River Fae Chapter 10: Tension

Screenshot-3074

To say things were awkward would be an understatement. I always tried to be out of the house when I knew Clover would be home. Working nights finally came in handy, I would leave the house before she came home and I’d get home after she’d fallen asleep.

But even with all my clever avoidance techniques, I’d still see her around the house every so often. Sometimes I’d ignore her just like she was ignoring me, but other times I’d try and strike up a conversation. Today was one of those days.

“Hey Clo, I like you’re haircut.” I said. She cut her hair to about chin length a little while ago. I’m pretty sure she did it herself, I found yellow hair all over the bathroom floor not long ago.

She completely ignored me and went straight for the refrigerator. She usually did whenever I tried to talk to her.

Screenshot-3075

She got a salad from the fridge and headed for the table. She usually brought her food up to her room, but I guess we were making progress.

Screenshot-3076

We ate in silence. If anyone had walked in right then they’d probably choke on the tension in the air.

“Don’t speak to me ever again.” she said after a few intense minutes of quiet.

“Sorry.”

“You should be. You are a terrible person.” She glared at me between bites of her salad.

“I’m not a terrible person. I can’t help it if I don’t love you anymore.”

“You are such an asshole. You better watch your back.”

Screenshot-3079

“You know, you really shouldn’t threaten someone who’s working on a murder case, on which you’re a suspect.” I stood up, threw my blood pouch away and went upstairs to find Tulip. I didn’t care if anyone knew anymore. I was tired of hiding from someone who’s opinion doesn’t matter to me.

——-

Screenshot-3083

“So you really don’t care what she thinks?” Tulip asked me the next day when I took her to the beach down the street.

“Not at all. She’s my ex-girlfriend, you’re my current girlfriend. Her opinion doesn’t matter to me. I used to care if she got upset, but she’s been so freaking rude to me. I just don’t care anymore.”

“I don’t think we should piss her off, River. She’s a murder suspect.”

“I promise, I won’t let her hurt you. If she did kill Gardenia, Detective Blu will find evidence. She’s great at her job, you know that.”

“I know, but I can’t help but be worried.”

Screenshot-3085

“Don’t worry about her. Today is about us, so let’s have fun, okay?” I said. I was tired of thinking about Clover. I couldn’t wait until she was completely out of my life.

“Alright.” She agree. I pushed my lips against hers.

“So, what should we do first?”

Screenshot-3088

“Um, I don’t know.” She looked away shyly. Tulip wasn’t a very shy person, so either she was messing with me or she was nervous.

She pushed me in the chest lightly and screamed “You’re it!” Before running off towards the water.

I knew she had to be messing with me.

Screenshot-3091

“Hey, that was so not cool.” I called after her as she ran into the ocean.

“Aw, did someone’s feelings get hurt?” She mocked me with a baby voice.

“Oh this is so on.” I fake threatened, and made my way into the water.

Screenshot-3092

As soon as I was close enough, I started to splash her as much as I possibly could.

“Ahh, River stop.” She laughed.

“Never.” I yelled, sending another wave her way.

Screenshot-3109

“You’re the worst.” She splashed me back as hard as she could.

“You know you like it.”

“Oh shut it.”

Screenshot-3104

The both of us were laughing too hard to do any real damage, but we were having the time of our lives.

Screenshot-3117

“Ah, stop!” I screeched.

“A-ha! The tables have turned!” She laughed. “I’ll stop if you admit that I win” She was still splashing, so I had no other choice.

“Fine, fine! You win!”

“Good.”

Screenshot-3120

“I’ll always let you win.” I approached her and took her face in my hand.

“Wow, who knew Mr. Fae was a little sap.” She laughed.

“You know you like it.”

“I do.” She said, and touched her lips to mine.

——-

Screenshot-3125

A little while later we got out of the water and just hung out on the shore.

“Hey River.”

“Yea?”

“Now that you don’t care who knows, can we go on a date?” Tulip asked. I cracked a smile.

“Of course. How’s tomorrow night?”

“Sounds great.” She smiled, and pushed me down onto the sand.

Screenshot-3130

“Awesome, I wanna go somewhere nice, so wear that beautiful white dress Maple bought you.”

“My clubbing dress?” She laughed, and I nodded. “Alright, whatever gets me into your pants.”

“Tulip!”

“Oh don’t be such a prude babe, there’s no one around.” She giggled, kissed my nose, and rolled off me. “C’mon, you’re starting to burn, Mr. Vampire. We should get you home.”

“Okay, help me close the umbrella?”

“Just leave it, I’ll have maple come back for it later. It’s not like anyone’s gonna take it, this is the good part of town.”

I shrugged. “Alright. Race you home!” I took off running, but she called for me to come back.

Screenshot-3133

“Fine, we’ll run together.” I took her hand in mine and we ran across the beach until we were in front of our house.

——

*Tulip*

Screenshot-3141

River and I were going on our first date today. I’ve been waiting for this day since he moved in. He’s an amazing guy, and I couldn’t wait to go on this date.

I was all alone on the third floor getting ready, Maple was working overtime, Clover was out I think, and River was in his bedroom getting ready also.Β The dress I was wearing was one of my favorites, even though I always complained when Maple made me wear it. I looked really hot in it, and River requested it so it was the obvious outfit choice.

I was applying the finishing touches to my makeup when the door creaked open.

Screenshot-3142

“Hey Tulip, need any help?” Clover stood right in front of the bathroom door, startling me.

“Um no, I’m good thanks.” I replied awkwardly. I had a feeling she knew about River and I. I continued to do my makeup, ignoring my company for the time being.

“Are you going to leave your hair that way?” She asked.

“Yea, I like it like this.”

“Oh ok.” She took a step closer. “Are you sure you don’t want my help?”

“I’m fine, really.”

Screenshot-3144

“I really think you could use my help.”

11 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 10: Tension

  1. NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! I would swear, but I had to give up swearing before it became a habit. If I was in the game, I would murder Clover. She’s a selfish, idiotic girl who deserves to be thrown into the bin (of death). I was so afraid this was going to happen! They should’ve kicked Clover out a long time ago! But sadly they are idiots. 😦

  2. Umm… No… no… no! I feel like Clo is definitely going to murder her or like stab her or something! Ughh. Hmm, I feel like she cut her hair because she’s been so devastated being dumped or something! I just hope Tulip is okay overall.

    • I think you might be right when it comes to Clover’s hair. Lots of people change something about their appearance after a break-up. I know I did a few times. We’ll find out what happens to Tulip and everyone else next chapter. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

