Generation 3: Prologue

Screenshot-4095

Growing up I spent a lot of time in the lobby of HQ. My parents were the leaders of F.R.O., an organization whose main goal is to break away from the scientists, and restore our family back into power.

Our organization was important. The scientists let us live normal lives in the Valley, but no one could leave and no one could enter. It was like we were trapped in a bubble. Not a lot of people cared, they had food, shelter, a job and friends. They didn’t want to escape the scientists and become our own leaders. They were cowards, they didn’t want to fight for something important.

Screenshot-4210

I was thankful that my family wasn’t like that. I was glad that we were willing to fight for our freedom.

Speaking of my family, after the twins were born, we didn’t spend as much time at HQ as we used to. My parents had their hands full with them, but that didn’t mean they put F.R.O. on hold. They still took us there once a week even though getting the twins dressed and ready took up the majority of our mornings.

Screenshot-4294

I wasn’t very close with my little sisters. Sure, I helped take care of them whenever my parents asked, but that didn’t mean we were besties. They liked to keep to each other, they had a special bond that I didn’t share with them. I was a little disappointed, it would’ve been nice to be close with them, but if they didn’t want that then I wasn’t going to force it.

The only times we actually played together was at HQ. The only toy there was the block table, our only choices were play with that or be bored. So the three of us would build towers and stuff while we waited for their meetings to end.

Screenshot-4301

I didn’t mind not being close to Iris and Ivy, I never really connected with them like I did with my cousin, Venus. Venus lived across the street from us our whole lives, and she was at our house practically every day. She and I looked more like sisters than my sisters and I did.

Venus was an only child until very recently, when Aunt Fern gave birth to a little boy named Periwinkle. He was adorable, but he bugged the crap out of Venus. She was used to all of her parents attention, and when the new baby came she got angry and started staying at our place more and more. Not that we minded. I loved having her around.

Screenshot-4306

When I got to high school, Venus introduced me to her group of friends. The group consisted of two guys, Venus’s boyfriend Sage Ziegler and his best friend Ash Shorter. The two of them were the best of friends, besides the fact they had complete opposite personalities. Sage was loud and rambunctious. He’d do anything to get a laugh and was pretty attention seeking. Ash on the other hand was quiet, he rarely ever talked to anyone besides Sage.

I was really glad I had my cousin. School was hard for me, I was the only mixed occult in existence so I got teased a lot. I didn’t really care, It just screwed with my ability to make friends. No one wanted to hang out with the Mutt, that’s their affectionate nick-name for me. If it weren’t for Venus, I’d probably be completely alone at school.

Screenshot-4307

The four of us usually hung out after school too. The Moonlight Arcade was our usual hang out spot. It was awesome, it had bowling lanes, a bunch of arcade games, a dance floor, a dj table, and a computer room. It was the perfect place to spend our nights and weekends.

Right now, Venus and I were waiting for the boys to finish their basketball shooting game. They were in a fierce competition, neither of them wanting to lose to the other.

Screenshot-4311

“So when do they usually finish?” I asked Venus. They’d been playing for a while now, and I wanted to start bowling.

“They’ll finish soon. From what I can see, it looks like Ash is winning.” She laughed, leaning back in her chair to get a better look at their scores.

“Who usually wins?”

Screenshot-4310

“Ash. He’s pretty athletic, you can’t tell from looking at him though. He’s pretty scrawny.”

“He’s not that scrawny.” I said, leaning over to get a better look.

“Checking him out, are we?” She giggled, making me blush. I hated blushing.

“No, I was just seeing if he was scrawny or not.”

“Oh come on. He’s cute, you can’t deny that.” She wiggled her eyebrows and laughed again.

Screenshot-4315

“I mean, I guess.”

“You should ask him out.”

“You just want someone to double date with.” I sighed.

“Yea, but I think you guys would make a great couple. He’s pretty chill and you’re a total whack job, I think you’ll balance each other out perfectly.”

“You suck.” I laughed, and kicked her shin under the table.

Screenshot-4314

“But seriously, I barely even know him. He barely ever talks to me. Why would I ask out a guy I barely know?”

“Then get to know him! You guys can bowl together tonight instead of you and me.”

“Alright, fine.” Honestly, I was pretty nervous. I’ve only been bowling a few times, and I wasn’t that great at it. I was afraid I’d make a fool out of myself in front of Ash.

Screenshot-4322

“Hey Babe, wrap it up. You and I are bowling together.” Venus called out to Sage. The boys immediately stopped their game. I had a feeling they were both afraid of Venus. She was pretty demanding, and when she didn’t get what she wanted she got angry. Like throwing things and screaming angry. I bet they’d experienced that before, and didn’t want it to happen again.

“Don’t you usually bowl with Jazz?” He asked. Ever since I started high school, I started going by Jazz instead of Jazzy. Jazzy seemed like such a little girls name, and I didn’t want to feel like a little girl anymore. And besides, Jazz sounds pretty badass.

“I do, but I wanna bowl with you tonight.” She smiled and batted her eyelashes. He shrugged at Ash and walked with Venus over to a lane.

I stood up and took the lane next to them. “Care to join me?” I asked Ash, and he smirked.

“I don’t see why not.”

Screenshot-4329

I confidently strode over and grabbed a bowling ball. I positioned myself and swung my arm back.

Screenshot-4331

When I swung my arm forward again, my fingers got stuck in the bowling ball. The force of my swing sent me flying forward. I hit the ground with a loud thud.

“Smooth.” Ash chuckled.

“Ha-ha.” I scoffed. I could feel my face start to heat up again. What was with all the damn blushing today? “I’d like to see you do better.” I challenged him.

Screenshot-4335

I pulled myself off the ground and took a step back. He approached the ball return and picked up the bowling ball. I watched him take a step back and get ready to swing.

Screenshot-4337

He too got his fingers stuck in the ball, sending him to the floor in a fashion that almost mirrored mine.

“Smooth.” I joked.

“What is up with these balls?” He stood up and dusted himself off.

“That’s what she said.” Sage chimed in from the next lane.

“Dude that doesn’t even make sense.” Ash shook his head with a laugh.

“It’s still funny.”

“Whatever helps you sleep at night, babe.” Venus patted his shoulder lovingly.

———

Screenshot-4340

The four of us bowled for hours. It was dark out by the time we finished. There were no windows in the bowling room, but we knew it was dark because the black lights only come on when its night time.

“Good game, Jazz.” Ash smiled at me after we finished.

“Yea, after we got over all of that falling.” I joked, making him laugh.

Screenshot-4346

“Hey, so I had a lot of fun tonight.”

“Me too.” I stated.

“So I was wondering if you wanted to hang out again, just the two of us?” He glanced down at the ground nervously.

Screenshot-4339

“Sure, why not.” I tried to keep calm, I didn’t want to seem too eager.

“Cool, so how about tomorrow after school? We can go to the park and just hang for a while, then maybe go to a movie or the diner.”

“Sounds like a plan, I’ll see you then.” We said our goodbyes, it was getting late and all four of us had to be home soon.

Screenshot-4350

I started my walk home alone. Venus and I always walked together, since she lived across the street. Right now she was making out with Sage, and I got bored so I started walking. I knew she’d catch up eventually, she always does.

My thoughts wandered off to my date with Ash tomorrow. I couldn’t wait to talk to Venus about it, I was kinda nervous and she always knew exactly what to say to give me confidence. She also had a boyfriend, so she could give me advice on what to do.

I also couldn’t wait to tell her I didn’t even have to ask him, he asked me. I just wish she’d hurry up with Sage.

——–

Screenshot-4354

“Make sure you’re sisters get to bed in the next hour.” Dad instructed as he went down the stairs. I had just gotten home and I was exhausted.

“Will do.”

“Night Jazzy.” Everyone else switched to Jazz, but I just couldn’t get my dad to shake Jazzy. I eventually gave up, but he was the only one who was allowed to call me Jazzy.

“Night Dad.”

Screenshot-4356

“Where have you been?” Iris demanded as soon as I sat down on my bed.

“Out with friends. Why do you care?”

“What do you guys do?” Iris asked.

“Just hang out. But again, why do you care?”

“Iris wants to know what it’s like to be a teenager. She’s tired of being a little kid.” Ivy said softly from behind Iris, who nodded enthusiastically.

“Venus and I went bowling with the guys.”

“You hang out with boys? Are they cute?” Iris asked excitedly.

“Yes and yea I guess.”

“Do you have a boyfriend?” Ivy asked.

“Not yet, but I’ve got a date tomorrow.” Their eyes almost popped out of their heads. “Sit and I’ll tell you all about it, as long as you promise to go to bed right after.” They glanced at each other and nodded.

“Fine.”

Screenshot-4357

They both climbed onto my bed excitedly. I never noticed how interested they were in me. Maybe that’s because I don’t have an older sister. Or maybe I’m just not that interested in anyone else’s life.

“So who is he?” Iris was bouncing up and down excitedly.

“His name is Ash, he’s Venus’s boyfriend’s best friend.”

“What does he look like?” Ivy piped in.

“Well, he’s a vampire. He’s got long, bright red hair and dark red eyes.”

“What about his skin?”

“It’s yellow.” I smiled.

“He sounds cute.” Iris said, and Ivy nodded.

“Yea, he is. And we’re gonna hang out after school tomorrow.”

Screenshot-4361

“Wow. You are so lucky.” Iris looked at me with awe.

“I guess, I bet you’ll get asked out on lots of dates when you’re my age.” I encouraged her.

“What about me?” Ivy asked quietly.

Screenshot-4360

“You too of course, you guys are gonna get lots of dates.” They both smiled excitedly.

“I can’t wait to grow up!”

“I know, but now it’s time for bed.” I ushered the girls off of my bed and into their own.

“Night Iris, Night Ivy.” I said after flicking off the lights.

“Night Jazz.” They said simultaneously. Sometimes they were so in sync it was scary. I guess that’s twins for you.

I went to sleep that night with a huge smile plastered on my face. I couldn’t wait for my date tomorrow.


A/NΒ Hey guys! So, this Generation is gonna get pretty rough at some points. As always, I’ll put warnings at the top of particularly bad chapters. But there’s going to be a lot of them, so buckle your seat belts folks, this is gonna be a wild ride. I’ve been waiting to do this Gen for a while now, I’m so excited it’s finally happening! I’ll be making a new banner soon, but for now you can just look at River’s cute little face πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for reading πŸ™‚

Also, Moonlight Arcade was made by parabee27Β and you can download it here! It’s super cute, it’s perfect for Jasmine and her friends. Thanks so much, I really love it πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Generation 3: Prologue

  1. Although Iris and Ivy keep to themselves, Jazz is a really loving sister. I just hope the teasing will stop, because something bad might happen. But I don’t know, I’m not the write πŸ˜‰

    • Yea, Jazz knows that even though they exclude her sometimes, they do look up to her and she tries to be a good role model for them. There will be more on the teasing, we’ll just have to see what happens πŸ™‚

  2. I’m glad that you like the arcade! I have a good-ish feeling for the date. Because he doesn’t look like a guy with bad intentions. I love the computer room because all the lamp lights πŸ™‚ Great chapter!

Leave a Reply

