River Fae Chapter 21: Finale

Screenshot-4151

The years were flying by so fast it was hard to register everything that was happening. Jasmine had started school, Ivy and Iris were both walking and talking, and Drea had become the principal of the school. But that’s only scratching the surface.

As the girls grew, so did their personalities. All three girls were so different, it was hard to believe they were sisters.

Screenshot-4165

Jasmine was a very independent little girl. Even though her sisters were older now, she chose to play by herself. Or maybe the twins chose to play with just each other. I’m not entirely sure what happened there, but either way Jasmine played by herself. Sometimes Venus would come over to play, but she was getting older and didn’t want to play as much anymore.

Screenshot-4169

I felt bad for her, I knew she was having a hard time in school, but she refused to talk to me about it. I wanted to help her, I would do anything for any of my girls, but if she didn’t come to me and tell me she needed help there wasn’t much I could do. Drea and I didn’t want to force it out of her, we both knew that would drive her away. We didn’t want that, we wanted our kids to feel like they could come to us for anything.

The teasing probably centered around her mixed status. So far, she was the only hybrid we knew of, so of course that made her an easy target for bullying. Drea and I worried about her status, we weren’t sure what powers she possessed. We’ve heard of young supernaturals having magical outbursts, and we feared that would happen with her. If she got pushed to the edge, there’s no telling what her powers could do.

Screenshot-4202

Despite her trouble with the kids in school, Jazzy had great grades. She always did her homework before going outside to play. But that didn’t mean she didn’t need homework help every once in a while. Drea and I both sucked at math, but lucky for us Aster was a math whiz. He’d always come over and help her with her homework whenever we asked.

Screenshot-4156

As for the twins, they weren’t as easy to deal with as Jazzy. Having twins is a lot harder than having one child. When one cries, the other one cries too. When one is hungry, the other needs a change. It’s difficult, especially during the day when Hydrangea is at work.

Screenshot-4172

But they weren’t just twins. Each girl had a personality of her own, and they were vastly different from each others. Iris was loud and stubborn, but she was also very interested in her reflection. Her favorite thing to do was sit in front of the mirror and cry.

Screenshot-4195

And boy, could she cry. Iris had a strong set of lungs in her, that’s for sure. She could wail so loud it woke up the neighbors. A lot of the time we didn’t know why she was crying, she’d just cry for no reason whenever she felt like it.

Screenshot-4200

Ivy was the exact opposite. She didn’t cry, and we had trouble teaching her to talk. But we soon found out that she could talk, she just chose not to.

Screenshot-4182

Ivy had no problem learning her other skills. She had no trouble walking, and potty training was a breeze with her. Drea and I came to the conclusion that our daughter might just be shy. She didn’t like seeing people outside of her immediate family, while Iris always ran to anyone who entered the house.

Screenshot-4255

Despite her shyness, Ivy had a very kind heart. She always tried to comfort Iris when she cried, but Iris would never let her. She also would try to comfort Jazzy when she was upset, but Jazzy refused to even admit she was upset. It was a little discouraging to Ivy, but she still tried to comfort those around her. I knew she was going to grow up to be a very kind young woman.

Screenshot-4180

The five of us were doing great. My life was as perfect as it could possibly be.

But of course when you least expect it, your past comes back to haunt you.

I found out about it through the news channel. I didn’t know how to respond when I saw her face on the TV screen again.

Clover Lyn had died in prison.Β She had overdosed on some pills someone snuck into the prison.

I didn’t know how to feel. I hated her for years after what she did. I knew I could never forgive her, but I knew someone who would be torn up over this.

Screenshot-4217

I knew him well enough to know where he’d be.

“Hey Hero, you okay?” I asked, he looked up at me and shook his head.

Screenshot-4221

“Why are you here? After what she did to you and your friends?” His voice was hoarse, it was obvious he’d been crying for a while.

“I’m not here for her. I had a feeling you’d be here, and I wanted to see how you were doing.”

“You’re a good kid, River.”

“Thanks. Are you okay? Do you need anything?”

Screenshot-4224

“No. I’m good, thanks though. I accepted that my little girl’s gone a long time ago. It’s just, now that she really is, it’s a lot harder than I imagined.”

I tried to put myself in his shoes. How would I react if one of my daughters murdered multiple people? I would never stop loving my daughters, no matter what. But it must be hard to love someone when they do something like she did.

Screenshot-4230

“If you do ever need anything, Drea and I will always be here for you, okay?”

“You have a good heart, kid. I should get out of here, it’s not healthy for me to spend so much time here. I’ll see you around.” He patted me on the shoulder and left the cemetery.

Screenshot-4233

After Hero left, I stayed and just stared at her headstone. Part of my was still furious with her, that part of me was glad she had passed. But the other part of me felt sorry for her. She wasn’t well when she did what she did. I knew I couldn’t blame her for what she did.

Another part of me always worried she would break out of prison and come find me. It was a small part, but still a part. I was terrified she would take Drea from me too. But now I didn’t have to worry about that anymore.

Screenshot-4235

It felt wrong, for me to be relieved that someone was dead. Even if that person did horrible things. Was I wrong to feel relieved? I’m not sure, but there was one thing I was sure of.

I wouldn’t be coming back to the cemetery any time soon.


And that’s a wrap!

This generation has been a roller-coaster, for me and for River. I’ve really enjoyed writing his story, and I’m a little sad that it’s over. But, I’m ready to start the next generation. I’m really excited about generation 3, it’s gonna be awesome. I’ll put the heir vote up soon, I can’t wait to see who you choose to take on the Fae family legacy!

6 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 21: Finale

  1. Generation 3 coming up soon huh? Generation 2 for me is coming up in just a few days after the heir vote. I loved the chapter. I didn’t know Clover was that much of a bad seed.

    • Yup, I’m gonna try and post the Generation 3 Prologue sometime in the next two weeks πŸ™‚ Clover was a lot worse than shown, her father knew she had problems but he refused to admit it, since Clover was all he had left of his wife. Sometimes it’s hard for people to admit their loved ones have a problem. Thanks so much for reading πŸ™‚

  2. And… Second generation done! I can’t believe that Clover LICKED Tulip’s blood on the blade (eeww) but, that level of insanity really does lead to surprising results! I can’t wait to see who won the heir poll! My vote would have been for Jasmine or Ivy, I don’t like Iris and I’m not sure why?!?

    • She was pretty insane… Iris was alright, I feel like she resembled her mother too much, while Jasmine was a better mix of the two parents. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

