Primrose Fae Chapter 8: Royals

Screenshot-1156

My mind was strangely clear when I woke up from my nap. What had I even been so upset about? I wracked my brain, but I couldn’t come up with any conclusions.

As I pulled myself out of bed, I realized this wasn’t my house. Or at least my current one.

Screenshot-1159

What the hell was I doing there? And why was I wearing such a girly dress? My hair wasn’t this long when I went to sleep, right? What the hell was going on?

A pang shot through my chest as I looked around my childhood bedroom. Memories of my parents and Basil pushed their way to the front of my mind. I remembered things I hadn’t thought of in years. My father’s cologne. My mothers sweet voice as she sang me and my brother to sleep.

I needed to find out what the hell was going on. There was obviously nothing going on in this room, so I decided to check the living room.

Screenshot-1162

When I entered the living room, I saw a figure sitting on the couch. From behind, it looked a lot like Chrissy, except her wings were white.

“Hello?” I asked the person. Her head shot up and she jumped off the couch.

“Prim! Thank goodness you’re awake. I’ve been waiting for you.”

“How did we get here? I thought this place was burned down.” I asked sadly, I was told the scientists burned Moonlight Falls to the ground.

“Parts of it. This house included, but this is just a dream. So anything is possible.” She smiled. She looked almost angelic, the only time I’d ever seen her wear makeup was her wedding.

Screenshot-1165

“This is a really strange dream. Why are you’re wings white, not blue.”

“I’m an angel.” She definitely looked the part.

“Wait does that mean…” Was that why I was so sad when I went to sleep?

“Don’t think about that right now. I have somethings I need to tell you.”

Screenshot-1166

“Good news or bad news?” I questioned and she giggled.

“Both. I’ll start with the good, because I just can’t keep it in anymore.” She squealed and hovered a little bit higher off the ground. “Prim, do you ever remember hearing stories about the royal family?”

“The royal family? The human one?” What a strange thing for her to bring up.

“No, no. The fairy one.”

“There was a fairy one?”

“Yes. It dates back all the way to the 1300s. The royal family ruled all of the fairies in the world for a long time.” She explained. “I always thought my mom was making this up, but I recently found out that she was telling the truth.”

“What ever happened to them?”

Screenshot-1171

“Well, they ruled all the way up until this century. The king and queen had one child, and they couldn’t conceive another one, so they didn’t have a spare. This child, a daughter, was sheltered her whole life. Her parents never let her out of the house, they couldn’t risk her getting hurt and causing their bloodline to go extinct. Well, when their daughter was a teenage girl, she was fed up with being shut out. One night when her parents were hosting a ball, she snuck downstairs and joined it.

“There, she met a handsome teenage boy. He was only a waiter for the party, but the girl was instantly attracted to him. They flirted all night, and she took him back to her room, and well, that night they conceived a child. Her parents were outraged and completely baffled, how could their daughter get pregnant when she’s always in her room? She eventually confessed, and her parents flipped. She was royalty, she shouldn’t be sleeping with the help!

“Well, her parents had two choices. Either they terminate the pregnancy and pretend it never happened, or they disown their daughter and try and find another doctor to help them try and conceive, even though they had tried multiple doctors. Their daughter refused to terminate her child, so they threw her out. She found the father, and they got married before the baby came. A few years later, the king and queen were killed in a plane crash. Since their daughter was no where to be found, their empire crashed. The fae all scattered around the globe and hid themselves from the humans.”

Screenshot-1167

“Okay, so what does this have to do with me?” I asked a moments later, I had waited for her to continue but she didn’t.

“That teenage girl’s name was Flora Fae.” Chrissy revealed.

“My mother? Does this mean… I’m that baby?” My head was spinning. I’m royalty? That can’t be, I’m nothing like a princess.

“You are. Haven’t you ever wondered why you’re last name is also the name of our species?” She giggled, as if me being a princess was the most obvious thing in the world.

Screenshot-1176

“I’ve never really thought about it.” I admitted. “Are you just fucking with me?”

“Of course not, have I ever lied to you before?” She cocked her head and gave me a questioning look.

“No. This is all just so hard to comprehend.” I smoothed my dress down and fiddled with my hair. “Is that why I’m dressed like this?”

“Yup, this is what’d you’d be wearing if your family hadn’t fallen. You’d be a princess.”

“I’d be a pretty crappy princess though.” We laughed, because I was the exact opposite of what a princess is supposed to be.

Screenshot-1181

“Prim, I’ve got to go. I don’t have time to tell you the bad thing, so you have to ask Jeremy. Ask him the truth about his past.” Chrissy explained quickly.

“W-wait Chrissy please don’t go.” My eyes started to water. For some reason I really didn’t want her to leave.

“Please, take care of my family for me.” She said softly, taking my hand in hers.

Screenshot-1183

“C’mon, let’s get you back to your man.” Chrissy said pulling my towards the door. Her voice sounded hollow and far away.

——

“Prim, Primrose please wake up.” A voice jolted me from my sleep.

“Jeremy, whats going on?” I asked groggily. Wasn’t I just talking to someone?

“You were shouting in your sleep, dear. Are you okay?” He asked softly, taking me in his arms. Suddenly, everything from the past day came crashing back. The memory of losing my best friend hit me hard, and I started to sob.

Screenshot-1209

“S-she was in my dream. We were in my old house, the one before we were discovered. She told me my family comes from royalty, and that I should’ve been a princess.” I choked out.

“What else happened?” Jeremy was an amazing listener, and if he thought my dream was stupid he sure didn’t tell me. It was one of the many things I love about him.

“She mentioned you.” I said, my voice much stronger than it was before.

“What did she say?”

Screenshot-1207

“She told me to ask you about your past.” As soon as the words left my lips his expression changed. His face contorted into a mixture of anger and sadness.

“Prim, are you sure you want to hear this, in the state that you’re in?”

“I need too.” my voice now a hoarse whisper.

Screenshot-1208

He sighed and leaned on his hand. “Primrose, you’ve got to promise me you won’t hate me for this, and that this won’t change anything between us. I love you so much Prim, and I really can’t lose you.”

“Jeremy you’re scaring me.”

“Just promise.”

“I promise.”

——

*Jeremy*

Screenshot-1185

My family lived in a small house on the outskirts of a town called Twinbrook. It’s a human town, filled with swamps. My mother hated it there, she always told my brother and I she deserves to be in a mansion with millions of dollars. She was a nasty woman, she did whatever she had to to get her hands on some money.

Screenshot-1188

Her and my brother, Alex, absolutely hated each other. He called her selfish, snobby and a gold digger. They always got into screaming matches, we lived in a tiny one roomed house so they were always near each other. We didn’t have a TV, hell I didn’t even know what a TV was. So I had to read to distract myself. 

My brother and I were really close. We had to sleep on the tiny two seat couch together, because our mother refused to share the large bed with us ‘brats.’ The tension in our house was so thick you could practically taste it, and it was not a healthy environment to grow up in.

Screenshot-1191

Our father was human. I’ve never told anyone that before. I’m ashamed of my parents. Humans and fairy should never mix, it’s disgusting. But my parents were ‘in love’. Really, my mom just wanted his money. He was a wealthy business man, but he never gave us shit. She thought if she made him happy enough, he’s marry her and divorce his wife. 

He never did though, and one day my mom got fed up. So she left. One day she just stormed out of the house, and she didn’t come back. 

Screenshot-1192

“Mirage, what the fuck?” our dad burst into our house the day after she left. He took a look around the room and his eyes stopped on my brother. “You, where the fuck is your mother?” 

“I don’t know, she left.” Alex responded.

Screenshot-1193

“I know she left, you little shit. The whole town knows. Everyone knows about your kind. How does that make you feel?” Our father ripped him off the couch and pinned him against the wall.

“D-dad please calm down.” Alex pleaded. But that just seemed to piss him off anymore.

“I won’t calm down you piece of shit. Do you know how hard I’ve tried to hide you? I’ve put fifteen years of work into this, and she ruined it all! This is all your fault, maybe if you weren’t such a little shit she wouldn’t have run off.”

Screenshot-1199

He pulled my brother to the ground and started to beat him. My father was so angry, he was screaming horrible words I had never heard before at my brother. Alex tried to get away, but he just wasn’t strong enough. 

Screenshot-1198

 Prim, I lied to you. I told you my brother was shot. But he wasn’t. My father killed him, while I watched from behind my mothers bed. 

Screenshot-1203

My father threw Alex over his shoulder like a rag doll and took him outside. I heard a large splash a minute later, then the sound of my dad’s car leaving. 

Screenshot-1206

We had a pond in our backyard, and a small dock that went almost to the other side. We didn’t go out there much, we didn’t want to be seen. But now it didn’t matter. I stood at the edge of the dock, my brothers body hidden behind tall cattails growing by the edge. 

He didn’t deserve to die like that. My brother was my only friend growing up. I didn’t have anyone after he died. So I left. I left Twinbrook, but I didn’t get very far. I was young, so I was discovered fairly quickly. And then of course I was taken to the lab just like everyone else. But it’s all my families fault. We’re the reason why supernaturals were discovered. Its all my fault.

When I finished my story, I opened my eyes. I hadn’t even realized they were closed. Prim’s eyes were brimming with tears once again.

“Babe, please don’t hate me.” I pleaded.

“I don’t hate you.” She whispered hoarsely. “I could never hate you.” Relief washed over me like a wave. I was so sure she was going to hate me.

“You’re not even a little bit mad?” She shook her head and pulled me towards her. We laid there on the bed until we fell asleep, even though it was one o’clock in the afternoon.

5 thoughts on “Primrose Fae Chapter 8: Royals

Leave a Reply

