River Fae Chapter 19: Don’t Be Mad

Screenshot-3884

The months were flying by, and before we knew it Jasmine was one year old. She was growing so fast I felt like if I blinked, I would miss everything and she’d be moving out tomorrow. She was becoming a bit of a handful now that she was getting older, but it was nothing Drea and I couldn’t handle. Just a lot of tantrums, and throwing her teddy bears. We hoped it was just a phase. 

Screenshot-3888

Drea was working and I was home with Jazzy as usual. I was trying to get her to start walking, but so far it wasn’t working.

Screenshot-3892

“She’s pretty stubborn.” Drea laughed from behind me, making me jump.

“What’re you doing home so early?”

“It was a half day today, I totally forgot about it.”

“Oh, that’s awesome.” I tried to urge Jazzy towards me but she just plopped right back down on the ground.

“Hey, can we talk outside for a second?” She asked nervously.

“Sure, is everything okay?”

“Yea, everything’s fine.” She answered before walking out of the nursery.

Screenshot-3896

“Hey, babe what’s up?” I closed the balcony door behind me. She looked upset, and I hated it when she was upset.

Screenshot-3899

“River, I wanna ask you something and you gotta promise not to get mad, and it’s totally okay if you say no, I just have to ask.”

“Of course Drea, you can ask me anything.”

“I wanna have another baby. I know we have our hands full with Jazzy, but I want more than one kid and I don’t want them to be too far apart in age.”

“Really? You want another baby? Why would I get mad at you for that?”

“I don’t know, I just thought you’d be upset since Jazzy is being a pain lately and you’d have to watch over her and the new baby during the day.”

“I’m not mad, I’d love to have another baby with you.” I smiled at her. I’ve been wanting another one for a while now, but I wasn’t sure if she wanted one too. She was the one who had to carry it for nine months, so I let her come to me.

Screenshot-3900

She squealed an jumped into my arms. “I can’t wait, I love you River.”

I sat her down on the railing and kissed her. “I love you too.” I scooped her into my arms and said, “Well, we should probably get started on this baby right away.”

Screenshot-3903

“Yea, sounds like a good idea.” She laughed. “Will Jazzy be okay in there alone for a while?”

“Don’t worry, I just put her down for her nap.”

“Oh, good.” She smirked as I carried her into the bedroom.

Screenshot-3905

“Let’s try for a boy this time, okay?” She asked.

“I don’t think we can control that, babe.”

———

*Hydrangea*

Screenshot-3913

It’s been a few months since River and I started trying for another child. We were getting a little worried, since it was so easy to conceive the first time. So I made a doctors appointment to make sure everything was okay.

“Hey Jazzy, there’s a block table, wanna go play with it.” She nodded at me excitedly and ran off for the toys.

“I’ll keep an eye on her, you go check in.” River grabbed a book from the shelf and took a seat next to the block table.

Screenshot-3921

“Hi, I’m here for my nine-thirty appointment with Doctor Brink.”

“Name please?” The bored looking young nurse asked.

“Hydrangea Fae.”

“Alright, you can take a seat, she’ll be with you in a minute.” She smiled at me.

Screenshot-3923

I took a seat next to River and sighed. “Babe, I’m nervous. What if we can’t have another baby?”

“Hey, don’t think like that. Let’s wait and hear what that doctor has to say before we get ourselves worked up, okay?” He always knew exactly what to say to make me feel better.

“Yea, you’re right. I’m probably just working myself up over nothing.”

“Everything’s gonna be okay, I promise.”

Screenshot-3929

“Mrs. Fae? The doctor will see you now.” I stood up and walked over to the nurse.

Screenshot-3930

“Right this way.” She led me into a hallway and handed me a folded hospital gown. “Here, put this on. She’s going to be doing a full examination.”

Screenshot-3932

When I finished changing into the gown, I took a seat on the examination table. My hands were clammy and shaky, I was extremely nervous. I’ve always been weary of doctors after hearing the horrible stories Basil told me about the doctors who tested him. I know they were human and the doctor I was seeing wasn’t, but still. I couldn’t help but be a little freaked out. There was also the fact that I could be finding out I can’t have any more children, which was terrifying in itself. So yea, I was pretty damn nervous.

Screenshot-3935

“Mrs. Fae? Hi, I’m Dr. Brink. How are you today?” An older vampire with pink hair came into the room.

“Nervous.” I admitted.

“That’s normal.” She told me as she took a seat.

Screenshot-3936

“So, what seems to be the problem?”

“My husband and I are having trouble conceiving. We’ve been trying for months and nothing yet.”

“Do you have any other children?” She asked as she started writing something in the folder on the counter.

“One. She’s about fifteen months.”

“Alright, let’s get this examination started.” She pulled on a pair of rubber gloves and snapped the wrist. I couldn’t help but gulp out of nervousness.

——–

Screenshot-3939

“Well, there’s not much I can tell you today. It’s gonna take at least a week until we get your test results back.” Dr. Brink told me after the examination.

“You can’t tell me anything?” I asked. I was shocked, I was hoping to get some answers today.

“Not yet. But you can come in next week when I get the test results back.”

“Alright. Thanks doctor.” I said, trying to hide my disappointment.

“Of course, Hun. See you next week.” She left the room, leaving me to change back into my clothes.

Screenshot-3943

When I walked back into the waiting room, River immediately shut his book and stood up.

“Hey, how’d it go?”

Screenshot-3949

I threw myself into his arms as soon as I got close enough to him. “We won’t know anything until we get the test results, which won’t be until next week.” I buried my face in his shoulder. I felt like I was about to cry.

“Shh, it’s okay. A week isn’t that long. We’ll have the results before you know it.” He lightly rubbed circles on my back, calming me down slightly.

“I’m so worried. I just want another baby.”

“I know, I do too.” He kissed my cheek. “Let’s try and distract ourselves, okay? How about we invite Fern and Venus over?”

“Yea, okay.”

——-

*River*

Screenshot-3952

Fern came over with Venus a few minutes after we got home from the doctors. Drea was upset, and I wanted to distract her. She got along well with my sister, and she was just across the street.

“Hey guys, come on in.” I invited the two of them inside.

“Hey, thank god you called. Venus has been bugging me to come over here since she woke up this morning.” Fern laughed. Little Venus grabbed a strand of my sister’s hair and pulled it lightly, signaling her to take her to her cousin. Venus was shy around me, she never said a word if she knew I was in the room.”Oh, let me take her upstairs real quick.”

Screenshot-3953

Venus was a bit older than Jazzy, but the two were extremely close. Jasmine’s first word was Venus, Drea wasn’t too happy about that.

The two of them looked more like sisters than cousins. Whenever Fern and I took them out together, people would mistake them for sisters. They had a strong bond, and I was extremely grateful. If Drea and I couldn’t have another baby, at least she’d have her cousin.

Screenshot-3954

“So, I hear you guys are having trouble conceiving again?” Fern asked when she sat down in the living room.

“How did you know that? We haven’t told anyone.” Drea was surprised, she often forgot that Fern had multiple sixth-sense abilities.

“I have a gift dear, I know a lot of things I shouldn’t know.”

Screenshot-3961

“Do you know if we’ll be able to conceive again?” She asked hopefully.

“I do.”

“Can you tell me?”

“I could, but what I know isn’t definite. The future isn’t set in stone, and I’m afraid if I give away too much information I could change it.” She explained.

“Eh, it was worth a shot.”

Screenshot-3962

“Don’t worry about it too much, you’ll stress yourself out. Stress can decrease your chances of conception. Maybe you just need a nice spa day, a little relaxation goes a long way.”

“Are you speaking from a sixth-sense point of view or from a friendly point of view?”

“I’m speaking from experience. I was so stressed out when Palm and I were trying to conceive. All it took was a nice couple spa day then bam, we were having a baby.”

Screenshot-3966

“You know, that actually sounds like a great idea. If the test results come back okay next week, then you and I should go to the spa.” She said to me. It didn’t exactly sound like my thing, but I’d be willing to go if it meant another baby.

“Alright, well if that does happen, Fern would you be able to take Jazzy for the night?”

“I’d love too, Venus has been bugging me to have a sleepover with her.”

Screenshot-3967

“You sure you’ll be able to handle the two of them? When they’re together they can be quite a handful.” Drea warned.

“I know, but I’ll deal.”

Screenshot-3978

“Besides Drea, she’s got Palm, his brother, and his parents. I think she’ll be fine.”

“I sure hope so.” Drea said, making us all laugh.

6 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 19: Don’t Be Mad

  1. I hope they can have another baby :). But, having a vampire fairy must be hard. Jazzy looks so cute though! Great chapter 😉

Leave a Reply

