asked, and as I started to respond he stopped me. “Hold on, let’s get you out of here first, it’s not safe.”

“What do you mean it’s not safe?”

“I’ll explain later, just trust me a little.”

I shook my head. “Do you really expect me to trust I guy I just met?”

“Please.” He was practically begging now. “If we don’t get you out of here, you’re gonna die.”

“Is that a threat?”

“No, look just come on.”

Screenshot-4917

I didn’t really know what else to do, so I decided I should trust him.

———

Screenshot-4921

“Where the hell are we?” I asked him.

“Bridgeport.”

“Why the hell are these building so huge?”

Screenshot-4923

“All the buildings here are pretty huge.” He explained.

He didn’t say anything else before walking into the building. Inside, there was a fountain and on the other side of the room, was a huge metal door.

“Can you push the elevator button for me? I gotta make sure no one’s coming.” He asked, leaving me confused.

“Elevator?”

“Do you not have elevators where you live?” I shook my head, and he sighed. “Alright, hold on.”

He walked up the the huge metal door and pushed a button next to it. It did nothing.

“What is it supposed to do?” I asked.

“Give it a minute.” As soon as the words left his mouth, there was a ding. “Stand back for a second.”

The doors opened, revealing a tiny little room. It looked like a closet.

“What the hell?”

Screenshot-4928

He walked into the little room and I followed him, I didn’t really have any other choice. He pressed another button, and the doors closed.

“What the hell is going on?” I almost started to panic, but I didn’t wanna seem weak in front of this guy.

“It’s taking us to our floor.” He said, as the small room began to move. I grabbed the railing to my left and held on tight.

“I don’t like this thing.” He chuckled but didn’t say anything.

Screenshot-4929

When the doors opened again, the room in front of us was completely different. He glanced out, and when the coast was clear he told me to step out. I didn’t say anything as he walked up to the only other door in the room and unlocked it.

“Hawthorn?” He called out into the room. No one answered, and he shrugged. “Looks like its just us. Come on in.”

Screenshot-4930

I glanced around the room cautiously. He had his own bar and his own arcade games. It was a really nice place.

“Take a seat.” He offered. I sat down next to him on the couch.

“Alright, so we’re inside now, can you tell me what the hell is going on?”

“In a minute, first I wanna know where you came from.”

“Sunset Valley.”

“How long did it take you to get here?”

“Almost a month.”

“Wow.” He looked shocked. “Why did you leave?”

“Lot’s of reasons.” I was starting to get uncomfortable, I wasn’t comfortable telling him things when I didn’t even know his name.

Screenshot-4932

“So, mind telling me your name?” I changed the subject, I didn’t want to get into this right now.

“Dimitri, and yours?”

“Jasmine. Is that a human name? I’ve never heard it before.”

“Yea, my parents are like obsessed with human culture. It’s a little weird.” He chuckled nervously.

“Is Sunset Valley also an experiment town?” He changed the subject quickly, it was obvious this wasn’t something he wanted to get into.

“Yea, this is one too?”

“Yea, unfortunately.”

Screenshot-4933

“So, mind explaining why it isn’t safe?”

“Yea, sure.” He sighed. “Well,ย the outcome of this experiment is probably a lot worse than where you’re from. The first Vampires here were very set in the old ways, they refused to be put on the same level as the Fae. So they gathered all of them, and um, made them live in tiny houses, didn’t let them work, and pretty much starved them. It was awful. It’s not as bad nowadays, but they still don’t let Fae live near vampires. And the only jobs Fae can have are servants and sex workers. Vampires and Fae aren’t supposed to talk to one another, so if anyone saw you talking to me they are legally allowed to shoot you.”

Screenshot-4934

I looked at him, to see if he was joking or not. He stared straight ahead with a pained expression on his face, and I knew he wasn’t.

“So, why are you talking to me? Couldn’t you get in trouble?”

“I’m not like them. I know that Fae deserve to be treated with the same respect we’re treated with. So I try and help any chance I get.”

“So, what would happen to me, since I’m both?”

“I don’t know, vampires and Fae have never actually mated here, so we don’t have any hybrids.”

“So what am I supposed to do? This system is so fucked up.”

“Yea, tell me about it.” He sighed.

“Who’s in charge here?”

“My father, actually.” He laughed sarcastically. “He’s an asshole, all he cares about is power and money. He doesn’t give a crap about anyone other than himself. I’ve tried to reason with him, but he kicked me out.”

“Wow.”

“Yea, I know.” His phone buzzed, and he jumped off the couch. “Shit, I’ve got a shift at the club in like twenty minutes, you’re welcome to stay here for as long as you need. We’ve got a guest room you can use.”

Screenshot-4936

“Is your roommate okay with me staying here?” I asked as I followed him to the room.

“I’m pretty sure he’ll be fine with it.”

“Pretty sure? That’s not very reassuring.”

Screenshot-4940

He laughed as he opened a door and ushered me in. “Don’t worry, Hawthorn isn’t too bad of a guy.”

“Yup, definitely reassuring.”

He laughed again. “Alright, I know it’s not much, but you can do whatever you want with it. We don’t get a lot of guests.”

Screenshot-4941

“Thanks, it’s perfect. I’ve never really had a room all to myself before.”

“Really?”

“Yea, I’ve got twin sisters. We all shared one room.”

“Wow. Well now you’ve got this one all to yourself.” He smiled at me. “I’ll leave my number by the fridge, call me if you need anything.”

“Thanks Dimitri.” I closed the door behind him after he left.

I couldn’t believe my luck, I just happened to run into someone who wanted to help me instead of kill me. It almost felt too good to be true. But right now, I was too tired to care. I hadn’t slept in a bed in a month, and it felt like ages.

Screenshot-4944

The first thing I did was take my little animal out of my pocket and put it on the nightstand. The second thing I did was flop down on the bed and stare at it. I missed Ash already. Part of me wished I brought him with me. Another part of me really wished I had died out there. I still didn’t deserve to live. I still caused someone to die, no matter where I went.

I drifted off, thinking about Ash and Cherry and everything I left behind.

———

Screenshot-4946

“You did what?” A man yelling woke me from my nap.

“Dude, she didn’t have anywhere else to go, what was I supposed to do?” Dimitri sounded upset.

Screenshot-4949

“You can’t save everyone, Dimitri. I know you’re desperate to be a hero, but is it really worth it? We could get killed for just having her in our building.” I got off the bed and pressed my ear to the door to hear them better.

Screenshot-4950

“You don’t know that for sure. There are no laws about hybrids.”

“Dude, if they found out we had a fairy in our apartment, they’d kill us. Imagine what they would do if they found out we had a mutt living with us?” The word mutt made me cringe. This guy didn’t even know me and he was already calling me names.

Screenshot-4951

“Then we’ll be careful. I promise, nothing bad is gonna happen.”

“It’s too risky. If we get caught, you’ll put your entire family to shame. Your father will have to resign and they’ll lose everything.” The other man, who I’m guessing is Dimitri’s roommate Hawthorn, tried to guilt trip him. It didn’t work though, because Dimitri let out a small, sarcastic laugh.

Screenshot-4954

“Do you really think I give a damn? I don’t care what happens to my parents. They’re both shitty people who only give a damn about themselves. So don’t even try to use that as a guilt trip.” Dimitri was getting angry now.

“Fine, but if your parents lose everything so will your siblings.” Hawthorn said smugly.

“Syd doesn’t live there anymore, Mia is moving out soon, and Christian is almost eighteen. The only one who’s in danger is Rose. But you know what, I’m pretty sure Mia is taking her with her when she moves. So yea, I don’t have to worry about them.”

Screenshot-4957

“Whatever man. She still can’t stay.”

“Come one man, just let her stay for a few days.” Dimitri was practically begging now. “If it doesn’t work out, I’ll take her somewhere else. Just give her a chance.”

“I don’t know man.”

Screenshot-4961

I decided that this was my cue. I was pretty self confident, I knew that I was hot. And usually guys can’t resist a pretty girl. It wouldn’t hurt to try.

“Hey.” I said, getting their attention.

“Dude, why didn’t you just tell me that she’s smoking hot?” Hawthorn whispered to Dimitri, thinking I couldn’t hear them. Dimitri shrugged.

Screenshot-4964

“I’m Jasmine.” I walked up to him and introduced myself.

“Hawthorn.” He smiled at me as his eyes swept over my body, briefly stopping to stare at my breasts. It made me feel uncomfortable, but I didn’t want to piss him off. He was still deciding if I could live with them or not.

Screenshot-4965

“She can stay.” He turned to Dimitri and spoke to him as if I weren’t there.”But,” He started, making me nervous. “She has to at least look like a part of society.”

“What? How is she gonna do that? It’s kinda obvious that she’s mixed.” Dimitri defiantly crossed his arms.

“Sunglasses.”

“Fine, but what do you mean ‘a part of society?” I asked.

“You need to get a job.”

I gulped. This can’t be good.

4 thoughts on “Jasmine Fae Chapter 6: Bridgeport

  1. wow… they may have more technology in Bridgeport, but they are pretty medieval when it comes to Fae and Vampires. I definitely want to see what happens if they find out that Jazz is a hybrid.

    • Very true, the vampires running the town are very set in the old ways. Hopefully they can change that before Jasmine’s secret gets out. Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

