River Fae Chapter 16: Game Plan

Screenshot-3631

I stood there, just staring at her for a good two minutes. Pregnant? We were always so careful, I didn’t think this would happen. I didn’t think I was ready to be a father. I had a part time job at a bookstore, that’s not gonna support a baby and Drea. Where would we live? I couldn’t ask Maple and Carrot to move out, I’d have to move out. I didn’t have enough money for a new place. Or baby stuff.

“River? Oh god, you are mad. I’m so sorry. You don’t have to be involved if you want. I can raise it on my own, you won’t even have to pay support. I’m so sorry.” She started rambling.

“Hey, I’m not mad. Just shocked. And extremely nervous.” I laughed.

“You’re not mad?” She beamed.

“Of course not. Why would I be mad?”

Screenshot-3640

“Oh thank god. I really didn’t wanna do this alone.” She threw her arms around me and buried her face in my shoulder.

“How far along are you?”

“About two months.” She told me. We’ve been seeing each other for about four months, so there was no doubt this baby was mine.

“So, we’ve got a lot to work out.”

“Yea, but I’m so glad we’re doing this together.”

“Me too.” I smiled at her.

Screenshot-3641

“I love you, Drea.” This was the first time I’ve ever told her that I loved her. I’ve been wanting to say it for a while, but it never felt like the right time. But now it did.

“I love you too, River.” She said it back, and I couldn’t help but kiss her as passionately as I could.

——-

Screenshot-3646

“So, what’s our plan?” Drea came over the next day to work everything out.

“Well, I’d really like us to live together. Like as soon as possible. I want to be there for you throughout the whole thing.” My real father wasn’t around when my mom was pregnant with me, and I wanted to be the opposite. I wanted to make sure her pregnancy was as comfortable as possible.

“Well, my apartment is way too small for one person, let alone three. I was thinking maybe, could we live here? It already has a tree house, it’s perfect to raise a child here.”

“I know, but I can’t just ask Maple and Carrot to leave. They don’t have anywhere else to go.”

Screenshot-3648

“Well then we can help them find a place. We still have time before the baby comes, we could all live here for a few months while we find them a place. They’re pretty good friends, I bet they’d like sharing a place.” She smiled. “It’s all gonna work out.”

“I hope they don’t get mad, I know they like this place.”

“They can visit anytime they like.” The more she talked, the better this sounded. I didn’t really wanna kick them out, but I also really wanted a family. Drea’s plan sounded like a great one.

“Well, the boys are downstairs. Maybe we should get their say in this before we make any decisions.” I suggested.

Screenshot-3651

I helped her off the ground and wrapped my arms around her waist.

“Sounds like a good idea.” She draped her arms around my neck and kissed me cheek. “By the way, there’s no way I’m wearing a wedding dress while I’m pregnant.” She whispered in my ear before leaving the room.

I was glad we were on the same page, I wanted to wait until after our baby was born to get married. But of course, I have to ask her to marry me first…

——-

Screenshot-3652

“Thanks for your attentions guys, this is really important.” Drea was nervous, I was the only person she’d told about the pregnancy so far.

“No problem Drea.” Maple waved her off with a smile.

“Well, I guess I’ll just cut to the chase. I’m pregnant.” There was silence for a few seconds, Maple and Carrot’s expressions were completely blank.

“And we were wondering if Drea could move into the master with me, and you guys could share the second bedroom.” I broke the silence, it didn’t seem like anyone else was going to.

Screenshot-3655

“So, are you guys going to want the room for a nursery?” Maple asked.

“Only if you guys don’t mind. We can help you guys find a place.” I offered. Maple looked at Carrot, and Carrot gave him a small nod.

Screenshot-3658

“That sounds like a great idea.” He beamed. “But, Carrot and I have an announcement of our own.”

“You do?” Drea said exactly what I was thinking. What could they possibly have to announce?

“Well, um, we’ve been dating. For a while now. Probably as long as you guys have.” Maple smiled nervously, and Carrot avoided eye contact. Dating? I had no idea, they were pretty good at hiding it. I didn’t even know my brother was into guys, he never said anything to me. But if anyone was gonna date my brother, I’m glad it’s my best friend.

Screenshot-3660

“Yea, we started dating right after your first F.R.O. meeting. So yea, we don’t mind sharing a room for a while.” Carrot stood up and pulled Maple to him. They did make a cute couple.

“I knew it!” Drea whispered quietly, so only I could hear. I laughed and shook my head, I guess I was just oblivious.

Screenshot-3663

After Maple and Carrot broke out of their own little world, congratulations were in order. They were excited to be uncles, and Drea and I were excited that they were happy.

It was a great day.

——-

Screenshot-3664 Screenshot-3665

Drea moved in a little while later. We bought Maple and Carrot their own bed, and she brought hers from her apartment. She and I had some decorating disagreements, but we finally came to a compromise. I could keep the wallpaper, and she got to take down my sports posters and put her own things up. It wasn’t that big of a deal, hopefully I’ll be able to give them to my kid one day.

Maple and Carrot have been house hunting for a while, but they haven’t found anything they really liked. It seemed like they were looking at a different house every day. Today was one of those days when they were both out.

Screenshot-3671

Drea wasn’t showing yet, but the baby was our main topic of discussion. Right now, we were watching a random movie I borrowed from Carrot. It was a terrible movie, but we didn’t care, we weren’t really watching.

“So, I know it’s early, but I wanna decide on two names early on. I hate when people try and give me suggestions now, who knows how bad it’ll get when I start to show.” Drea rubbed her stomach idly.

“Well, do you have an specific names you wanna run by me?” I had a suggestion, but I wanted to hear her ideas first.

“Well, for a girl, my mom always loved the name Ivy. She said if she had a third child, she would’ve named her that.”

“It’s nice, but I don’t think it’ll go with my idea for a middle name.”

Screenshot-3676

“Oh? And what’s your idea for a middle name?” She adjusted her position and placed my hand on her belly.

“If it’s a girl, I was thinking her middle name could be Tulip.” I suggested nervously. It was the first time I’d said her name since the incident.

“I think that’s a great idea.” She beamed. I knew she missed her sister, and I think this would be a great tribute to her.

“Alright, so we’ve got a girl middle name. How about a first name? Or a boy name?”

“How about Huckleberry? We could call him Huck for short.”

“I love it.” I smiled at her, she looked really beautiful that day. “Huckleberry Fae, how adorable.”

“And for a girl, I was thinking Orchid, or maybe Azalea?”

Screenshot-3682

“Those are both beautiful names, but I just thought of one that would work perfectly with the middle name we chose.” She shifted positions again, and laid her head in my lap.

“Let’s hear it.”

“I’ve always liked the name Jasmine. We could call her Jazz or Jazzy for short.”

“Jasmine Tulip Fae. I love it.” She laughed. “Huck and Jazz. How cute. If only we were having twins.” She joked.

“Yea, if only.” I laughed anxiously. I was terrified of having one child, and the thought of two at once was overwhelming.

Let’s cross our fingers and hope for a single birth…

6 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 16: Game Plan

  1. LOL, they are either going to have twins or triplets. They suggested 3 names to go with, so I’m guessing triplets, twins, or just one. But I’m so excited!! Drea and River are such a cute couple!!

Leave a Reply

