Primrose Fae Chapter 14: Finale

Screenshot-1886

Hero and I were spending the afternoon with Chrissy. Our kids were getting older, as were we, and we didn’t want her to think we forgot about her. So once a month we would stop by and just hang out for a few hours.

“Do you think she’s proud of me?” He wondered aloud.

“Of course, you’ve done a great job with Clover.” I fiddled with a blade of grass and stared up at the sky. I wondered the same thing, I really hoped my best friend was proud of me.

“I bet she’s proud of you too, Prim.” He said, as if he knew exactly what I was thinking. He probably did, he was great at reading people. I sighed. Even though my life didn’t turn out exactly how I wanted, it was a pretty damn good life if I do say so myself.

“What do you think she’d be doing right now, if she were here?” I asked. We talked about this a lot when we came here, envisioning her here helped us keep her memory fresh.

“Well, I bet she’d be hanging out with Clover. Probably doing their nails or something girly like that.” We laughed, when Clover was younger she would make him do her nails. I knew it made him sad, but he did it anyway. He was a really great father.

“Yea I bet. She’d probably have Poppy with her too. She’d probably have better luck with her, Her and I are too similar to get along. Chris always kept me grounded, and I bet she could’ve done the same with Poppy.”

“I think you’re doing a great job. So Poppy is a little out of control. She’ll get over it soon.” He chuckled.

“Yea easy for you to say, your daughter hasn’t caused any trouble in her life!”

“She will eventually. Every kid does something stupid at least once.” He didn’t sound worried at all. Unlike me, parenting didn’t scare him. I’m still afraid I’ll screw up. But not him, he’s pretty much fearless when it comes to kids.

“Y’know, out of all the guys here Chrissy could have picked, I’m so glad she chose you.” It was true, there were so many asshole guys here, believe me I’ve had my fair share of them, and few actually decent guys. Hero was one of those decent guys, and I was glad he married my best friend and raised her daughter.

“God damn Primrose, you’re making me cry.” We laughed and he threw grass at me. “But thanks. I still love her more and more everyday.”

“Me too.”

We laid in silence for a while, just watching the clouds and playing with the grass.

“Hey Prim, we should get going, Clover needs me to drive her to her creative writing class and I can’t be late again.” He broke the silence a little while later and pulled himself off the ground.

“Oh yea, of course.” I jumped up and dusted the grass off my dress.

Screenshot-1890

Before I could walk away Hero wrapped his arm around my shoulder and pulled me to his side.

“I miss her.” He sighed.

“Me too.”

“I wonder if she missed us too.”

“I bet she does.” I smiled at him, and he kissed my temple softly.

“Thanks Prim, you’re the best friend Chrissy and I could’ve ever asked for.”

Screenshot-1888

I hugged him as tight as I could. “C’mon, lets get Clover to her writing class.” I pulled back from the hug and noticed he was crying. I wiped the tears off of his face and smiled. We didn’t say anything else as we left the cemetery.

——

Screenshot-1896

“Oh come on Poppy, can’t you do better than that?” We all sat in the living room, Jeremy and I on the floor, Poppy and River playing a round of video games. We didn’t have much family time these days, ever since the older two moved out and Poppy got into high school, they’ve all been pretty busy. But tonight was one of those rare nights where everyone was home.

“I’m letting you win, wimp.” She laughed and he glared at her. They didn’t get along often, and when they did, they were usually fake-arguing.

“This is nice, isn’t it?” Jeremy murmured in my ear. I turned around and straddled his legs.

Screenshot-1897

“It is. I wish everyday was like this.”

“Me too. Y’know, we should invite Dill and Missy over soon. I really wanna meet Sha Sha.” Jeremy suggested. Dill had recently eloped with an older woman, and while we weren’t mad, we were just upset we didn’t get to go to the wedding.

“That’d be nice. Have you talked to Missy lately? What has she been up to?”

“Not sure. I asked if she was lonely now since Dill moved out, but she said she’s doing fine. I think she’s got someone living with her.” He smirked.

“Well hopefully we’ll have an actual wedding to go to soon, I’ve got a dress I’ve been dying to wear.” I ran my finger through his hair and smiled.

Screenshot-1903

“Well first we gotta meet this guy, make sure he’s good enough for our daughter.” He grinned.

“Very true, just don’t hurt anyone. I don’t wanna cover up a murder.” We laughed, and he pulled us back and kissed me.

Screenshot-1904

“Ew guys, get a room.” Poppy groaned.

“Hey, we own this house.” Jeremy warned jokingly. Poppy rolled her eyes and got back to her game, which she was clearly losing.

“Maybe we should take this upstairs.” I whispered seductively against his lips. He smirked, and pulled us both off the floor.

Screenshot-1906

“We’ll be back.” Jeremy chuckled, grabbing my hand and pulling me towards the stairs.

“Ew guys I was joking!” Poppy yelled and threw the controller on the coffee table. We laughed and rushed up the stairs.

Screenshot-1910

My life wasn’t perfect by any means. But it was mine, and I wouldn’t change it for the world, because I already had it.

——

And that’s a wrap!

Gen 1 is officially finished. I had so much fun working on this, and this is only the beginning! Thank you so much for reading so far. Don’t worry, this won’t be the last we see of Prim, Jeremy and Hero. They will definitely be making appearances in Gen 2! I’ll have the Gen 2 Prologue up as soon as I can, I am so excited for River’s story, it’s gonna be interesting…

14 thoughts on “Primrose Fae Chapter 14: Finale

  1. Yay River and Clo’s gen next! I liked how you didn’t make it too long and wrapped it up so it just ended nicely. LOL. Poppy don’t say such things! I don’t think I have much more to say. So, great chapter, I really want to read River’s soon! 😀

  2. I literally read this entire generation today! You’re amazing story helped me keep my mind off the stress of one of our dogs (our “kids”) being in the hospital because of seizures. We didn’t know whether she was going to make it, but, somewhere around Chapter 7, the hospital called and said she’s awake and they just waiting for the results of the enzyme test, but everything else was ok except a bit of dehydration! You kept me sane today! Thank you!

    And now, on to River (I would have voted for him too because Poppy is such a little bitch. I hate that mean spirited trait, but, you are writing it perfectly!)

      • Well, it turns out that we had to take one of our other dogs in when we went to pick up Shado. Someone tried to poison them! Thank the gods that we were at home to see them and get them treatment. They are both home now and acting as if nothing happened
        Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Leave a Reply

