River Fae Chapter 3: Who You Gonna Call?

Screenshot-2245

“Hey babe, have you been feeling okay lately?” Clover and I were watching a boring movie, and I thought now would be a good time to talk to her. She’s been acting strange since we moved, and I wanted to make sure she was okay.

“I’m fine, why?” She narrowed her eyes at me.

“I’m just wondering, you seem a little on edge lately.”

Screenshot-2247

“What the hell is that supposed to mean?” She frowned at me, looking like a sad puppy.

“Clover, I’m just asking. I didn’t really mean anything by it.”

“You think I’m crazy, don’t you?” She started to sob.

“No, no of course not babe.”

Screenshot-2258

“I’m fine, okay? You can stop asking me now, okay? I’m fine.” She pouted.

“Usually when a girl says she’s fine, she really isn’t.” As soon as that came out of my mouth I regretted it.

“Are you calling me a liar?”

“Of course not Clover. I didn’t mean it like that. I just want to make sure you’re okay.”

“I’m fine. Why do you even care?”

“You’re my girlfriend, I don’t want you to be upset.”

Screenshot-2264

“You don’t care about me!” She screamed and jumped off the couch.

“What? Of course I care about you.” I stood up too.

“If you cared about me you wouldn’t treat me like this!” She was getting hysterical now. I was really regretting bringing this up at all.

“Clover what are you talking about?”

“You know exactly what I’m talking about! If you loved me you wouldn’t share a house with another woman!”

“That’s what this is about? Clover, I told you, I don’t love her. I barely even know her. I only love you, you know that babe.” I tried to calm her down.

“But still! How can I trust you around her? We don’t know her, she could tempt you or something!”

Screenshot-2270

“Do you really think that? Do you really not trust me?” I trusted her with all my heart, how could she doubt me like that? I’ve never done anything to break her trust, so why doesn’t she trust me?

Screenshot-2271

“Oh River, I’m so sorry baby. I didn’t mean it like that. It’s not that I don’t trust you, I don’t trust her.” She was now on the verge of tears again. Her moods were changing so fast it was hard to keep track of it all.

“She’s a nice girl, love. We’re kinda stuck with her for a while, so can you at least try to be civil?” I wasn’t asking a lot.

“I’ll try. But she better keep her paws off of you.”

“I think she will.” I smiled at her.

Screenshot-2273

She practically jumped on me when she kissed me. I definitely wasn’t expecting that, it was like all traces of our fight was gone. Like it never happened.

“I’ve got an interview to do, I’ll be home in a few hours, okay?” She kissed me one more time then ran out the front door before I could respond.

See what I mean?

——-

Screenshot-2281

“Ugh, I hate this job.” Maple flopped onto the sofa a little while later. I hadn’t really moved since Clover left, I was kind of in shock after the whole ordeal.

“Then quit if you don’t like it.” I offered.

“I caaan’t” He groaned. “It’s an entry position, if I ever want to get anywhere in the film industry I gotta do this stupid job.”

“What do you even do?”

“Everything everyone else doesn’t wanna do.” He groaned again.

“Hey, can I ask you for some advice?” I asked hesitantly.

“Of course. Girl drama?”

“How did you know?” I gaped. This guy was pretty good.

“I can tell. What’s up?”

Screenshot-2284

“I’m not even really sure. She’s just been acting so moody. No matter what I say, it’s wrong. It’s driving me nuts.” I sighed.

“So basically she’s just being a girl?” He giggled.

“No, she’s never been like this. We’ve been dating for five years, you’d think I’d notice something like this.”

“Is there any chance she could be, y’know.” He nudged my leg.

“What?”

“Could she be pregnant?”

“We haven’t even um, done it yet.” I admitted. It was kind of embarrassing, most people I know lost their virginity in high school.

“Hmm. Maybe she’s jealous?”

“She has been going on about Tulip.”

“That’s too bad, I think they’d be great friends.” He sighed. I turned my attention back to the television, until he hit me in the arm. “Dude, I think I have an idea.”

——-

Screenshot-2302

The next evening, I came home and was about to crash on my bed when my phone started to ring. I didn’t recognize the number, but I answered it anyway.

“Hello?”

“Hey River, it’s Fern” My half sister said from the other side of the phone.

“Oh hey, how are you?”

Screenshot-2308

“I’m doing great. Just got married. But that’s not why I called.” She’s like eighteen, why would she get married so young? Eh, not my business I guess.

“Then what’s up?”

“I met someone the other day who could really use your help.” She explained quickly.

“What? What do you mean?”

“She got an infestation of sorts.” She paused, I waited for her to elaborate but she didn’t.

Screenshot-2316

“Fern, what are you talking about?”

“Your gift. Remember what I said?”

“I do. What do you need me to do?” I didn’t want my gift to go to waste, like she warned.

Screenshot-2306

“She has a spirit infestation, and she needs them out. I’ve got the device you need to capture them, all you gotta do is meet with her tomorrow then go over to her place and capture the little shits.” It didn’t sound too hard, I bet I could do it.

“Sure, do you have her number?” I asked.

“She has your address, she’ll be at your house around one. Bye Bro.” She hung up before I could say anything else.

I guess I’ve got some spirits to catch.

——-

Screenshot-2319

I usually spent my days alone, just me and the video game system for the majority of the day. Tulip had a desk job at the police station, Clover had her journalism job and Maple had his studio job. Today I was doing a spirit job for some woman I’ve never met. Who knows, maybe she’ll be the first of many.

As soon as that thought crossed my mind, the doorbell rang.

Screenshot-2322

“Hiya, are you River?” A bubbly girl smiled from the porch.

“Yes I am.”

“I’m Gardenia, I talked to you’re sister about my infestation, she said you could help.” She batted her eyelashes and smiled.

“Yea, come on in.”

Screenshot-2324

“Take a seat. Can I get you anything to drink?”

“No I’m good, thanks.” Gardenia smiled and took a seat on the couch.

Screenshot-2325

“So, tell me a about the infestation, whats going on?” I didn’t really know what to ask her, but I assumed this was it.

Screenshot-2338

“Well, my furniture is floating around, shaking, crashing against things. They jump from object to object so I can’t really do anything about it.”

“Okay, sounds easy enough.” I smiled at her.

“Oh, and they only come out at night. Usually around five.”

“Alright, so it’s only one thirty, when should we leave here?” I didn’t mind hanging out with her until then, she seemed pretty cool.

“How about four thirty?”

“Sounds good.”

Screenshot-2339

“So, do you live here alone? It’s a really nice house.” She looked around the living room with a smile.

“No actually, I have two roommates and my girlfriend lives here too.” I explained.

“Oh cool. What’s it like having roommates?”

“They’re both really cool. My girlfriend doesn’t like them too much, but hopefully she’ll come around.”

“Oh, that’s too bad.”

“Yea I guess.” We continued to talk for a few hours until it was time to go. She’s a pretty interesting person. She works in the military, Mistletoe is actually her boss! She lives alone, which is why she’s so freaked out about the spirits. She has no siblings and her parents live across the street from her.

Gardenia was quickly becoming a good friend of mine.

Screenshot-2349

Her house was huge. It was like four stories or something! How can one person live in a house that size all alone? I guess I’m just used to being surrounded by people.

As soon as I stepped onto her property I could sense the spirits. They weren’t angry, but I couldn’t tell what exactly they were feeling.

Gardenia had brought over a jumpsuit my sister gave her, and a weird looking gun thing to catch the spirits.

Screenshot-2353

She showed me where the first spirit was and I got to work right away. It wasn’t hard to catch, I just wasn’t used to the machine so it took me a few minutes.

She watched me work the first few times, then got bored and wondered off somewhere. I didn’t mind, I was too absorbed in the work.

Screenshot-2360

I was really enjoying this job. I don’t know what was so much fun about it, but it was too much fun to be work. I really hoped more opportunities like this would come up.

Eventually, I caught all the spirits in her house and all her furniture was back to normal. I was glad I freed her from them, but I was kinda bummed it was over. It was so much fun.

Screenshot-2364

“Thank you so much River, you’re a hero!” She squealed and hugged me.

“No problem.” I smiled at her.

“Here, take this.” She tried to hand me a wad of cash.

“No, it’s okay. I really don’t mind doing it.” I didn’t want to take her money, it didn’t feel right.

“It’s okay, I have plenty of it.” She giggled.

“Are you sure?” She nodded, and shoved the wad into my hand.  I sighed, thanked her, and headed home.

Screenshot-2368

When I got there, I put the spirit boxes on my desk. They were so cool to look at, and I knew they couldn’t get out on their own so I wasn’t worried.

I was really liking the ghost hunting business.

——-

A/N Sorry for the random clothing change towards the end, he changed out of his jumpsuit and wouldn’t change back.

7 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 3: Who You Gonna Call?

  1. So far, I have the same theory as the first two commenters. Which is really sad, because I really liked Clover and River together. There has to be some reason to why Clover’s acting the way she is. Maybe she’s insecure now that they’re out in the open? I guess I’ll have to wait and see x3

Leave a Reply

