River Fae Chapter 17: Someone Special

Screenshot-3688

Maple and Carrot found a house about twenty minutes from ours, and they were moving out today. Hydrangea was extremely moody lately and today was no exception. She hung from my brothers neck, refusing to let go.

“I’m gonna miss you too much.” She was practically sobbing.

“I’m gonna miss you too, but you guys are starting a family. You don’t need your future brother’s in law living in your only other bedroom. I promise, we’re gonna visit all the time.” Carrot soothed her.

Screenshot-3685

“Hey man, I’m gonna miss having you in the room next door. We’ve been living together for so long, you’re practically a brother to me. And after I propose to him tonight, we’ll be one step closer to becoming actual brothers.” Maple told me quietly as he hugged me goodbye.

“You’re gonna propose?”

“Yea, I bought the ring last weekend.” He smiled shyly. “I really hope he says yes.”

“He will, he loves you.” I assured him. I knew Carrot would say yes, he told me the other day he wanted to propose to Maple.

“I sure hope so.” He hugged me again. “You better call us as soon as she goes into labor. We wanna be there for you guys the whole time.”

“Thanks man, we definitely will.”

Screenshot-3686

“Hey, Drea, how about you and I go shopping this weekend? I wanna get something for you and the baby.” Carrot offered.

“I’d love to.” She clung to his jacket even harder than before.

“Love, their truck is here. We kinda need him to help us load the truck.” I came up behind her and laid my palm on the small of her back.

“Oh. Sorry.”

“It’s fine. C’mon guys, let’s get this truck loaded.” Between the three of us, it only took a few trips to load all their boxes onto the truck. Soon the two of them were driving off to their new place.

Screenshot-3689

“You know, he’s gonna propose tonight.” I told Drea after the truck rounded the corner.

“Carrot? Yea, I know. He told me.”

“No, I was talking about Maple.” I laughed, Drea did too.

“Well, I can’t wait to hear that story.” She chuckled.

——-

Screenshot-3693

“Hey Love, maybe you should take a break. We’ve been working for hours.” It’s been about a month after Maple and Carrot moved out, and we were currently transforming their old room into a nursery. We found out we were having a girl, only ONE girl, thank god. Now that we knew the gender, we could decorate the nursery accordingly.

“I’m pregnant, not dying. I can work just fine. But it doesn’t matter, I’m done now.”

Screenshot-3695

“You did an amazing job.” I planted a nice big kiss on her lips.

“Thanks Babe, but don’t forget you helped too.”

“I know, but you picked out all the furniture and the colors. If I had this place would’ve looked awful.”

“True.” She laughed and pressed her growing stomach against me.

“Oh my god, did she just kick?” I asked after feeling a small movement against my own stomach.

“I think she did, maybe she’ll do it again.”

Screenshot-3698

I laid my hand against her, trying to feel the tiny kick again.

“I can’t feel anything.” I frowned. That was the first kick I felt, and I wanted to feel my baby move again. Every time she kicked before, Drea would call me but by the time I got to her Jazzy stopped kicking. It was frustrating.

“It’s okay, you’ll feel her kick soon.” She reassured me.

Screenshot-3700

“Hey Jazzy, will you kick for Daddy after he asks Mommy a question?” I spoke to her belly in a baby voice, making Drea stare at me funny.

“Ask me a question?”

“Yea.” I said, as I lower myself to one knee.

Screenshot-3705

“River, what’re you doing?”

“Shh, let me talk for a sec.” I grabbed her hand and held it tenderly. “When we met, I had no idea how much you would end up meaning to me. We’ve been through a lot together, but this is only the beginning. I want to spend the rest of my life with you, Drea. So, Hydrangea Blu, will you marry me?”

Screenshot-3709

I pulled out the ring box from the pocket of my overalls and opened it up for her. She covered her mouth in surprise.

“Oh my god.” She whispered.

“We don’t have to get married yet, we can wait until a few months after the baby is born.” I suggested.

“Oh my god, yes. Yes!” She yelled excitedly. Thank god. I thought to myself. I was so worried she would say no. I don’t know why, but I guess every guy worries about that when proposing.

Screenshot-3719

“I love you, River.” She threw her arms around my as soon as I pulled myself off the ground.

“I love you too.” She pulled back a little so we were facing each other.

“Hey babe,” She said about a minute into our embrace, “could you run out and get me some frozen yogurt?” She asked.

“Of course.” I laughed.

——-

Screenshot-3723

Drea’s due date was quickly approaching, and we were getting anxious. We had everything prepared for the arrival of our little girl, and we both wanted her out as soon as possible. Drea was having a lot of back pain and ankle swelling, and I hated to see her in pain.  We were both hoping Jazzy would come out soon.

Screenshot-3735

I tried to distract the both of us with video games, and it usually always worked. Drea was extremely competitive and once she got started it was hard to get her to stop. But she was growing so restless even video games wouldn’t distract her.

Screenshot-3737

“How much longer do you think it’s gonna take?” She sighed and paused the video game.

“Not much longer. It should be any day now.” I assured her, her due date was tomorrow so it couldn’t be too long before she went into labor.

“Blah. It’s taking too long.”

“Be patient, love. I promise it’s all gonna be worth it.”

“Yea, whatever. I think I’m gonna go take a nap.” She slowly lifted herself off the couch, swatting my hand away when I tried to help.

Screenshot-3741

“Call out for me if you need me, okay?” I added before she started climbing the stairs.

“Yea, I know. Love you.”

“Love you too, Drea. Have a nice nap.”

Screenshot-3742

I got back to my video game as soon as Drea safely climbed the stairs. Once the baby comes, I know I won’t have much time to play video games, so I tried to enjoy it as much as possible.

But I didn’t have much time to play.

Screenshot-3743

“River! It’s time!”

——–

Screenshot-3747

Jasmine Tulip Fae was born eight hours later. She was gorgeous, she already had little tufts of hair, the same wine hue as my own. She had a skin color similar to my mothers, and she had her green eyes. But still, she was a perfect balance between Drea and I.

You see, our little Jasmine was the first vampire-fairy. She had vampire eyes and fairy sparkles, the first ever to be born with two supernatural powers. Our daughter was beautiful, and we both knew she would grow up to be someone really special.

Screenshot-3751

Drea took Jazzy up to our room as soon as she got home. We were all exhausted, and they were both asleep by the time I got upstairs.

In that moment, my heart swelled. I’ve never loved anyone like I loved the two girls sleeping in my bed.

It had to be the happiest night of my life.

4 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 17: Someone Special

  1. Yay! Everything went smoothly. I thought this may be like Clover’s mom, but I’m glad that small chance was wrong. And soon, we are going to get to see a wedding or two, and watch Jazzy grow! 🙂

    • Of course, what’s a legacy without an emotional pregnant lady? Yea, the infant hair looks pretty glitchy, but that might just be my terrible graphics lol. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

