River Fae Chapter 2: Like Father, Like Daughter

Screenshot-2117

“A-are you sure we should do this? So many things could go wrong.” Clover paced her small bedroom, wringing her hands and muttering to herself.

I stopped in front of her and grabbed her hands. “Babe, it’s okay. I promise. You’re legal now, remember? There’s not much they can do to stop us.”  I assured her.

“But still. You know how my dad is. I’m his only child. We don’t know how he’ll react to this.” She tried to break away from me, but I held on tighter. But not tight enough to hurt her, I’d never want to harm her.

“Clover, I know it’s gonna be hard on him at first. But I promise, I’ll be right there to support you.” I cupped her face in my hands and she smiled at me.

Screenshot-2120

“You always know just what to say to me.” She remarked.

“That’s because I love you.” I kissed her softly.

“I love you too.” She laced her fingers in mine. “C’mon, we’ve been waiting for this.” She giggled and pulled me out of the room. Here goes nothing.

Screenshot-2123

My parents and her father sat on her living room couch. I don’t think they had any idea what was about to happen. It was terrifying, standing in front of them when I knew what we were about to admit. Clover glanced at me, and I nodded slightly. We decided she would be doing the talking, she’s always been better with words than me.

Screenshot-2124

“Prim, Jeremy, Daddy. I’ve,” She glanced at me, ” I mean, we have something to tell you. River and I are dating.” She bit her lip and looked around the room nervously. Mom was smiling so wide I thought her face would break. Dad looked bored, and Hero’s face was turning a dark blue.

Screenshot-2128

“How long has this been going on?” He raged. Clover was trembling, and I wanted to comfort her but I also didn’t want to anger Hero any more.

“A while.” She whispered.

“I asked how long.”

“Since River was in high school.” She shrunk back against me.

“WHAT? He’s been out of high school for four years!” He glared at us, balling his fists. He started lunging at me, but Clover stopped him.

Screenshot-2134

“Daddy, please don’t be mad. I love him. He loves me.”

“What you’ve been doing is illegal, Clover!”

“What we’ve been doing? What do you think we’re doing? I am a VIRGIN Daddy. We’re simply dating, and he’s never tried to do anything like that with me.” She was angry now too, and I was terrified this was gonna get out of hand.

“Clover…” He sighed and put his head in his hand.

“Daddy, I’m an adult now. You can’t stop me.” She crossed her arms.

“Clover, I love you. And you’re right, you’re an adult now. And well, I’m glad it’s River. He’s a decent kid.”

Screenshot-2137

He turned to me and smiled. “You better treat her right, Boy. Or you’ll have to get a new ass.” He laughed heartily, and I laughed nervously. He really did scare me.

“I will.” I promised. He pulled me into a hug and squeezed me tightly. I wasn’t sure if he was trying to hug me or trying to kill me.

“Daddy, don’t hurt him” Clover giggled. He let go and laughed.

“Fine. I’ve gotta get to work.” He waved us off and left.

My parents had been sitting quietly this entire time, but as soon as Hero left my mom jumped off the couch and screamed.

Screenshot-2138

“Oh River, I’m so happy for you!” She jumped on me and hugged me. “Chrissy and I always talked about this! Oh gosh, I can’t believe this! This is so exciting!” She was squealing loudly and jumping around, pretty much the opposite of Hero.

“Thanks Mom.” I laughed.

Screenshot-2139

“Oh Clover sweetheart, this is so great!” She turned her attention to my girlfriend.

“Thanks Prim, I’m glad you’re so supportive.”

“Why wouldn’t I be? I’ve been hoping this would happen!” She kept squealing, and my dad finally stood up off the couch and grabbed her hand.

“C’mon Babe, let’s go home and calm you down.” He laughed.

“Fine. But this is so exciting!’ She was still squealing as he dragged her out the front door.

Screenshot-2142

“So baby, how do you think they’ll react when we tell them we’re moving out next week?” Clover smirked.

“Hopefully they’ll take it well.” I pulled her close to me and kissed her.

——

Screenshot-2163

“I can’t believe you’re moving out!” My mom cried as she clung to me. Clover and I were moving out today, and my mom wasn’t taking it very well.

“We’ll be just down the mountain Mom, you can visit us any time.” I assured her. She nodded and wiped her eyes.

Screenshot-2167

“I know, I know. I’m just emotional.” She choked. “I love you sweetheart.”

“I love you too Mom.”

“I want grandchildren. You’re siblings are lacking in that department. I’m getting old! I need grandbabies to spoil!” She started gushing.

“Mom, I’m not even married yet. I’m not ready for a child. Maybe you should talk to Dill about that, he’s the married one.” I laughed, and she nodded.

“I’ll call him right after you leave.” She grabbed my hand and squeezed it softly. I squeezed it back and smiled. “Oh Poppy, say goodbye to you’re brother.” She suddenly turned to my younger sister.

Screenshot-2168

“See ya later, Loser.” Poppy mumbled. She and I still weren’t very close. The older she got the less we liked each other. She was part of the reason I was leaving.

“Bye Poppy. It’s been nice sharing a room with you.” I joked, and we both snorted. The moving truck pulled up and honked. She jumped off the boxes and gave us a small wave before heading inside.

We all packed the boxes into the truck, and soon we were heading off to our new place.

Screenshot-2169

“So, what do you think?” I pulled Clover close to me.

“It’s perfect.” She gasped. I kissed her on the cheek.

“I’m so glad you like it. Hopefully our roommates are as great as the house.” We laughed.

Screenshot-2170

It was a three bedroom, two bathroom, three story house. Clover and I each got our own rooms on the second floor, and our roommates shared the one on the third floor. We hadn’t met them yet, but how bad could they be?

Screenshot-2171

“I’m gonna tear you another asshole if you beat me, Maple.” A blue haired girl screeched.

“I’d like to see you try.” The guy named Maple growled back.

Clover cleared her throat and they looked up from their video game. “Excuse me, we’re your new roommates.” She announced. The girl smiled and started over towards us, the boy following close behind her.

Screenshot-2173

“Hiya, I’m Tulip, this is Maple. Sorry about that, we get a little aggressive when it comes to video games.” She laughed.

“It’s all good. I’m River, and this is my girlfriend, Clover.” I smiled and held her hand. She gave them a small wave.

Screenshot-2175

“So, you guys like hot tubs?”

Screenshot-2181

I’ve never actually been in a hot tub before, and it was an amazing experience. It was so relaxing. It was also a good place to get to know our new roommates.

“So, how long have you guys been together?” Maple asked us.

“About five years.” Clover explained. “What about you guys?”

Screenshot-2182

Tulip looked at her with the most amused expression I’ve ever seen someone make. “We’re not together, Maple here bats for the other team.” The two of them laughed.

“Oh, I just thought since you shared a room…” Her voice trailed off, making the two giggled harder.

“It’s a pretty big room, there’s two beds there. But it’s okay, we actually get that a lot. No worries.” Maple smirked.

Screenshot-2185

“Well then, I hope neither of you make a move on my man!” She joked, except it sounded a little too threatening to be a joke.

“We won’t. He’s not exactly our type.” Maple assured her. “Tuli and I only date brothers.”

“Oh.” She laughed softly and leaned closer to me.

Screenshot-2189

She pulled my face to hers with a little more force than necessary, and kissed me passionately right there in the hot tub. I still wasn’t exactly comfortable with PDA, especially in front of people I just met.

Screenshot-2193

“Do you guys always make out like this?” Tulip asked. I pulled away from Clover quickly and shook my head.

“No, we’ve been dating in secret for a long time, I guess we’re still excited about being able to do that whenever we want.”

“Ah, that makes sense.” They said at the same time. We all laughed, well all of us except for Clover.

We chatted for a while, I learned a lot about my two new roommates. Tulip has a sister who’s a detective, though she hasn’t had many cases lately. Maple didn’t have any siblings, he was an only child but was kicked out of his family when he came out as gay. I felt terrible for him, but he didn’t really seem to mind. They met in high school, and they’ve been inseparable ever since. They’ve been living in this house for a year, and the previous roommates got kicked out because they kept stealing from them. I assured them we wouldn’t be like that.

Screenshot-2196

“It’s getting pretty late, I’m gonna hit the hay.” Maple climbed out of the hot tub.

“Night Maple.” We all said in unison.

Screenshot-2197

“We should be getting to bed too, Clo.” I offered. It was almost midnight and she was starting her new journalist job tomorrow.

“Yea, I think I’m gonna go too.” Tulip piped in. We all got out of the tub and dried off.

“Goodnight guys.” She called after us as we headed inside.

“Goodnight Tulip.” I replied, and Clover completely ignored her. I really hoped I didn’t have a problem on my hands.

——

Screenshot-2212

The next morning, I woke up feeling terrible about how hostile Clover was to Tulip. I felt like I should apologize, so that’s what I went to do. The third floor was small, there was a little reading nook, a door to my right, and an open doorway to my left. I assumed the open doorway was their room, and I was correct. I knocked on the wall to give them some warning, and Tulip called out “Come in.”

“Hey Tulip, can I talk to you?” I entered her room cautiously. Maple wasn’t there, but his bed was clearly slept in.

“Sure, come on in, take a seat. She gestured to her bed.

Screenshot-2218

“What’s up River?” She asked, yawning loudly after. I was a little uncomfortable, she was only wearing panties and a t-shirt. I’ve never really been alone with a half naked girl before, besides my little sister but I don’t think she counts.

“I’m sorry about last night.”

“What do you mean?”

“Clover. She was a little… hostile. I’m sorry, she’s just overprotective of me. I’m sure she’ll come around.” I explained quickly.

“It’s fine, I totally get it.” She smiled, and hopped off the bed, and pulled me off it too.

Screenshot-2221

“So River, what’re you doing today? Maple is working and I have nothing to do.”

“I’m about to go to the gym, would you like to tag along?” I offered. Clover hated the gym, so I always had to work out alone.

“I’d love too! Give me five minutes to get dressed.”

“Of course, I’ll meet you downstairs.” I waved as I left the room. I realized I needed to grab my gym bag, so I stopped by my room quickly.

Screenshot-2226

“What the hell were you doing upstairs?” Clover was standing in the middle of my room completely outraged.

“I was talking to Tulip.” I didn’t see any reason to lie to her, so I didn’t.

“Why?”

“We live with her, I think we should at least get to know her.” I bit my lip. I didn’t really want her to know what we were talking about.

“Didn’t you do that last night?” She crossed her arms.

“Clover…”

“Are you going somewhere?” She noticed the keys in my hand.

“Tulip and I are going to the gym.” I sighed. I didn’t want to fight.

“Oh no you’re not.”

“Fine. I’ll make up some excuse. Happy?” I gave up, it wasn’t really worth it.

Screenshot-2230

“Very.” She laced her fingers through mine and kissed me. Her entire demeanor changed and she was giggling happily.

That was weird.

13 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 2: Like Father, Like Daughter

  1. Hmm, I feel like Clover is really jealous for a reason, but I don’t know right now… I’m trying to get it to spin around my head a few times to get a conclusion. I hope that there is nothing serious with Clover because I want him to stay with her. Maybe there is a curse around her side of the family or somethin’ Well anyways, great chapter! I’ll be back to read another 😀

  2. Clover doesn’t exactly have any reasons to be jealous right now…I mean, neither one of them is interested in her boyfriend. My mind is already spinning at the possible reasons why Clover’s jealous…

Leave a Reply

