Valentine’s Special

WARNING: Contains nudity

Screenshot-2940

My parent’s were throwing another one of their royal parties. And of course, I wasn’t invited. They never let me join in their parties, they said they didn’t want me to get hurt. How could I possibly get hurt at a party? All they do is dance to classical music and eat fancy foods. I couldn’t see the danger in that.

But that’s my parents for you. They never let me leave my room, no matter what. I couldn’t even go to school, I had my own personal tutor. But all I really wanted was to go to school, meet actual people other than my constantly changing nannies and my tutor. It was a lonely life that no one should have to live.

They coddled me like this for a good reason though. They were the king and queen of all the fae in the world, and I was the only heir to the throne. After my mother had me, they could never conceive another child, so I had to be protected at all costs. If something happened to me, the entire empire would fall. So yea, they had a good reason. But that didn’t make it suck any less.

I laid across my bed, chewing the bottom of my pen while thinking what to write. It was almost impossible to concentrate when I knew there were people downstairs. Homework was the last thing on my mind right now.

Screenshot-2941

I pulled myself into a sitting position. I was tired of this. I didn’t want to be the princess locked away in her tower for the rest of my life. I wanted to be the bad-ass princess who defeats a dragon or something cool like that.

That’s when I made the decision to join the party. I mean, what could my parents do? They wouldn’t yell at me in front of their guests, they wouldn’t want to make a scene. I could just go down there and meet a few people, there should be no harm in that. I immediately jumped off my bed to start getting ready. I didn’t have a hair and makeup crew, but I’ve seen them do it so many times I think I could do it on my own.

Screenshot-2943

I didn’t have many fancy dresses, but I did have my favorite dress. I hoped it would be acceptable, I didn’t want to be under-dressed. But I guess I didn’t really have a choice.

Screenshot-2945

“Okay, this can’t be that hard.” I told myself as I approached the mirror. I took out my casual braids and brushed out my hair.

Screenshot-2948

When I was all finished, I didn’t look half bad. I hoped my parents thought I looked acceptable, I really wanted to show them that I was capable of taking care of myself.

I took a deep breath while standing in front of the mirror. Here goes nothing. I thought to myself just before I turned around and headed out my bedroom door. Screenshot-2950

I made it to the hallway above the main staircase before I lost all my confidence. Maybe my parents were right, maybe this wasn’t a good idea.

No, I can’t back out now. I’ve made it this far, I can do this. 

Screenshot-2951

I guess my little self pep-talk worked, because before I knew it I was descending the staircase.

Screenshot-2952

The music was a lot louder than I anticipated. It was classical music, they didn’t need to blare it so loudly. There also weren’t as many people there as I thought there would be. But the party was just starting, I guess more people would be coming later.

I decided to get some fresh air before my parents saw me, I didn’t want to have to leave right after I got there.

Screenshot-2954

I only took a few steps before bumping smack into someone.

Screenshot-2957

“Oh I’m so sorry ma’am, I should’ve been watching where I was going.” The boy said. He looked about my age, and he was extremely cute. What my luck, huh?

“Don’t be, it’s fine.” I assured him. “I’m Princess Flora. Who are you?”

“Reed Green. I am so sorry Princess, I had no idea who you were” He started to bow, but I stopped him.

Screenshot-2958

“Please don’t. I just want to be a normal girl tonight.”

“Well, this is a royal party, it isn’t very normal” He joked, and I laughed. Reed seemed really cool.

“What are you doing here? Are you royal too?” I asked, but I guess that was rude because he got uncomfortable.

“Um, I’m a waiter here tonight. I’m working off my father’s debt.” He explained nervously.

“Oh, well I’m sure my parents wouldn’t mind if you took a few minutes off to dance with me.”

“You want to dance with me?” He sounded surprised. I nodded and grabbed his hand.

Screenshot-2963

“Why wouldn’t I want to? You’re a great guy, Reed. Status means nothing to me.”

“I don’t think your parents have the same views, Princess.” He said, and I glared at him. “Sorry, I just think it’d be rude not to address you with your title. It’s not how I was raised.”

“Well then forget I even have a title. It’s just Flora. That’s it.”

Screenshot-2964

He spun me around, making me giggle like a child. “You’re a great dancer, Reed. Where did you learn to dance?”

“My mother. She was a professional.”

“You definitely have some of her talent.” I gushed.

“Thank you.”

Screenshot-2967

“You’re a very beautiful girl, Flora.” Reed told me as we swayed to the music.

“Thanks, you’re not too bad yourself.” I said, making him laugh.

“Thanks. Hey, so do you wanna get out of here? So we can talk without the loud music?”

“Sure, let’s go up to my bedroom.” I offered.

Screenshot-2968

I looked back at my parents, who were still dancing happily with the other couples. They didn’t notice I was here, so they wouldn’t notice if I was gone.

Screenshot-2975

I changed into something a little more comfortable after Reed and I came upstairs. I couldn’t sit on the floor in the dress, it was too tight for that.

“So, I like your room.” He glanced around my bedroom.

“Thanks, but I’m completely sick of it.”

“Why? It’s nice.”

“Well it’s really the only room I’m allowed in, besides the dining room and the library.” I sighed. I was so tired of this.

“Oh. I’m sorry.”

“It’s not your fault. I’m just tired of being shut out from the world. I want to be able to do what I want.” I started to sob. This was the first time I was saying any of this out loud. I couldn’t talk to my parents, they wouldn’t listen.Screenshot-2976

Reed scooted next to me and wrapped his arm around my waist. “It’s gonna be okay, I’ll try and get you out of here.”

“But if I leave, they won’t have an heir to the throne.”

“You have distant relatives, I bet they’d take the throne. Don’t worry about it. I can help.” I did have other relatives, but I wasn’t sure if it worked that way. But honestly, I didn’t care. I wanted out.

“I’m in.” I jumped up excitedly.

“Oh good, I would hate for you to spend the rest of your life up here until you’re arranged to be married.”

Screenshot-2978

I kissed him. I didn’t know him very well, but I did know that I wanted to be with him. I didn’t want to be here anymore. I wanted to be somewhere else, with Reed.

“I feel like I’ve known you my whole life.” Reed whispered.

“Me too.” I tugged on his shirt and pulled him onto my bed.

Screenshot-2980

“I want you, Reed.” I’ve seen enough romance movies to know where to go with this.

“A-are you sure?” He sounded nervous.

“Positive.”

~

Screenshot-2982

“That was fun.” I beamed at Reed after we finished.

“Yea, it was.”

But little did I know that that night would change my life, and the kingdom, forever.

——-

A/N Hey guys, Happy Valentines Day! I’ve had this idea in my head for a while, I hope you liked it 🙂 I wanted to thank you all for reading my legacy so far, I know I say that a lot but I really mean it. This legacy is so much fun for me to do, and it makes it even more fun when people like what I do. So thank you, and I hope you all have a great Valentines Day.

Leave a Reply

