River Fae Chapter 1: Good Luck, Solider

Screenshot-1981

I arrived at my sister’s house a few minutes later. I needed advice, and she was the one person I knew who was the best at giving it. Misty had recently met her real mom, and I hoped she would give me some pointers. When I reached the door, I noticed it was partially open. I figured she was home, so I swung it the rest of the way open and stepped in the house.

Screenshot-1983

When I entered, I saw something I probably wasn’t supposed to see.

“Oh god, I’m so sorry.” I apologized as my sister jumped off the couch.

Screenshot-1986

“Oh, Hey River.” Misty said awkwardly.

“Hey…” I smiled tightly. “I’m sorry, it’s just the door was open so I assumed…”

“It’s okay, that’s my fault.” Misty smiled.

Screenshot-1987

“It’s nice to see you, Misty.” I approached her quickly and hugged her as tight as I could.

“You too kiddo. How you been?”

“I’m okay, how are you?”

Screenshot-1988

“I’m great!” She smiled. The vampire on the couch cleared her throat. “Oh right. River, this is Amber, my girlfriend.”

The teal haired girl jumped off the couch excitedly.

Screenshot-1991

“Hi River, I’ve heard so much about you. Missy just gushes about you all the time. It’s so nice to finally meet you! I know you haven’t heard anything about me, Missy’s been a bit weary about telling her family.” She babbled excitedly. I honestly never really thought about my sister’s sexuality. But it’s not really my business anyway. Whatever makes her happy, right?

“It’s nice to meet you too.” I laughed.

“How is everything at home?” Misty asked.

“It’s good.” I stated. “I’m kinda on a time crunch, so I gotta cut to the chase. I’m meeting my father today.”

Screenshot-1995

“Oh god, River are you sure that’s a good idea?” Misty worried.

“Yes. I came over here to get some advice.” I admitted. “I don’t really know what to say.”

“Well, I don’t really know what to say. Honestly, when I met my mother, we kept it short, sweet and we haven’t talked since. Neither of us wants a relationship, but I bet that’s not the case with you, is it?”

“Right. I do want a relationship with him.”

Screenshot-2006

“Well, my advice is just be yourself, ask him questions about himself, and also don’t be accusing. There are two sides to every story, and its been quite a while since everything happened. So I guess you should just go in with an open attitude.” Amber suggested. I thought it over, and it seems like a good plan.

“Thanks Amber, I think I’ll do that.”

Screenshot-2007

“Good luck, Soldier.” Misty joked. I laughed, we said our goodbyes, and I headed out to meet my father.

——-

Screenshot-2009

“Sorry, we don’t want whatever you’re selling.” A teenage boy who resembled me quite strikingly said when he answered the door. This house was in the bad part of town, did my mom really live here once? And did my dad really live here now? Maybe I have the wrong house.

“I’m not selling anything. I’m looking for a man, his name is Vance. Maybe I’ve got the wrong address.” I mumbled as I started to leave.

“Wait, did you say Vance? That’s my father’s name.” I swung back around. No wonder this kid looks so much like me.

“Really?”

“Yea, he’ll be home from work in half an hour. You’re welcome to stay if you want.” He offered.

“Thanks, that’d be nice.” We entered the house and each took a seat on either couch.

Screenshot-2017

“I’m Carrot, by the way.”

“I’m River.” I smiled awkwardly.

“That’s a cool name.” He gushed.

“Thanks.”

“So, whatcha need my dad for? Does he owe you money too?” He asked, as if that were a regular thing to say.

“What? Um no, he’s um, also my dad.”

Screenshot-2016

“What? Really? I don’t believe you.” He glared.

“Why is that so hard to believe? I mean, we look so much alike, it’d be weird if we weren’t related, right?” I said cautiously, he might be younger than me but I doubt I could take him in a fight. He stared at me for a long time.

“I guess. I don’t know if he’ll be too happy to hear this. Let’s hope he’s in a good mood today.”

“Wha-” I started to say, but was interrupted by the sound of the door opening.

Screenshot-2019

“Carrot, who is this?” A teenage girl about a year younger than me asked.

“I’m River.” I half waved. She had the same hair color as me and Carrot, so I assumed she was also a child of Vance’s.

“Why are you in our house?”

“He claim’s that dad is his father.” Carrot huffed. The girls eyes widened.

“Fourreal? Damn, I thought Mom was joking when she said dad cheated on her. I guess not. I’m Fern.” She threw her purse down in the corner of the room and took a seat next to me on the couch.

Screenshot-2028

“So, I’ve seen you around school a few times. You graduated last year, right?” She asked, and I nodded. “Yea, I remember you. Who knew we were related.” She laughed. She seemed like the exact opposite of her brother.

I was about to say something, but I was once again interrupted by the door.

Screenshot-2031

“Who is this?” A large, purple man growled.

I jumped off the couch and faced him. He definitely resembled me more than my mother.

“I’m R-River Fae.” My voiced cracked. He furrowed his eyebrows, as if he were trying to remember something.

“Kids,” He spoke to the teenagers seated on the couches, “Go in the bedroom.” they nodded and quickly obeyed.

I approached him calmly, I tried not to let my nerves show. But wow, this was my father. Not exactly what I imagined him to be.

“You’re River, correct?” I nodded. His grim expression changed into a smile.

Screenshot-2038

“I wondered when you’d be showing up around here. Come, take a seat. Let’s talk.” He placed a hand on my shoulder and guided me to the couch. I’m gonna take a wild guess here, but it seems as if he’s in a good mood.

Screenshot-2042

“So, you’re Vance?” I questioned. He nodded.

“Yea, I bet your mother has said some pretty terrible things about me, right?” He laughed.

“No, she hasn’t really said much about you, actually.”

“That’s surprising. She usually has a lot to say.” We both chuckled this time, my mom sure did talk a lot.

Screenshot-2058

“Look, I’m not proud of what happened between Primrose and I.” He sighed and put his face in his hands. “I was such a dumb kid then. I made a lot of mistakes. Hell, I still make a lot of mistakes. And honestly, I didn’t love your mother. But I did care about her. I didn’t want to hurt her like I did, but my fiancee at the time was insistent. She wanted me to make sure Primrose was never in my life again.

“After I left, Champagne and I got married. We had two kids, I know you’ve already met them. We agreed to stop sleeping around after we married. She held up that deal until after Carrot was born, but soon after she started again. I tried to get her to stop, but we ended up fighting too much. She left me with the kids, she didn’t want them to burden her. But I guess you don’t care about that. I just needed to let you know, I guess.” He ran his fingers through his greasy hair and sighed again.

“It’s okay.” I smiled and patted his shoulder.

Screenshot-2054

“So what about you kid, what’s your story?” He questioned. I didn’t really know what to say. What was my story?

“Well, I’ve got a step-dad, two step-siblings and a half sister.”

“So Prim moved on? Good. I’m happy for her, she really didn’t deserve what I did. Who did she marry?”

“Jeremy Shepard, he’s a musician.” I explained.

“Oh yea. I know that guy. He seems like he’s a good match for her.”

“He really is.” We sat in silence for a while. He wasn’t at all what I expected. I expected a douche bag who didn’t give a rats ass about what other people were feeling. But that wasn’t the case at all. He was a man who made a lot of mistakes, but lived with regret. I half expected to hate him, but I couldn’t. After all, he was only a dumb kid when I was born. I guess it wouldn’t hurt to have a relationship with him.

Screenshot-2050

“Kid, I hope you don’t mind, but I’d really like to have you in my life. And I bet you’re siblings would like that too.” Vance offered.

“I’d like that.” We smiled at each other. He glanced over at the clock and gasped.

“Oh god, Kid, it’s getting late. Your mother is probably wondering where you are.”

“I am an adult now though.” We laughed again. He understood my humor, so that’s a good sign. We both got off the couch though, I knew it was late and I should be heading out.

Screenshot-2060

“It was really nice meeting you, Kid.” He hugged me quickly.

“It was nice meeting you too. I’ll contact you soon, maybe we could get lunch sometime.” I didn’t mean to sound so formal, but I guess I wasn’t exactly comfortable with him yet.

“Sounds good. Night.” He said as we walked to the door.

Screenshot-2064

“Wait, River!” My half-sister called as I was walking down the walkway. I still didn’t know her name but I wasn’t going to admit that.

“Yea? What’s up?”

“I can do it too.” She trembled.

“Excuse me?”

Screenshot-2065

“I can do it too. Talk to the dead.”

“What? H-how did you-“

“I can sense it. You’ve got the gift, I’ve got the gift, and I assume your mother has it, mine does too.” She replied.

“Okay…”

Screenshot-2066

“Don’t let it go to waste. Our gift is so important, we can do so much with it.”

“What am I supposed to do with it?”

“You’ll know soon, I promise. But please, when the opportunity arrives, don’t pass it up. We’re capable of so much.” She was practically begging now.

“How do you know?”

“This isn’t the only gift I’ve got, dear brother. Now, you should be heading home.” She ushered me to my car. “Oh, and be careful with Clover.”

“Wait, what?”

“Bye River! Oh, and my name is Fern, if you were wondering.”

10 thoughts on “River Fae Chapter 1: Good Luck, Solider

  1. Wow… I’m worried about River and Clo now 😦 I hope it all goes well. I’m glad the meeting went well, I have a weird feeling about his half-sister… I’m just totally freaking out about Clover right now. What is wrong with her? D:

  2. I’m glad the meeting went better then I expected. Vance was just a kid and does seem like an ok person now, at least he is willing to get to know his son. Fern seems nice but carrot seems like he has a chip on his shoulder…

  3. I’m a bit nervous about Clover and River’s relationship now :S.

    I’m still iffy on Vance. I understand that he has changed, that he realizes his mistakes, but…I dunno. I’ll just have to keep my eye on that one.

  4. Now i’m worried about River and Clover. Glad to see the visit with his dad went better than expected :).

Leave a Reply

