Primrose Fae Chapter 12: Basil

A/N Text written in italics is Basil explaining what happened to him. Screenshot-1600

“Prim, it’s so great to see you again.” He pulled me into a bone-crushing hug. I hugged him back as hard as I could, not really caring that he was soaked from the rain. Jeremy stepped out, he knew I would want to catch up with my brother alone.

“Basil, I thought you were dead.” I started to cry into his shoulder.

“Shh, it’s okay Prim. I’m not dead. I’m here.”

“C’mon, we’ve got to catch up.” I grabbed his hand and pulled him towards the couch.

Screenshot-1601

“I guess I should start from the beginning?” I nodded and he sighed.

Well, as you know, I was only a baby when this all happened. After you left me in the cabin, I stayed there for a day or so. I was confused, I didn’t know where anyone was.

“Wait, Basil how do you remember this? You were only two.”

“I have Hyperthymesia, it means I can remember almost everything that’s ever happened to me.” He explained.

“Oh, carry on then.”

Well, a group of independent scientists searched Moonlight Falls after the human government scientists did. I was apparently the only supernatural left in the town. So they took me with them.

Screenshot-1632

First, they took me to a hospital of sorts. I don’t really know what it was, humans are pretty strange. But anyway, I was extremely confused, they looked so much different from us, I couldn’t hear them and they were getting frustrated. 

Screenshot-1637

They put me on a table and examined me. The woman was getting frustrated for some reason, but the men were trying to calm her down. Being a baby, I didn’t really understand or care what was happening then. They were talking amongst themselves and not to me. 

They eventually stopped and turned their attention back to me. The woman took me in her arms, and the four of us left.

Screenshot-1639

They took me to a small research center. The kept me in a room with glass walls. They ran a bunch of different tests on me, specifically my wings. It was extremely painful.

Screenshot-1648

They weren’t completely heartless, the did give me a few toys to play with. But still, that didn’t make up for the torture they put my through every single day.

Screenshot-1651

Years passed like this. The man and the woman were there every day. Some days they didn’t do tests, they just used their weird machines and never even looked at me. 

Screenshot-1657

When I was a teenager, the woman took me out of my room and tried to do weird scans on me. I wasn’t very cooperative, the machines were huge with flashing lights, and I could feel their vibrations through the floor. I fought against her, I refused to be hooked up to one of her machines. 

Screenshot-1661

She attacked me that day. She kicked me, her face was twisted with anger like I’ve never seen. She was probably screaming at me, but I couldn’t hear her.

Screenshot-1663

I was on the floor by the time she was done with me. I was having a hard time breathing and I was sure I was gonna throw up. But it wasn’t over yet. She got a vile from the other room, and poured the contents all over my face. It burned like hell. I tried to wipe it off, to make it stop. But it only made it worse. 

Screenshot-1605

I gasped, his story just kept getting worse and worse. “Even I wasn’t treated so horribly. Oh god Basil this is all my fault.”

“No it’s not Prim, it’s the humans fault.” He told me, and continued with his story.

Screenshot-1664

As you can see, my face never fully healed from that. From that point on I never resisted. She did all these weird scans on my head. I never really understood what she was doing, but I obviously couldn’t ask.

Screenshot-1670

One day, she knocked me out. Not with her fists but with actual medication. I’m still not sure how long I was out for, but when I woke up everything was different. 

I could hear.

It was extremely strange, being able to hear things after a life of silence. It was a long process, learning to speak and understand their language. 

Screenshot-1673

I had been able to hear for a year, I could speak Simlish fluently by this point. Their names were Dr. Marx and Dr. Lee. They were both out that night, like they usually were. But that night was different. I was breaking out. 

I had no idea where we even were, but I knew that anywhere was better than here. 

Screenshot-1676

The door was made of glass, so it was fairly easy to break out of it. I didn’t own any shoes though, so my feet got cut up pretty bad. 

Screenshot-1680

It wasn’t that hard to get out of there. I mean, the front door locked from the inside, and my walls were made of glass. I guess they didn’t think I was smart enough. 

Screenshot-1683

I walked for hours. I had no idea where I was going, but I just kept moving. It was around midnight when I was found. But I was found by someone from the human government, and well they cleaned me up, rehabilitated me for a while. 

Screenshot-1621

“Then they dropped me off in front of your house, and now we’re here.” He finished with a chuckle. His story was anything but funny though. It hurt so much, to think of my baby brother going through all that torture. I felt so guilty.

“I’m so glad you’re still alive.”

“Me too.” He rubbed his hands together nervously. “So, are those you’re kids?” He motioned to the picture of Dill, Missy and River on the wall.

“Yea, two of them are my step kids but I consider them mine. But I’ve got two of my own.” I smiled. “They’re at school right now, but they’ll be home soon. They’ll be so excited to meet you.”

“I can’t wait to meet them. I’ve always wondered how you’re life turned out.” He smiled sadly.

Screenshot-1613

“Well, at least now we can spend our lives together. We’ve got two empty bedrooms, if you need a place to stay.”

“That’d be nice.” We smiled at each other.

Screenshot-1609

Basil and I just sat and talked for a while. I told him about my life so far. He was really interested in my kids, it was sweet. Speaking of my kids, River should be home soon.

“Oh gosh,” I suddenly remembered my husband was home. “I forgot to introduce you to Jeremy!” I called out for him, and he came rushing in a few seconds later.

“Yea Prim?” He smiled.

“This is Basil, my little brother.”

Screenshot-1702

They introduced themselves, and soon they were talking like they were best friends. I was glad, I knew Jeremy didn’t have many friends besides me, Hero and a few guys from work.

Screenshot-1704

Basil and Jeremy were in a deep discussion about something science related, (I had no idea my husband was so into science, who would’ve guessed?!) when River came home.

“Hey guys, I’m-” He called, but stopped when he noticed we were right there. “Oh, hi.” He glanced at my brother curiously.

Screenshot-1707

“Hi sweetheart.” I hugged him, like I did everyday when he came home from school.

“Hi mom.” He pulled back and gave me a questioning look.

“River, this is your uncle Basil.” I smiled stepping aside to give River a better look.

“I have an uncle?” I nodded, and he smiled. “That’s so cool!”

Screenshot-1709

“I’m River, but I assume my mom has probably told you.” He joked, and Basil let out a snort.

“Yea, she sure can talk.” All four of us laughed, I could talk a lot once I got started.

It was still a huge shock to me that Basil was here. We were having a great time, getting to know each other again. But of course, once something in my life is going good something has to ruin it.

Screenshot-1713

“Mommy, what’s going on?” A small voice snarled from behind me. I didn’t hear the door open through all the chatter.

“Oh, sweet heart, this is your uncle Basil.” I told her cheerily.

“Okay?” She rolled her eyes at me.

“Don’t give me attitude, Poppy. We’ve been through a lot today and I really don’t need your sass.”

Screenshot-1714

“What happened to his face?”

“Poppy!” Both Jeremy and I shouted. Basil touched his scars softly, his expression turning hurt under his fingertips. River put a hand on his shoulder and squeezed reassuringly.

“What?”

“That was extremely rude, you can’t say stuff like that to people.”

“I just did though.” I narrowed my eyes at her but she didn’t flinch.

“Poppy Chrysanthemum Fae, you apologize to your uncle or you won’t be having a birthday party.” I warned.

Screenshot-1712

“Are you serious? First I have to share my room with my disgusting brother, I have to share my house with that, and now I can’t even have my birthday party? This is so unfair!” She screamed, making both Basil and River cringe.

“What’s unfair is how you are treating your family.” I said softly, and Jeremy came up behind me.

“Up stairs, now.” He growled. Poppy’s eyes widened with fear, and she ran up the stairs right away. Jeremy didn’t get mad often, but when he did, it was scary.

Screenshot-1719

“Oh god Basil, I’m so sorry.” I ran over to him and squeezed him as tight as I could.

“It’s fine. I can find another place to stay if you want.”

“Nonsense. Poppy is just being a brat, she’ll get over it. I refuse to let you leave, not after all you’ve been through.” I squeezed him even harder.

“Thanks Prim.” He patted my back. “I can’t breathe.”

“Oops, sorry.” I let go and we both laughed.

——

Don’t forget to vote for who you want to run Gen 2!

2 thoughts on “Primrose Fae Chapter 12: Basil

Leave a Reply

